Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Star Trek-esque adventure tale
As a big fan of the various TV series this is clearly moulded on, I really enjoyed this opener and I'm looking forward to the next instalments and seeing the story and its characters develop. Ironically it's what I like about this book that might be a downside for others i.e. it's solidly in the mainstream of the genre with (so far) no real surprises, but frankly who...
Published 23 months ago by Tom S. Christian

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Free but way too short
Story was ok but this was far too short. I realise that it was free but other authors often offer the first full book free to entice you into reading the rest of the series. Unfortunately, I felt cheated and will not be bothering. I've given 2 stars for what content there was ( which was pretty good)
Published 20 months ago by BK


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Free but way too short, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Far From Home Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Story was ok but this was far too short. I realise that it was free but other authors often offer the first full book free to entice you into reading the rest of the series. Unfortunately, I felt cheated and will not be bothering. I've given 2 stars for what content there was ( which was pretty good)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my style, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Far From Home Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book was too much just conversation without feeling. For some reason, I ordered book two, which has started out in such a dull way that I really won't be finishing it. There are so many good sci fi books out there that spark the imagination. This is just like a school play, or worse - crying out for someone to turn it into a tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from home 1 Legend, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Far From Home Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Free book. Very short, not long enough to make any sort of choice about the on going titles. With so many other free titles out there can not justify paying for the next book. From what I have read could be kindly said to be classic sci-fi, with an easy story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Duh, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Far From Home Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A star trek clone
Who needs sixteen words?
It's a simple copy of all sci fi stories
Perm to discworld
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Legend (Far From Home Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
With all the hype in the description I expected better. Poorly written, poor use of vocabulary, in general pretty dire. Sorry one would think this was written by a 13 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Star Trek-esque adventure tale, 19 Oct 2012
This review is from: Legend (Far From Home Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As a big fan of the various TV series this is clearly moulded on, I really enjoyed this opener and I'm looking forward to the next instalments and seeing the story and its characters develop. Ironically it's what I like about this book that might be a downside for others i.e. it's solidly in the mainstream of the genre with (so far) no real surprises, but frankly who cares. It's a great story with heaps of potential. Bring it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, don't waste your time., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Far From Home Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Short, far too short, reads like a star trek fan-fic that the author grudgingly edited to avoid being sued by Paramount. Unlikeable cardboard cut-out stereotypical characters plus obvious 'Mary Sue' protagonist. Transparently flimsy plot [what there is of it] and obvious set up for following books... which appear to be a pastiche of Voyager, Wrath of Kahn and David Weber's Honour Harrington series, without any of the better parts of them.

If it had been a physical book I would have thrown it away hard enough to leave a dent in the wall. Set phasers to delete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but short, 3 Jan 2013
This review is from: Legend (Far From Home Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is my first ever review, the story is fantastic, but like other readers, the story is very short. Having said this it is a free book! I look forward to the first of the series though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Far From Home Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book and it made for an easy reading experience. Will look for more of his work. Brilliant as it didn't cost anything. My only fault is that it is yet again part of a series, can no one write a complete book in one go these days?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far from home one, awesome, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Far From Home Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this as a taster before u bought the while collection and loved it!, the action doesn't seem to stop, one minute your fighting a ship, losing a comrade, fighting the same ship then thrown through a black hole! Absolutely undoubtedly awesome. An excellent read i highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend (Far From Home Book 1)
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews