Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting version...
In Havisham, Ronald Frame has taken inspiration from the Charles Dickens's classic novel Great Expectations and has recreated the supposed life of the ill fated spinster Catherine Havisham. There has always been much speculation into the mystery of Satis House and the portrayal of Miss Havisham left in her decaying mansion surrounded by the ghost of her wedding...
Published on 13 Nov 2012 by jaffareadstoo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting,though a little dull at times
It was interesting to read the background 'life' of Miss Haversham, but the style of writing was on occasion dull. The story was written in short chapters which jumped ahead and often left me feeling as though something was missing - like an abridged version of a story. While I wanted to finish nod see how it turned out, it was never a story that captured my imagination...
Published 18 months ago by L. Collins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting version..., 13 Nov 2012
By 
jaffareadstoo (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Havisham (Hardcover)
In Havisham, Ronald Frame has taken inspiration from the Charles Dickens's classic novel Great Expectations and has recreated the supposed life of the ill fated spinster Catherine Havisham. There has always been much speculation into the mystery of Satis House and the portrayal of Miss Havisham left in her decaying mansion surrounded by the ghost of her wedding paraphernalia presents an iconic image of English literature.
Catherine Havisham is such a fascinating character that any story that can shed light on her troubled personality is one to be embraced with great interest. Overall, I think that the author has done an admirable job in fleshing out her character and whilst there are no great surprises to found within the story, it does make for an interesting and enjoyable read. I thought that the story starts off rather slowly and needs to be read with great care and attention and then once Catherine grows up the story really starts to become a fascinating account of a life mismanaged by tragedy.
The Dickens purists may not agree that Miss Havisham's story deserves to be told by anyone other than the great man himself, but as an enjoyable addition to the sub Dickens genre, Havisham works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A successful intervention into Great Expectations, 2 Nov 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Havisham (Hardcover)
Taking the story of one of Dickens' most iconic characters - Miss Havisham from Great Expectations - this is a surprising and unexpected story.

The book doesn't `catch-up' with and meet Dickens' original until about three-quarters of the way through and while we know the gist of Catherine Havisham's story, I still found it less predictable and more interesting that I perhaps expected.

Frame doesn't attempt to write in a Dickensian style (thank heavens!) and makes Catherine Havisham his own. Even when the book does `meet' Dickens, there is a kind of (post) modern twist which isn't clever-clever or irritating, but does shift the story somewhat.

I don't want to say anything about the plot that will spoil this for other readers - suffice it to say that I'm not a great fan of prequels, sequels or other re-writings of classics, but this is a successful intervention into Dickens' text - and makes me eager to re-read the original.

(This review is from an ARC courtesy of the publisher).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining and Absorbing Re-imagining of Miss Havisham's Early Life, 31 Oct 2012
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Havisham (Hardcover)
Ronald Frame's 'Havisham' is the re-imagining of Miss Havisham's story from Charles Dickens' 'Great Expectations'. In his novel 'Great Expectations' Dickens provided his own brief back story for Miss Havisham, but Frame has used his own imagination to put some flesh on the bones of Dickens' story and to describe to his readers Catherine Havisham's history before the life-changing event which caused her to have all of the clocks in her home stopped at exactly the same time ...

Catherine Havisham, daughter of the very wealthy brewer, Joseph Havisham, has grown up motherless after her mother died giving birth to her. Catherine's father gives her all that money can buy, but when he confesses to her that she has a half-brother, she is shocked and hurt by her father's deception. Catherine meets her half-brother when he comes to the family home, Satis House, and from what she has discovered about him, she is not surprised to find him a difficult and uncouth person who is set on coming between herself and her father. In order to try to recompense his daughter and to provide her with some social polish, Catherine's father arranges for her to spend some time with the aristocratic Chadwyck family, and it is whilst she is living with the Chadwycks, discovering literature, music and art, that she meets the rather attractive Charles Compeyson - and if you have read 'Great Expectations' you will know what the eventual heartbreaking outcome of this meeting will be, and if you haven't read it, I won't spoil the story for you here.

Although Frame's novel is a prequel to 'Great Expectations' the author does not finish his story once he reaches Dickens' original, but travels alongside the original story fleshing out the character of Catherine Havisham and giving the reader an imagined insight into some of the characters' behaviours and motivations. Frame's writing is rather visual in style and I found his descriptions of situation and setting evocative and satisfying to read; I also found it interesting to read about Catherine Havisham's early adult life as a bright and enthusiastic young lady before she becomes an embittered and lonely older woman. By using a first person narrative for Catherine, the author enables the reader to see events from her perspective, which pulls us immediately into her world and, although this rather poignant story is stronger in some parts than others, overall I found this novel an entertaining and absorbing read. It seems unfair to compare this novel too closely to the original, so I won't, but I will say that reading this has made me want to return to 'Great Expectations' and, as I haven't read it since my teenage years, it's most probably not a moment too soon.

4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting,though a little dull at times, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Havisham (Kindle Edition)
It was interesting to read the background 'life' of Miss Haversham, but the style of writing was on occasion dull. The story was written in short chapters which jumped ahead and often left me feeling as though something was missing - like an abridged version of a story. While I wanted to finish nod see how it turned out, it was never a story that captured my imagination or enthralled me in any way. A little disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Havisham (Kindle Edition)
The book is easy to read and rollicks along at a steady pace, keeping the reader engaged at all times. However... it's just a bit bland. I felt there was no depth of character, and I really didn't sympathise with the character at all, even when she was abandoned and bereft on her wedding morning. The other characters drifted in and out of the story without making any real impact - the half-brother could have made things a lot spicier, if he had been given more time in the story. And I am afraid the introduction of Pip towards the end seems wholly superfluous - I had thought that it being the story before the story, it would have ended before we reached that point.
All in all - I would recommend this book as a harmless story - but I felt no closer to understanding the elusive Miss Havisham, and in some ways, wished I'd left her previous life to my own imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Expectations of the prequel, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Havisham (Kindle Edition)
I have loved GE for nigh on fifty years, so approached the prequel with some trepidation. Other reviewers have criticised the long passages on dress, but surely that is pretty much all an erstwhile "lady" of the day would have had to think about? So much was denied them. Her transition into the person in GE is very real for me.
I thoroughly enjoyed the entire book, perhaps because the author has imagined something close to me own imagining?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fine feat of the imagination; a post-facto prequel, 30 July 2014
By 
Richard Brown (Hove, E.Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
The image of Miss Haversham in 'Great Expectations' - decked out in her dusty wedding-dress, among the mouldering remains of her wedding reception in her sad, decaying mansion with the cold and beautiful Estella - is one of the most affecting, not to say iconic, characters in English literature. Being jilted at the altar can be a shattering and humiliating experience; in Victorian times, among the middle and upper classes, it was peculiarly poignant, mixed as it was with a huge amount of shame and scandal. Tricked by a consummate conman after her money, and doubly betrayed, Miss Haversham went half out of her mind, refusing to let go of the wedding-dress that symbolised all her hopes for a happy future with the man she loved: it became a pall.

Ronald Frame has given us Miss Haversham's back story - or a "post-facto prelude" as the dustwrapper has it. In spare, concentrated, precise prose (the opposite of Dickens's prolixity), we learn of Catherine Haversham's motherless childhood with her hard-working brewer of a father, a childhood that left her unschooled and naïve but reasonably content with her life. We see her mix with the upper-class Chadwyck family, all of whom condescend to her in various ways, one of who secretly loves her (a missed opportunity), one of whom she is attracted to herself. And we see her fall for the man who would ruin her. Once her father dies, we see that she is capable, up to a point, of running the brewery herself, with the judicious help of the lawyer Jaggers; but as a woman she meets obstructive male opposition among her staff which drives her, eventually, to close the brewery rather than give in to their bullying. All this is imagined with great clarity by Frame. It could have been more dramatic, in the style of Dickens or sensational novels, but he was more interested in fleshing out the history and character of Miss Haversam than in dramatic events.

The last quarter of the book overlaps with 'Great Expectations', and here the tone shifts. The focus is as much upon Estella as Catherine. It becomes more spare, even sketchy, for now we have memories to draw upon, of the book, of the film and TV adaptations we have seen. By the end I felt I knew Miss Haversham in a much deeper sense than Dickens allowed (he preferred caricature to psychology): though she never wholly won me over and remained something of an emotional monster, her frailties were more evident.

'Haversham', for all its depth and subtlety, is easy to read. It is a good example of that class of novels - preludes, prequels or sequels - which takes an iconic character from one novel and extends it into another, more developed narrative. 'Wide Sargasso Sea' by Jean Rhys is perhaps the prototype of this in English literature, the early life of the mad Mrs Rochester being its subject. A good modern example is 'Rebecca's Tale' by Sally Beauman, which focuses on Rebecca in Daphne du Maurier's famous novel of that name. The trick is to find the character that already exists in the shadows of the reader's mind and bring it into the light, making something of it much larger and more complex than the original. This is what Frame has done so successfully here. It's a fine feat of the imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tale of betrayal, 2 Dec 2013
By 
As a big fan of Charles Dickens, and never having read Great Expectations before, I was eager to read this.
It is the heartbreaking story about a wealthy young woman named Catherine Havisham, the daughter of a nouveau rich man earned his riches making beer and ale. Frowned on by the upper classes, her father sends her off to live with a more noble family to ease her into society. Cathrine is deeply in love with the man she is about to marry, but to her utter shock and devastation, he never shows up for the ceremony and she is left at the altar. This sets off a chain of events as Catherine is left to pick up the pieces of her life and run the family business after her father dies. She does so with a ruthless ambition, growing the business even further. But others thwart her, embezzle, seek to usurp her authority. Betrayal, frayed trust, and resilience are underlying themes in this novel.

At first, I struggled to "get into" the novel, and set it aside several times. On the 4th try, I persevered, and was glad that I did, because after that, I was thoroughly engrossed in the story. I think my difficulties lay with the writing itself, and not the story. At times, scenes were under explained and too brief and I found myself going back to re-read passages to try to understand the meaning. Other times, the prose sparked with brilliant descriptions and emotion. Other than the unusual writing style, it was a great book. Now I'm eager to sit down and finally read Great Expectations. Don't be afraid to give this book a try, especially if you're a Dickens fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent read, 22 Oct 2013
By 
J. Speakman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Havisham (Kindle Edition)
Obviously not a patch on Great Expectations but it was enjoyable. I thought her life before being jilted was told erratically and could have done with more richness of narrative to properly engage the reader. Miss H is hard to like and of course one knows it will end in disappointment for Miss H but at the end a neat form of justice is delivered on her lover. When Estella enters the story then it improves probably because of one remembering Great Expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstood Miss Havisham, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Lovely Treez (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Havisham (Hardcover)
Like many other readers I have been fascinated with the character of Catherine Havisham since I first encountered her in Great Expectations at the tender age of 13. Jilted on her wedding day and frozen in time and bitterness in Satis House, she endeavours to wreak vengeance on treacherous, unreliable men via her ward, the irresistible Estella. Ronald Frame uncovers the human side of Miss Havisham, revealing an ambitious and vivacious young woman not yet tainted by the trauma of broken relationships.

We see a young girl, an only child doted upon by her widowed father who lavishes her with gifts "Children, handpicked" are brought to play at Satis House but Catherine remains an outsider, the money coming from the Havisham Brewery marking her as different from the local villagers but still not quite good enough for noble families. Her one friend is Sally, the daughter of a labourer, but she is not a suitable companion for an heiress so Catherine is shipped off to the Chadwycks, a more socially appropriate setting for someone of her social stature. However the overriding impression is that Catherine is her own woman, a square peg trying to fit into a round hole, stuck in a limbo between new and old money. She's never presented as a paragon of virtue but you feel she's doomed to be an outsider, living on the periphery of others' happiness.

In this reimagining of Miss Havisham, Frame forges his own style and gives a realistic background to a very troubled lady. It's a bit of a slow burner but give it time to breathe life into a ghostly figure and you will be rewarded with the compelling story of a much maligned and perhaps misunderstood character. A must for fans of Great Expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Havisham
Havisham by Ronald Frame
£3.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews