Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect example of, just how to write
This is the second James Raven book I have read and like the previous book I found this one thoroughly entertaining. Brutal Revenge has a simple premise, but that is where the simplicity ends, a handful of characters are woven through a plot that takes place on one small island yet despite the minimal setting the story motors at a steady pace with no repetition or padding...
Published 11 months ago by Flatfield

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Based on a shoot-em-up game?
I think this is unlikely to please anyone other than youths brought up on fast & furious killing games with little plot. Quite unlike another book of Raven's that I read, this is simply dreadful. He must have been in a gloomy state when he penned this one. Not recommended for anyone of a sensitive nature. Shame really, because unlike some modern writers he uses proper...
Published on 14 Sept. 2012 by lockeyb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Based on a shoot-em-up game?, 14 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Revenge (Kindle Edition)
I think this is unlikely to please anyone other than youths brought up on fast & furious killing games with little plot. Quite unlike another book of Raven's that I read, this is simply dreadful. He must have been in a gloomy state when he penned this one. Not recommended for anyone of a sensitive nature. Shame really, because unlike some modern writers he uses proper English. Despite the grim nature of the tale I did read it to the end. This says a lot for Raven's potential...he could be great....but not with this novel I fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect example of, just how to write, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Revenge (Kindle Edition)
This is the second James Raven book I have read and like the previous book I found this one thoroughly entertaining. Brutal Revenge has a simple premise, but that is where the simplicity ends, a handful of characters are woven through a plot that takes place on one small island yet despite the minimal setting the story motors at a steady pace with no repetition or padding out. Raven writes brilliant short snappy chapters that propel you along, making reading the text almost similar to watching a film. (If any book needed making into a film, then this one does).

Characterisation is spot on and the dialogue is believable, no flannel, no waffle, just realistic speech. There's enough descriptive prose to set the scene and not slow the action. Raven is the perfect example of a writer who has the knack of making every word count.

He also has some great turns of phrase, with lines like, 'the soft kissing sound of water being sucked into little clefts and gullies.' And, 'the cloud threw down weird shadows that danced around them like ghosts playing hide and seek.

I would recommend James raven to anyone wanting to be fully engaged with superb writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars didn't see the end coming, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Revenge (Kindle Edition)
grabs you from the start, good plot and totally believable.

turns and twists and presents an interesting dilemina , spelt wrong I know. and a good twisted ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Revenge (Kindle Edition)
Well thought out theme, it keeps your interest right to the end. Characters, were built up nicely and although it was a little predictable, it was enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great read, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Revenge (Kindle Edition)
I havent even finished it yet but I didnt want to get off the train at my stop this morning. Started off a bit slower than the other James Raven books but I am hooked now-cant wait for home time to get back on the train
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Raven can do no wrong, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Revenge (Kindle Edition)
Yet another brilliant read. Concise and enthralling. I happened upon this author by accident and I have now read all his great books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good enthralling read., 11 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. N. W. MacDonald "bobser" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Revenge (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book which I thought was anthralling from start to finish.
Would recommend it to anyone who likes crime books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brutal Revenge, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Revenge (Kindle Edition)
Another good book by this author. I like the setting. I would recommend it to friends and family members who are familiar with this part of the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Revenge (Kindle Edition)
Could not put it down. A real page turner. I am new to James Raven but I will be reading more of his books. Brutal Revenge is set on a remote island .some big city crooks think they will find robbing the hicks a pushover but it all goes wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker from Raven, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brutal Revenge (Kindle Edition)
Another great story from the author. That's four of his novels I have read in the last fortnight. Yes, they are only short novels but they really do grip you. Great characters and the picture he has painted for me of the Hebrides is vivid. Good show old chap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brutal Revenge
Brutal Revenge by James Raven
£2.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews