Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expanded version of Willie's classic Pretty Paper album
I owned Pretty Paper on vinyl. It was re-issued on CD with its original running order, but I didn't buy it, nor did I buy Willie's other Christmas album, Hill Country Christmas. I was therefore pleased to discover this compilation.

All the tracks from Pretty paper are here, but I don't think they are in the same running order and in any case, they are not all...
Published 19 months ago by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fan of Willie Nelson
Christmas songs not really Willie Nelsons forte not the best of his works prefer Frank Sinatra for Christmas Songs. Willie Nelsons Highwayman far better.
Published 8 months ago by Mr. P. Chandler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expanded version of Willie's classic Pretty Paper album, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I owned Pretty Paper on vinyl. It was re-issued on CD with its original running order, but I didn't buy it, nor did I buy Willie's other Christmas album, Hill Country Christmas. I was therefore pleased to discover this compilation.

All the tracks from Pretty paper are here, but I don't think they are in the same running order and in any case, they are not all consecutive. Added to those tracks are one from Without A Song (A dreamer's holiday), two from Hill Country Christmas (Away in a manger, Joy to the world) and the title track from What a Wonderful World.

The original Pretty Paper album (tracks 2 to 12 and 16 here) was filled with mostly familiar songs, the main exception being Christmas blues, an instrumental that Willie and the album's producer Booker T Jones wrote together. Willie sings on all the other tracks. The original title track is a song that Willie wrote in the sixties that became a UK top ten pop hit for Roy Orbison. Even so, it has not been recorded by as many people as the other familiar songs featured on the album.

The other tracks are all good, although the style of A dreamer's holiday doesn't really fit with the other songs, but I'm happy to live with that. All in all, this is an excellent reissue of Pretty paper with extra tracks/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars willie nelson, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
excellent value for a very good album by a star country and western performer who captured the mood of every song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willie Nelson - Classic Christmas Album, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This man could sing about a dust-cart going down the street and make it sound great! I love it! It's just Willie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Corker, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This cd deserves more stars but hey let's not be too greedy.
Love the production and the tone that Willie (and family) create to make all the standard songs pure joy to the ear.
This cd is timeless and will be brought out on the special occasion that is xmas for me to listen to every year - bring it on!
Oh and great value for money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Country Christmas, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Donald Mckinnon (Scotland U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came across this album whilst flicking through the bargain downloads. Being a fan of Willie Nelson, I decided to listen to the tracks. It's full of all the Christmas standards served up in the laid back style that is Willie Nelson. Having downloaded it I'm delighted with it. Willie is one of those artists you either love or hate and I'm one of the former. I love his interpretations of the standards and his unique style.
A nice background soundtrack for when you're preparing the turkey on Christmas Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willie Nelson - The Classic Christmas Album, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Been looking for a christmas album from this great singer for some time. Arrived as expected and the album is all that you would want. Nice easy listening in Willie's own blend. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars !!FANTASTIC!!, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Iam a !!BIG FAN!! OF Willie Nelson!! and this is just another great buy added to my collection. !!!BRILLIANT C.D!!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old classics from an old classic, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Jennifer Jenkins "Jen Jenkins" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
If you love Willie Nelson you will love this all the Christmas Classics done by that wonderful voice by a great man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fan of Willie Nelson, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Christmas songs not really Willie Nelsons forte not the best of his works prefer Frank Sinatra for Christmas Songs. Willie Nelsons Highwayman far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 Oct 2013
By 
David Anderson (methven perth scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Christmas Album (Audio CD)
This album is well worth getting and listening to we very seldom have this album of we even take in the car with us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Classic Christmas Album
The Classic Christmas Album by Willie Nelson (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews