Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars112
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2013
Katie (Jo Hartley) and Jeff (James Doherty) are two social workers who take four troubled teens to a remote cottage in a remote village for...I am not sure what, but they are there. The townsfolk all seem to have the same bad teeth and large ears. After a run in, our heroes become the main attraction in a theater one might see in "Blood Sucking Freaks" complete with a bare bottomed organ player right out of Monty Python.

The theater aspect, which was by far the highlight of the film, needed a third act. There was significant internal conflict within the teen group which served more as a distraction. Instead they should have used this as an opportunity to develop dark humor. The film is also sold as a comedy, but the humor was more in their outfits. The production certainly has the potential to achieve cult status as it has all the qualifications, but for me it fell short. Personally I prefer "House of a 1,000 Corpses" or "10,000 Maniacs" or "Blood Sucking Freaks" for this type of cult genre.

Recommend as a strong cult rental.

Parental Guide: Frequent F-bombs, attempted rape, sex play, male rear nudity.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Absolutely brilliant. This is one of the best "hillbilly" horror films I've ever seen. Factor in that it's British and you'll be even more impressed. This is a quality production with awesome, cutting edge fx and engaging and believable characters. Those 1☆ raters, bleating about acting ability etc clearly shouldn't be watching this type of film. If you enjoyed the Wrong Turn films, then you will freaking LOVE this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Katie (Jo Hartley) and Jeff (James Doherty) are two social workers who take four troubled teens to a remote cottage in a remote village for...I am not sure what, but they are there. The townsfolk all seem to have the same bad teeth and large ears. After a run in, our heroes become the main attraction in a theater one might see in "Blood Sucking Freaks" complete with a bare bottomed organ player right out of Monty Python.

The theater aspect, which was by far the highlight of the film, needed a third act. There was significant internal conflict within the teen group which served more as a distraction. Instead they should have used this as an opportunity to develop dark humor. The film is also sold as a comedy, but the humor was more in their outfits. The production certainly has the potential to achieve cult status as it has all the qualifications, but for me it fell short. Personally I prefer "House of a 1,000 Corpses" or "10,000 Maniacs" or "Blood Sucking Freaks" for this type of cult genre.

Recommend as a strong cult rental.

Parental Guide: Frequent F-bombs, attempted rape, sex play, male rear nudity.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Not the worst movie I've seen and to give it it's credit it does have it's moments, not many but a few. Somehow you get the feeling you've seen it all before. The over all feel is 'League of Gentlemen', (the satirical TV black comedy not the classic fifties movie) with added gore. They borrow from other's: the naked organ player is strait out of 'Monty Python', one of the villagers swings a chainsaw exactly like 'Leather Face' does in 'Texas Chainsaw Massacre' and is similar in stature, other bit's. that I couldn't tie down kept reminding me of 'The Wicker Man' and some 'The Scarecrow' there's a mask (with a lone bulbs nose) that a villager wears that I've seen before, either in a old horror movie or a old kids show or maybe both. Anyway all through out the movie there's things borrowed and or stolen from other sauces. But is it any good?
Well......No! It's crude and clumsy. The villages are over made up to make them look like inbreeds, far to disfigured and grotesque to be believable, and far to stupid to survive without care. Like wise the outsiders who fall into this farce are a stereotypical cliché characters strait out of a bad sit com. So is it funny? Well not intentionally. Is it frightening? Again No. Disturbing but not how it was intended. I found it repulsive but not for the reasons you are supposed to. There is some gory and repulsive scenes that, like in 'Saw' or 'Hostel' are meant to shock and titillate your gag reflex, but that's not so much what I found repulsive; it's the overall feel and flavour of the movie from start to finish I found repugnant, there's little let up to give you breathing space, just relentless grossness, no light and shade to throw things into perspective. If there had been a character or two to sympathize with and care about it would have been far better but as it is I felt nothing, well nothing that made me care what happened to them, for any of them and some where a relief to lose when their demise came.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
Gory,brave film making and twisted british comedy of sorts.The complete opposite of what british films were 15 years ao and that is a very good thing!
It was one messed iup freaky film , alittle hard to watch but I'm glad that I stuck with it (and glad that it's a british film being over the top with gore and not an american one again)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Surprisingly good, but very gory so you might want to put on a rubber mac and sou'wester before watching, some funny moments too, the local villagers have a pub sing a long, to what I can only assume is a song called "Eeee Ba Gum". There's a kind of show, a bit like wheeltappers and shunters social club if anyone remembers that to which our minor offenders are invited. Very good special effects, to the extent I wanted a hot shower and scrub afterwards.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Inbred" is a black comedy indie film from the UK (hurray!). I thought it was good fun, with its tongue firmly in its cheek.
Two youth workers take four delinquent teens to stay in a farmhouse near the the village of Mortlake (actually filmed in and around Thirsk, North Yorkshire) to do community service.
After a mild altercation, the "colourful" locals take their revenge.....

This is a sort of "The League of Gentlemen", turned up to 11, with grotesques, lots of visceral gore and, while a comedy, played fairly straight.

It is fun. I enjoyed it for its silliness, the unflinching gore and for sending up the usual "we don't like strangers" films.

Gory and while not really a horror film, as such (though some bits are tense), if you're in the mood, fun.

4 indie stars out of 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 February 2016
I have never in my life given this sort of movie a 5* review but I had to give this one 5* as it was absolutely brilliant. A group of troubled youths are taken on a weekend retreat by 2 social workers, they fetch up in a village where the inhabitants are, as the title says, inbred plus they are all torturers and mass murderers.

The main character and patriarch is quite comical and has a little song he sings about outsiders the chorus of which is Eh By, Eh By Gum. Needless to say the villagers find very inventive ways to do,away with the visitors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 October 2012
Alex Chandon's take on the classic 'backward horror movie' sees the nuances of Deliverance, The Hills Have Eyes and Texas Chainsaw Massacre transferred to sedate Yorkshire countryside. A group of young offenders are chaperoned by their wily care workers in an attempt to generate some modicum of social conscience through a team building exercise in the remote village of Mortlake.

A chance run in with some locals sees the group pitted against the bizarre inhabitants of Mortlake as each becomes a potential showcase for an underground Cirque de Freak. The ensuing mayhem revolves around how the protagonists attempt to outwit the strange collection of assailents and make a bid for freedom.

INBRED is a brutal movie that manages to combine the shock and gore of contemporary horror movies and the black, black comedy that we British love so much. It is fair to say, rather than reboot the genre, this particular take pays significant homage to the original movies that shaped it. Zero CGI, close attention to character study and powerful, well orchestrated in-your-face violence helps make this movie much more than a standard romp through the genre.

A cult classic? Oh, yes. If there is any justice at all, time will see it achieve much, much more.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
If you want to be thoroughly grossed out (in the best kind of way) and truly laugh out loud then watch this film! It is absolutely horrifically hilarious and will test your gag reflex to its limits. The jokes are plenty and give refreshingly homagic dues to stereotypes you can only dream ever truly existed.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)