Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding yet terrifying
Dr. Haing Ngor's book on his life is probably the most heart breaking account of Cambodia under the Khmer Rouge. When I picked it up I literally read it in one go. And so will you. It is an amazingly absorbing story.

Starting off with his childhood, I found it amazing that a teenager as rebellious as Ngor nevertheless makes it into medical school and becomes a...
Published on 12 Jun. 2005 by Thomas Koetzsch

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Very poor quality sound more like a cheap market stall copy than a full priced version
Published 8 months ago by Geoff Young


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Not my usual kind of book but from the first ..., 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not my usual kind of book but from the first few pages I was gripped. The unspeakable brutality that was suffered left me in tears for the most part but also the strength that emanated had me equally inspired. A definitely must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic in a sad way, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survival in the Killing Fields (Kindle Edition)
fantastic in a sad way, the way these people were treated is way beyond my understanding man's cruel nature to their own people.
I have seen the film, but to read about the suffering is more upsetting than any fiction written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good interesting reading about actual person in Cambodia, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a present so i cannot really give you a decent review but the person was definitely engrossed in the book so i suppose it's a good read but for a better review there will be plenty on amazon for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and moving book, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survival in the Killing Fields (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant and moving book. I read this as I'm going to Cambodia and someone suggested I read it. Unbelievable, the things that happened. I cried many times while reading it. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good account of events, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very moving account of one man and those close to him's account of events in Cambodia when the KR took control and the atrocities that they proceeded to undertake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must, 19 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survival in the Killing Fields (Kindle Edition)
I read it while in Cambodia
Powerful , a must read , story will stay with you...
Now a lovely peacefull happy place
Hard to believe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, well written, honest and at times harrowing. An important testimony., 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survival in the Killing Fields (Kindle Edition)
An important historical testimony and also an insight into the unimaginable crimes and cruelty during the Khmer Rouge years. Frank and honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So very sad to read the final chapters, 14 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survival in the Killing Fields (Kindle Edition)
Very moving account for what must have been the most dreadful period in the history of Cambodia. So very sad to read the final chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I just can't explain how horrifying and sad this book is, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just can't explain how horrifying and sad this book is. One of my all time best reads . Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survival in the Killing Fields (Kindle Edition)
Very poor quality sound more like a cheap market stall copy than a full priced version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Survival in the Killing Fields
£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews