Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Set
This is an ongoing set of books which my step dad is engrossed in. Love the text print in these books as makes comfortable reading. Bought the rest of the set as printed so far.
Published on 9 Dec. 2012 by Sue

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dashed off for effect?
Retired Army Ranger Lt. Col. John Holliday is swept away into an deadly and secretive adventure when an archaeologist friend makes a bizarre find in Ethiopia. But, when he follows a trail of clues through the chaotic and lawless horn of Africa, he finds himself hunted as he comes closer to a priceless treasure that can only be found by those who can solve a riddle from...
Published on 28 Jun. 2011 by rhosymynydd


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dashed off for effect?, 28 Jun. 2011
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Legion (Paperback)
Retired Army Ranger Lt. Col. John Holliday is swept away into an deadly and secretive adventure when an archaeologist friend makes a bizarre find in Ethiopia. But, when he follows a trail of clues through the chaotic and lawless horn of Africa, he finds himself hunted as he comes closer to a priceless treasure that can only be found by those who can solve a riddle from the past. Sounds great? However, I was a little disappointed in this next in the "Templar" series written by Paul Christopher. For readers who enjoy archaeological thrillers and "Indiana Jones movies" and those who liked Christopher's other novels like THE LUCIFER GOSPEL this almost seems as if it has ben rushed through into publication. . The action does begins almost immediately, and the narrative sets such a quick pace but for all that, the author does not manage to inject enough realism to keep the story grounded and plausible, veering slightly into the absurd. One too many escapes from the throes of ...... etc.
I hope the next Paul Christopher contains more research and thorough background so that we can enjoy him as much again. I thnk this series has run its course.The Templar Legion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 6 Jan. 2013
By 
A keen reader "A reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Apart from the irrelevant title (the Templars barely featurev in it, and I have no idea where the Legion fits in), this is an enjoyable book. It's set in Africa with remnants of an ancinet Viking expedition, modern greed from mining companies, insane African dictators and of course of heroes. Well-written, good plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun lazy reading, 15 July 2013
This, the fifth title in Paul Christopher's series, is as much fun as the first four: conspiracy, death, lies, cover-ups and all that business. I had two problems with the story, one is a continuity error and the other is a question of morals.

Firstly, at one point the character Rafi tells another character the name of a little-known Templar who lived hundreds of years ago. Just a handful of pages later, he seems astonished when this same character interrupts him mid-sentence with the name.

****SPOILER ALERT - SPOILERS BELOW THIS LINE****

My second problem with it is the ending. Throughout the book we follow the efforts of a very sinister African secret policeman called Jean-Luc Saint-Sylvestre (or Saint-Sylvester, depending what page you're on). He goes to Switzerland and gets into the residence of a banker, who happens to be gay, under the pretence of a potential sexual encounter. He then murders him instead, before stealing information. He then goes to Canada on the back of this information and murders a second man (one of those plotting to overthrow the government of his country) by pretending to be a hotel employee, before murdering two elderly sisters in their home. Finally, he goes to England, where he murders a man who was simply in his way and blackmails another.

Fast-forward to the end, where Saint-Sylvestre turns out to be the nephew of Dr Limbani, the new president, and is elevated to a government job on the spot. All of which means he was one of the good guys... right?

Read it to get to the next one, but don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Templar Legion Letdown, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Legion (Templars Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Having purchased and enjoyed the previous four books in this series,I was looking forward to the latest, the title seemed to combine my two favourite historical interests, the Templars and The Roman Legions, boy was I in for a surprise, I am glad this was not available in time for me to take it on holiday,as it would have been read in a day, the outline is interesting and should have been so much more exciting, it does not roll along like Paul Christophers novels usually do , but seems to wander from time to time the pace picks up, but then drops to a crawl, Doc and the rest of the crew are drawn into the African adventure and I would have liked to see more in depth detail of the travels of the errant Templar whose trail the protaganists are following, its all over to soon, too rushed and not one of Paul`s best. I hope the introduction of Eddie means we will be off to Cuba in the next story as it seems to me it would be a great base for the series to move to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Set, 9 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an ongoing set of books which my step dad is engrossed in. Love the text print in these books as makes comfortable reading. Bought the rest of the set as printed so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 Jun. 2013
By 
A. F. Wallace "Grandad" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all the Templar books written by Paul Christopher and was disappointed by this one. If you have seen the film 'The Wild Geese' then you will note the similarities between the film and this book. Rich business tycoon wanting mining rights in Africa, good African leader versus bad African tyrant, mercenaries, even some of the names of the characters are the same, Matheson, Faulkner. Limbani. I hope his next one is more original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present, recipient loves these novels but as i myself do not read them I am at a loss as how to respond
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good book from Paul, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Legion (Templars Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
The story line went a bit off the Templar theme in this book, but was an engaging and interesting storyline nevertheless, and introduced new characters, one of which is carried over into the next book, which I have just started reading. The storyline is quite complex, as usual, which makes it interesting, and there are plenty of twists and turns and action, all of which make it a captivating read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Far-fetched, but still a good fast read, 3 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite a bit different from the other books in the series, but still a good read. The Pope and the American VP are killed, but nothing out of the ordinary. It is a bit far-fetched at how quickly they get out of serious troubles. Still, I will continue to read the next books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
quality product in good condition. I have not read it as I bought it for my 15yr old son, but he says these are great stories filled with historic facts that are helping him to expand his knowledge of the past and encourage his intention of studying history and archaeology at university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Templar Legion (Templars Book 5)
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews