Customer Reviews


476 Reviews
5 star:
 (316)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 108 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great and much needed little gadget!
Needed this to download CD's into ITunes. Works a treat! No setting up required with my HP Pavillion Sleekbook just plugged it in and away we went. It is compatible with Windows 8 (info that I found hard to research before buying).
Published 14 months ago by Tano

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just because you're paying peanuts, they don't have to treat you like a monkey
This DVD recorder has just arrived, so I can't comment too much on performance; judging by the number of high ratings others have given, it will be an extremely reliable bit of kit. It's cheap and basic but seems to work well out of the box.

However, I'm giving it only three stars (which means "It's OK" according to Amazon) because corners have been cut...
Published 21 days ago by Mr. J. D. Allan


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 108 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great and much needed little gadget!, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208DB/TSBS Slim Portable External USB 2.0 DVDRW - Black (Accessory)
Needed this to download CD's into ITunes. Works a treat! No setting up required with my HP Pavillion Sleekbook just plugged it in and away we went. It is compatible with Windows 8 (info that I found hard to research before buying).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208DB/TSBS Slim Portable External USB 2.0 DVDRW - Black (Accessory)
Exactly as I expected from a Samsung Product. Just plugged it in and off I went. No problems at all with burning DVDs or transferring from DVD/CD to computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


253 of 269 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome product!, 1 April 2013
By 
Mr Reviewer (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Samsung SE-208DB/TSBS Slim Portable External USB 2.0 DVDRW - Black (Accessory)
This item is the newer version of (SE-208AB /TSBS - [amzn. to/177TVI1] you may think that SE-208AB is the newer product, but I assure you...this (SE-208DB) definitely is, i got quite confused and couldn't tell the difference, but luckily for you guys, I'm here to discipline your confusion :)

If you want to know the difference between the different external writers then go to the samsung '.com' website and follow "Home >> Consumer >> PC / Peripherals >> Optical Disc Drive" or go to > bit .ly/11HZo5v < (note: SE-S084F is an older version). Now you might say "The older one has 'Speed Adjustment Technology: S.A.T', why doesn't the new one have this". To be quite honest with you, the DVD writer knows what speeds best for itself, it doesn't need the computer to interfere and to tell it what to do, this 'Speed Adjustment Technology: S.A.T' is what causes failures and so on. Its also worth noting that the slower you write your data on to a CD/DVD the more reliable and accurate it will be (less mistakes).

Now we've got that cleared up... I personally thought it was difficult to find all the different colours of this item, because they aren't all grouped together like some of Amazons products [amzn. to/19yxUlI] so I thought I would take the courtesy to list them for you.
Blue - [amzn. to/14Avob1]
Black - [amzn. to/14AvtLG]
White - [amzn. to/13KixAg]
Red - [amzn. to/11ECNBC]

Performance - This item loads CD/DVD's Faster than my computers CD/DVD Drive

Colour, Design, Material - 4 main colours for this item, The design is very unique and the item feels incredibly light, Material is very "anti-dust" if you know what I mean, and it doesn't leave any smudges when you touch it.

Complaints about the "eject" mechanism of the drive are...untrue I would say, the eject button on the drive does exactly as it says, it also ejects from the right click computer command.

This External DVD/CD writer is Mac Compatible and Windows 8 Compatible, It comes with a very sturdy high quality usb cable. The box includes a CD with Nero and Cyberlink software. It comes very tightly and neatly packaged.

This drive can also be used with android tablets (it says on the box). Another thing I would like to point out is the extremely rigid build. Although it may be lightweight, it feels very sturdy and un-flimsy.

The drawer of the drive rests on the surface the writer is on, this minimises the possible damage that could be done to the drawer of the writer/drive.

Please Note: do not use a USB mini hub (a hub with multiple USB ports) or any type of USB extension cable, the writer will not function properly if you do use any one of these mentioned items, this is because these items reduce the amount of power actually being received by the writer. I would suggest you use a 'Lindy' "type A to mini B" cable like the one's mentioned below to extend the reach of the product. PS: the cable supplied with this product is pretty short (about 10 inches long). (I tried using a normal USB extension cable and the product would partially start, this was because of the limitation in power.)

This drive is compatible with USB 2.0 and 3.0. It has a 1mb buffer memory which is more than enough. The CD/DVD Writer supports all the following disc formats - (DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R, DVD+RW, DVD-ROM, DVD-Video, DVD+R DL, DVD-R DL, DVD-RAM, CD-ROM, CD-R, CD-RW, CD-DA, CD+E (G), CD-MIDI, CD-TEXT, CD-ROM XA, Mixed Mode CD, CD-I, CD-I Bridge (Photo-CD, Video-CD), multi session CD 'Photo-CD, CD-EXTRA, Portfolio' ).

*The cable included with this product (SE-208DB) only uses one usb port unlike the older version (SE-208AB) which used two usb ports*

For a cable alternative I would recommend:
1m - [amzn. to/12KOIUY] or
1m - [amzn. to/10hE1rH] >> recommended

for more options go to - bit .ly/XToDeq , make sure you take out the space after 'bit'.(copy and paste the 'Part No' into Amazon to purchase a specific item)

Go checkout the Lindy website for more "type A to mini B cables", type the code in to Amazon and purchase!

*not that the review above refers to all the different coloured writers with the product code 'SE-208DB'*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTICO!, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208DB/TSBS Slim Portable External USB 2.0 DVDRW - Black (Accessory)
It plays all the disc formats apart from Blu-ray! It's excellent. Only one warning: MAKE SURE YOU USE THE SAFELY REMOVE HARDWARE OR YOU WILL DAMAGE THE WRITER'S POWER BOARD. Just pulling the usb out doesn't give chance for the drive to power down correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job., 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208DB/TSBS Slim Portable External USB 2.0 DVDRW - Black (Accessory)
Bought to save having to replace an internal DVDRW in my Dell PC that was playing up. Tried a cheaper version which would not power up from the USB socket and which had to be returned. This works a treat and can also be used with other laptops/tablets etc.. You get what you pay for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great with iMac, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208DB/TSBS Slim Portable External USB 2.0 DVDRW - Black (Accessory)
My 3 year old iMac optical drive failed and Apple wanted £100 to replace it. This drive plugged in and worked fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for region 1..., 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208DB/TSBS Slim Portable External USB 2.0 DVDRW - Black (Accessory)
I wanted something to watch region 1 DVD's on with out changing the code on my laptop connected to tv. Changed the region code on this to 1, plugged it into laptop and can now watch my region 1's without any hassle. Also use it for software installs on notebook without DVD drive. Ticks all the boxes for less than £21 - excellent value...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know without wasting your time, 24 Dec 2013
By 
X (S.E. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208DB/TSBS Slim Portable External USB 2.0 DVDRW - Black (Accessory)
Typical Samsung product.

Unpack.
Admire the quality.
Read basic instructions
Connect with included USB lead
Use.
Think about the excellent value for money and feel good about life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the money, 4 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208DB/TSBS Slim Portable External USB 2.0 DVDRW - Black (Accessory)
I bought this for my iMac as I still needed to work with DVD and CDs. It was delivered on time and came well packed.

I've had it for a couple of months now and it's had a fair amount of use without any problems. I'd definitely recommend for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive external drive !, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208DB/TSBS Slim Portable External USB 2.0 DVDRW - Black (Accessory)
I bought this external drive purely for the reason that my ASUS netbook does not have a disc drive built in. This has always been a bother for me as I've always needed to put my CDs onto iTunes or play DVDs. I am thrilled with this product - it was delivered sooner than I expected, and came in perfect condition, working extremely well and was easy to set up.

However, as a piece of advice for those with Windows 8 on their computers, I strongly suggest downloading the highly reliable VLC Media Player. The Windows Media Player in Windows 8 does not play DVDs as it doesn't come with playback software within the Media Player itself. VLC Media Player worked immediately for me, loading by itself as soon as the DVD was inserted into the external drive.

Overall, an impressive little buy though! Highly recommended. Amy, 17 y/o.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews