Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightenment has never been easier
I have always been interested both in psychology and buddhism and was positively surprised to find both reunited and compared in one book. Caroline Brazier explores the innermost recesses of our minds as have been researched by both disciplines and the outcome is satisfactory. No new age mumbo-jumbo and all the sanskrit terms are thoroughly explained. Very inspiring. Very...
Published on 6 Nov 2003 by Carol H.

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing!
A good book but it's very confusing to me at times. I find it hard to memorise all the different concepts so had to have a note book to hand so I could keep referring back to them!
Published on 10 Feb 2012 by Ben brook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightenment has never been easier, 6 Nov 2003
This review is from: A Buddhist Psychology (Paperback)
I have always been interested both in psychology and buddhism and was positively surprised to find both reunited and compared in one book. Caroline Brazier explores the innermost recesses of our minds as have been researched by both disciplines and the outcome is satisfactory. No new age mumbo-jumbo and all the sanskrit terms are thoroughly explained. Very inspiring. Very enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars educational inspirational, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhist Psychology (Kindle Edition)
best book I have read on the subject
changed my life
changed my wife
changed my diet
changed my shirt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does it for me, 30 Nov 2006
This review is from: A Buddhist Psychology (Paperback)
This is a good book if you have never read any Buddhisn before or have tried to read and have been a bit lost off. Loads of 'oh wow man' moments in it for me. Read it a couple of years ago set me off on a lot of extra reading but remains a fundamental eye opener for those who will consider other possibilities. Just buy it, read it, then think about it. If you are not a more enlightened person at least to the tune of the purchase cost i will be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 24 April 2007
By 
Ms. Sally Woods (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Buddhist Psychology (Paperback)
One of the best overviews of Buddhist Psychology I've read. The author explains Buddhist theory in a very accessible way, with examples from everyday life. The book explains the Skandha cycle wonderfully and there is a fascinating chapter on The Ant Hill sutra, which is a dream that came to one of the Buddha's followers and was interpreted by the Buddha. An excellent read which will appeal to both people on the Buddhist path and to those interested in deepening their understanding of human behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing!, 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: A Buddhist Psychology (Paperback)
A good book but it's very confusing to me at times. I find it hard to memorise all the different concepts so had to have a note book to hand so I could keep referring back to them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book should be called A Buddhist Psychotherapy, 3 Oct 2009
By 
JV Barrios Nunez (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Buddhist Psychology (Paperback)
There is very little of Buddhist psychology per se in this book. It mostly deals with the author's innovative and 'revolutionary' approach to the psychotherapy of people with addictions (especially eating disorders). The basis are Buddhist, and the author knows what she is talking about, but very little, if anything valuable, is explained about Buddhist psychology. The reason I have given this book only one star is because the title is misleading. Again, it is psychotherapy, not psychology what it deals with. So, why not call things by their name?!

If what you are looking is a good book on Buddhist psychology, Thich Nhat Hanh's book Understanding our Mind is a great book for any beginner on this topic. Understanding Our Mind: Fifty Verses on Buddhist Psychology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 9 Oct 2006
This review is from: A Buddhist Psychology (Paperback)
This book offers a succinct summary and explanation of some basic Buddhist propositions, but it altogether fails to convey any inspiration or sense of profundity.
The writing itself is laboured and schematic, the attempt to introduce personal anecdotes falls flat. The book strives for academic credibility, yet is unable to break free of the formulaic confines of an undergraduate essay: coverage of Western psychology is superficial - Freud is introduced for no particular reason apart from to be summarily dismissed - and based on stereotypes, and no real insight is provided into the subject. The books of D.T.Suzuki and Thich Naht Hahn provide infinitely more insight in a more fluent and inspirational way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buddhist Psychology
Buddhist Psychology by Caroline Brazier
£5.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews