Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
the best book he has written so far, he gave a bit of background information about where he came from what colleges he went to what he studied and how he retired at 37 after 10 years trading with George . he still trades the markets lives in Singapore and has two children who have learnt mandarin. better to read it!!
Published 17 months ago by darragh condren

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but lacking practical advice
An entertaining read, as with the other Jim Rogers books I've bought and read (Investment Biker, Adventure Capitalist, Bull in China). His personal story and travels are quite interesting, and I was intrigued by his move to Singapore, so it was good to see that written about in the book. While the book was interesting, engaging and enjoyable (I read it on a day off), I've...
Published 22 months ago by Avid Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but lacking practical advice, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An entertaining read, as with the other Jim Rogers books I've bought and read (Investment Biker, Adventure Capitalist, Bull in China). His personal story and travels are quite interesting, and I was intrigued by his move to Singapore, so it was good to see that written about in the book. While the book was interesting, engaging and enjoyable (I read it on a day off), I've felt I need to knock it down to three stars for one simple reason: while Jim Rogers argues that the West is going to hell in a handbasket (and he is probably right about that) there is very little practical advice on offer, apart from "move to China". I personally found that quite frustrating - kind of like telling someone their house is on fire and then not showing them where the fire escape is! I do hope Jim writes a more practical guide at some point in the future, although I realize that is a big ask. Still having said all that, it was a good book, not boring at all, and an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Smarts: Adventures on the Road and in the Markets (Kindle Edition)
the best book he has written so far, he gave a bit of background information about where he came from what colleges he went to what he studied and how he retired at 37 after 10 years trading with George . he still trades the markets lives in Singapore and has two children who have learnt mandarin. better to read it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Russell (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Street Smarts: Adventures on the Road and in the Markets (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyable, informative and entertaining. I was not let down by this or by hot commodities and will read more by jim rogers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice but..., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Jim Rogers' originality and contrarian's approach to investing. I follow his public speaches and interviews regularly.This book is more like snapshots od his life accomplishements and mistakes and less an analysis of economics or investments. To that end, the complete lack of any chart, numerical example, anything that could give the reader a hint on how he approaches investing an analyzes situations is a big minus. Or at least so for readers expecting to learn from Rogers how does he go about forming his investment strategies. Rogers is a smart guy and he reminds the reader in every occasion in this book (we know he is smart, he shouldn't feel so compelled to grab every opportunity to write and say it, I find this a bit annoying). This book leaves ther reader with a rather vague idea on how to form an investment philosophy, a few broad strokes on the do's and dont's through Roger's own ventures. It is definitely not going to educate readers much, however it is true that Rogers has a talent to draw readers' attention and this is the reason I bought the book in the first place (finished it in two days). He writes in a pleasant, easy to understand way. All in all, this book is a good easy read but nothing more than that which is perhaps what it aspired to be in the first place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present for my son, he really enjoyed reading it, and would recommend it to anybody interested in the stock market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Rogers' autobiography, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to learn about Jim Rogers' life then this is the book to read. You then, as a bonus, gain an insight into his way of thinking. A must read even if just for a lesson in how to approach thinking about life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, thought provoking and very entertaining --The first Jim ..., 7 Oct 2014
Insightful, thought provoking and very entertaining --The first Jim Rogers book I have read and I have just ordered 3 more .No nonsense Jim says it how it is and he has the CV to back it all up --we should all listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all Jim Rogers' books, he hits the nail on the head...straightforward and tells it like it is...a great book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 17 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Smarts: Adventures on the Road and in the Markets (Kindle Edition)
You know a book is excellent when you find it hard to not read it in one go. Well done to Jim, he masters his subject and tells it all very simply
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing very special, 25 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book does not contain anything very special. Good point is that it has big letters and is easy to read but I do not find anything really helping my trading efforts. No real secrets revealed or useful advice given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews