Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A* for the "b- sides" album
Dead in the Boot by Elbow is a stunning collection of beautiful, emotive tracks, good enough to have been included on any of their previous albums. This one is an essential buy to enrich your enjoyment of Elbow's outstanding song-writing skills and, if you don't already have them, buy their back catalogue. You won't be disappointed!
Published on 30 Aug 2012 by Frankie George

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even some fans will struggle
The facts are these: I love Elbow, I have a man-crush on Mr Garvey (don't tell the wife), and I have every album and cannot find a thing wrong with them. However, this B-sides album is tough to love. I see all the 5 stars and 1 stars and wish to balance these with some objective caution: you need to love Elbow's first two albums if you're going to enjoy this. The first...
Published on 12 Oct 2012 by JONATHAN MARK PIKE


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A* for the "b- sides" album, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: dead in the boot (Audio CD)
Dead in the Boot by Elbow is a stunning collection of beautiful, emotive tracks, good enough to have been included on any of their previous albums. This one is an essential buy to enrich your enjoyment of Elbow's outstanding song-writing skills and, if you don't already have them, buy their back catalogue. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another classic, 27 Aug 2012
This review is from: dead in the boot (Audio CD)
most B side's album offerings tend to be substandard versions of their LPs containing tracks that didn't make the cut and for good reason!! there are a few exceptions..listen to 'Pisces Iscariot" by the smashing pumpkins or 'lost sides' by doves' to name a couple of my favourites...elbows brilliantly named b-sides and rarities album 'Dead in the Boot" which must be a joke on there debut album 'Asleep in the back" is further evidence that this band don't take themselves too seriously that is until it comes to writing music..

The album has a very comforting feel to it and is more much more low -fi in its production compared to the bands other releases but this is no bad thing at all.. there are lazy groves throughout and beautiful moments of space and dynamics where the band seemed to be allowing the songs to move along at there own pace with occasional instrumental nudges and of course Guy Garveys voice glides beautifully in and around the music adding emotional depth and colour with his lyrics, this something he's become well know for and its great to see that same quality of song writing here.

For me this album is a bit of an insight into how the band create there sound and despite it being a collection of songs taken from releases over the ten years they've been releasing records it hangs together perfectly as an album in its own right and in my opinion can stand proudly stand side by side all of there other brilliant LPs..

so buy it, sit down late at night with a nice glass of wine and get lost in this beautiful music!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seldom Seen Brilliance, 4 Sep 2012
This review is from: dead in the boot (Audio CD)
I never ever write reviews as I tend to keep my opinions to myself, however I could not believe that so called fans of such an amazing band could give this album a one star rating. If you have followed Elbow from their early days then you can't fail to see the similarity to songs from Asleep in the back and Cast of Thousands. This album is very much in the `early years' vein and no doubt helped lead the band along their path to the house hold name we know today.

If you only know Elbow as the band that did that catchy `One Day Like This' and wrote the Olympic anthem, then maybe you need to go back to the beginning and discover where it all began... and what a journey you will take. To sum it up Elbow are without doubt one of the best bands Britain has ever produced and this collection of songs adds to Elbow's already rich tapestry and should not be missed..... Plus the fact that an album of B-sides is far better than the majority of new music forced on our ears these days speaks volumes!

Keep building those rockets boys!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you loved Elbow of old...., 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: dead in the boot (Audio CD)
...buy this. Previously unheard Elbow tracks always welcome but just wanted to say, this is like finding an old, flea-bitten but much loved soft toy in the back of a cupboard. A little bit sad, regretful for having forgotten, nostalgic and full of love. What a lyricist, what a band, and what a nice bunch of blokes. I always loved the more atmospheric, more oblique songs on their albums and i thank them for bringing these to the surface, to be heard and appreciated. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elbow Dead In the Boot, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: dead in the boot (MP3 Download)
dead in the boot

Amazing Album once again Elbow is eclectic original and outstanding a must for any music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elbow provides proof that B-sides are often great album material, 28 Oct 2012
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: dead in the boot (Audio CD)
"Dead In The Boot" is a collection of B-sides and songs that did not make the cut for one of the 5 superb Elbow studio albums. Surprisingly, this collection of songs as a whole works and could have easily passed as Elbow's sixth studio album. The songs blend very well together which pays tribute to how consistently good Elbow have been over the past 11 years.

"Whisper Grass" is a solid opener with a strong Rock influence and heavy layered arrangements. "Lucky With Disease" is much lighter and peaceful with atmospheric arrangements and softer vocals. "Lay Down Your Cross" is a very sleepy ballad and it is the only song that I find a bit bland and ordinary. "The Long War Shuffle" is a catchy Blues influenced song with a likeable and uplifting melody. "Every Bit The Little Girl" is a very soft yet beautiful creation with gentle vocal harmonies and mesmerising sounds making it the first highlight of the album. "Love Blown Down" has an interesting percussion patter and a chilling chorus with a mournful piano and a heavy bass. "None One" is yet again a mellow and hypnotic piano led creation whilst "Lullaby" is another sophisticated Rock influenced song with clever vocal harmonies. The powerful "McGreggor" has a very haunting bass and percussion combined with plaintive vocals from Guy Garvey - this song is very reminiscent of Peter Gabriel's extravagent arrangements. Strangely enough, this song is followed by the second highlight "Buffalo Ghosts", a tender ballad, with once again Peter Gabriel sounding melody and vocals. "Waving From Vocals" and "Snowball" are very atmospheric and very pleasant tracks to listen to with interesting arrangements. The final song "Gentle As" as the title suggests is a gentle ballad with a sweet melody.

"Dead In The Boot" is a very calm and peaceful record where each track flows into the next gracefully and purposefully. Elbow chose all of the songs very carefully to create such an appeasing album. This record fits in perfectly with all of the previous Elbow releases and should be purchased by fans old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect another "The Seldom Seen Kid"..., 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: dead in the boot (Audio CD)
...but this record is fantastic in it's own way.

Much of this album is from back when their sound was very different to what it is today - far more melancholic, often very delicate, shatteringly bleak at times... but still beautiful. It's from a time before the boys were married, settled, had kids - things that change a person's outlook and, inevitably, their song writing. In Elbow's case, these things brought about a brighter, warmer sound - a far cry from the early days.

I love this stuff of theirs, it's the band I fell in love with years ago. I'm still a huge fan of their current stuff but if you're coming into this expecting 13 different versions of One Day Like This, you're only ever going to be disappointed.

Buy it, sit yourself down in a comfortable chair with a cheeky glass of something, and listen to it through headphones. If it doesn't move you, I'll eat my proverbial hat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old school Elbow, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: dead in the boot (Audio CD)
A compilation it maybe, but if you liked Asleep at the back and A cast of thousands, buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mellow Yellow, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Clem Fandango (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: dead in the boot (Audio CD)
Looks like reviewers have either loved or hated this album. When I first heard it I wasn't aware that it was a collection of B sides.I just thought it strange that all the tracks were so laid back and mellow.I liked it straight away though. If you listen to Guy Garvey on Six Music then you will know that he has an eceletic taste in music. Anything from George Formby to Genesis. That eclecticism comes through in the album. There are some dreamy ambient tracks that sound like prog rock!
Five stars would be a bit wide of the mark but not as wide as those who have given it a ridiculous one!
It's good...really good. I'm playing it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feathfan96 - Bernard Vickers, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Bernard Vickers "Feathfan" (West Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: dead in the boot (Audio CD)
Took some getting used to because personally I found it a lot less up beat than there previous albums and much more like there less popular early stuff. In fact I found the music a bit heay going at first, however, after about 5 plays I warmed to it, went to see Elbow live at MEN in November and now I absolutely love it. Elbow rule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

dead in the boot
Buy MP3 Album£7.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews