Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars haunting and thrilling in equal measure
It struck me while listening to this admirable disc that it may well be intended as a homage to Kyung Wha Chung, as the cover is strikingly similar to her recording of the Prokofiev concertos made back in 1975, also for Decca, with exactly the same angle to the head and even the same hairline! Chung's version was hailed as a landmark at the time and has stood as one of...
Published 21 months ago by schumann_bg

versus
1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
I was introduced to Janine by a young violinist in Oslo and her Tchaikovsky violin concerto is truly awesome. Sadly, for my untutored ears, Prokofiev is hard work and not at all easy listening for a non-player.
Published 19 months ago by Mike Jenks


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars haunting and thrilling in equal measure, 1 Oct 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Prokofiev: Violin Concerto etc (Audio CD)
It struck me while listening to this admirable disc that it may well be intended as a homage to Kyung Wha Chung, as the cover is strikingly similar to her recording of the Prokofiev concertos made back in 1975, also for Decca, with exactly the same angle to the head and even the same hairline! Chung's version was hailed as a landmark at the time and has stood as one of the classic accounts ever since - she did after all study with Szigeti - and this new version of Concerto no. 2 recalls Chung's playing in its gleam on the sound and rich vein of fantasy, but with a fantastically present orchestra (under Vladimir Jurowski) where every detail can be heard in perfect counterpoint to the soloist. Janine Jansen is really a phenomenal player, to which her London appearances memorably attest - What a joy, therefore, to hear her making this Prokofiev concerto sing and glide with all the transport and yearning of no. 1, something I didn't think it could do! The textures are so crisp, and her sound has a kind of perfection and tonal range that is totally magical. Above all, it comes across as chamber music for quite unprecedented sound combinations. The second subject of the first movement, for instance, is coaxed from the violin with the utmost lusciousness of tone, but you can hear the woodwind lines floating around it as clearly in tender arabesques. If the tribute to Chung is intended, it by no means takes the form of a retake, for Jansen goes on to perform the rare sonata for two violins which has a great purity and focus, and evident enjoyment from both players, before moving on to the most substantial work, the first violin sonata op. 80, which is incredible in its power and melodic pull. It was written in very difficult times but this is transformed into music that is deeply rewarding, and her sonorous backing by Itamar Golan makes for a true partnership of equals. You listen almost in disbelief to the superb virtuosity allied to the keenest feeling for the music's depth of expression. It's a disc that has you reassessing Prokofiev's contribution to the violin repertoire, having the potent fantasy of his ballet music and the power - in the sonata no. 1 - of Bartok's essays in the form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JANINE JANSEN'S BRILLIANT PROKOFIEV PERFORMANCES, 30 Oct 2012
By 
RBSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Prokofiev: Violin Concerto etc (Audio CD)
"Prokofiev" captures violin virtuoso Janine Jansen's 3 brilliant interpretations of the genius of Russian composer, conductor, and pianist Sergei Sergeyevich Prokofiev. First, Janine appears with the London Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Vladimir Jurowski playing the beautifully atmospheric "Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Opus 63" with that gorgeous 6 note recurring refrain in the Allegro moderato movement and Jansen's sensational execution of the Allegro, ben marcato movement with perfect orchestral support. Then she is caught in duo with violinist Boris Brovtsyn playing the "Sonata for 2 Violins in C major, Opus 56" (take note of the 'Allegro con brio' movement by the violin duo in which Prokofiev anticipates ideas that appear in his "Romeo and Juliet" ballet, related specifically to the Juliet character). And finally Janine is in duo with pianist Itamar Golan playing the marvelous "Sonata for Violin and Piano in F minor, Opus 80, No. 1". These are exciting, inspired Prokofiev performances that add to the many informed opinions that Ms Jansen is among the most brilliant violinists of our time, remarkably plumbing the depths and limits of Prokofiev's three technically challenging and emotional compositions. If Prokofiev was not your taste in the past, these performances may change your mind. Bravo, Ms Jansen. Very Highly Recommended. Five EXCELLENT Stars! (11 tracks, 72 minutes, 57 seconds. Booklet notes in English, French, German, and Dutch, with photographs.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prokofiev: Violin Concerto etc (Audio CD)
I bought these album for my girlfriend and she loved the album! She was verry happy with the sound quality that you can hear on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prokofiev: Violin Concerto etc (Audio CD)
Something I always liked and helps me to enjoy and relax. I have a good hi-fi system and it gives me an opportunity to use my system as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like this music at once, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prokofiev: Violin Concerto etc (Audio CD)
I did not know the music. But I love it at once. For me the sound is overwhelming. Proof it!

Everybody: ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 29 Nov 2012
By 
Mike Jenks "Mike Jenks" (Either Cheshire or Oslo) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prokofiev: Violin Concerto etc (Audio CD)
I was introduced to Janine by a young violinist in Oslo and her Tchaikovsky violin concerto is truly awesome. Sadly, for my untutored ears, Prokofiev is hard work and not at all easy listening for a non-player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prokofiev: Violin Concerto etc
Prokofiev: Violin Concerto etc by Janine Jansen (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews