Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critical Acclaim.
I came upon this novella in quite a unique way. The author is a fervent tweeter and offers some unique incentives to read. He needn't have bothered as this gripping ride captures the reader immediately. Tension and mystery build in equal measure during the first half of the book and I almost found the different strands of the story more compelling that when they finally...
Published on 5 Nov. 2012 by Shakes

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea.
Downloaded this read 13% of it and returned it for a refund. Really couldn't get into it at all. Dull from the start.
Published on 30 Dec. 2012 by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critical Acclaim., 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Critical Incident (Kindle Edition)
I came upon this novella in quite a unique way. The author is a fervent tweeter and offers some unique incentives to read. He needn't have bothered as this gripping ride captures the reader immediately. Tension and mystery build in equal measure during the first half of the book and I almost found the different strands of the story more compelling that when they finally weave together. Troy Blackford has an inventive and at times quite graphic imagination. I suspect that it may be a few more books before Troy firmly hits his stride but there is enough here to signal someone I know I will be reading for a while. Its always great to follow authors from the beginning so I urge you to hop this train early - you won't be disappointed.
The novella stands alone but will also form part of a trilogy. You can also catch some short stories on the authors website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word - Awesome!, 10 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Critical Incident (Kindle Edition)
This is a novella and the first of a three part series. Starts off with police investigating some strange things going on which is intriguing and will keep you reading. The story quickly becomes enthralling and as the pace quickens you will find yourself on the edge of your seat. Very much looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critical acclaim for Critical Incident?, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Critical Incident (Kindle Edition)
A gripping start to a trilogy that will be completed in early 2013.
Unable to put it down, i read this in a single sitting on a Sunday evening, and after a little light refreshment, i'll be starting the next installment, which is already sitting on my Kindle!
Mystery, murder, conspiracy, corruption, killer robots, even! Troy Blackford delivers the goods!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read!, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
Malise Hulme - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Critical Incident (Kindle Edition)
It picks up right away with an intriguing hook, which pretty successfully made me not want to put it down until I knew what was happening! Blackford writes very simply, almost deceptively so, as he drags you in to soemthing which starts off at a high pace and just keeps going. Despite that I reached a point where I guessed what was going on and who the big bad was, I didn't enjoy the read any less.
As for the end, well it leaves you in no doubt the the next one is going to be bigger, faster and more in depth.
A short read, but a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast mover. A recommended read., 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Critical Incident (Kindle Edition)
The author posted some of his short stories on Twitter. Reading them persuaded me to buy Critical Incident.

The story moves quickly. Information given is relevant to the story-no unnecessary rambling so no dead chapters.
It's a little unsettling in places...maybe this could/does happen to some level, somewhere in the world?...and that's what I like about it. That tinge of possibility.

Next purchase is the follow-up 'Emergent Pattern'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 18 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Critical Incident (Kindle Edition)
To be honest the only reason I bought this novella was that I follow Mr Blackford on Twitter and wondered if he could write and yes he can. I was drawn into this tale immediately and found it riveting. I haven't read a story for a long time thats held my attention so well. Look forward to the next two novellas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 4 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Critical Incident (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Critical Incident. Mr. Blackford as a way with words and writes with great emotion. I found myself extremely interested in the characters had to keep reading. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Critical Incident Review, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Critical Incident (Kindle Edition)
This is setting up a series and is definately interesting enough to continue reading the next in the series,I enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critical Read, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Critical Incident (Kindle Edition)
great book fast and furious straight into the action and BANG to the end a must read from this new author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced blast of immense imagination!, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Critical Incident (Kindle Edition)
Unique reading experience. Troy keeps the reader gripped with this action packed, non-stop feast for the brain! Unexpected and unusual twists at every corner, with enough mystery about characters to leave you writing your own sub plots in your head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Critical Incident
Critical Incident by Troy Blackford
£2.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews