Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A generous coupling of two outstanding Jeff Beck releases giving remarkable value, 6 Sep 2012
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Performing This Week & Rock 'N' Roll Party [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
This is an extraordinarily generous coupling of two outstanding complementary discs from Jeff Beck which together provide a comprehensive summary of a multi-talented and modest guitarist of world class standing.

In the Rock 'n' Roll Party disc we are treated to an impressive tribute to Les Paul, an inspirational influence upon the early career of Jeff Beck. This concert, recorded at the Iridium Jazz Club in New York in 2010, features a first class line-up of led by Darrel Higham on guitar and male vocals. Imelda May provides the female vocals with considerable aplomb and interesting explanations including examples of multi-tracking typical of the period. Guest artists, Brian Setzer, Trombone Shorty and Gary US Bonds all make valuable contributions to an evening of Rock delivered with impeccable style and skill by all concerned. Jeff takes a supportive role within the band supplying short riffs as appropriate and with telling effect.

By contrast to the Rock 'n' Roll Party disc as above, on the wonderful recording from Ronnie Scott's jazz club, released in 2008, Jeff Beck delivers an absolutely definitive demonstration of guitar techniques coupled with a remarkable level of musical and sonic imagination. There are many fine guitarists on the world stage but few can match Beck's equal mastery of so many varied and differing genres including blues, rock, jazz, soul, funk, reggae and Asian influences - and all heard to perfection on this inspired night.

The four-piece band features the outstanding talents of Vinnie Colaiuta on drums, Jason Rebello on keyboards and the new sensation on bass, the talented young Tal Wilkenfield from Australia. The Stevie Wonder 'Cause we've ended as lovers' is a good track to sample the multi-talented line-up, but every track is a winner in its own way.

The guest artists, Joss Stone, Imogen Heap and Eric Clapton all make valuable contributions and there is a very enjoyable extended extra bonus with 7 items featuring the opening set played by the Rockability Band who all happened to be in London at the time and who reprise an earlier disc which had never before been played 'live'.

Eagle Rock has provided both recordings with involving camera work supported with crisp imaging. The sound is presented in excellent DTS 5.1, DD 5.1 and stereo.

This compilation disc will give enormous pleasure to anyone to whom the extensive program appeals and is a perfect example of Jeff Beck at the very top of his considerable game and supported by colleagues of a similar exalted calibre. For those purchasers this will be an unmissable 5 star release.

............................................

Some dialogue from the comments section that may offer further help:

I thought that you might like to know that before I buy a recording I now look through all the reviews to see if you have posted one. Your assessments and opinions are invaluable. Thank you. (US review)

I particularly like your format of review. They give the prospective purchaser an idea of the style of the playing and relevant comparisons. They are succinct. Keep up the good work! (UK review)

I'm sure there are many other serious collectors, besides myself, who wait for your synopsis and opinion before spending their hard-earned money on new releases...
Keep up the good work!
Thank you (UK review)

............................................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beck is Best, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performing This Week & Rock 'N' Roll Party [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
I bought Jeff performing at Ronnie Scotts on DVD 2009, must have played it almost 30 times now. I dont bother to write about this marvellous concert, just look at the other reviews and order. When I saw this double BD box for less price than one BD here in Norway, I quickly ordered to upgrade (DVD was super) my "one among three best concert in my 160 ea collection", plus get a new concert aditionally. Picture and audio and masterring is on both BDs excellent quality. When I find music I maybe will check out and buy, and I see that Eagle Rock studio have done the masterring, I just buy without further checking.

And lucky and happy me, the aditional honouring Les Paul concert was different but very nice. Very good musicians and they offered fine variations through the set, especially the bass player put me in a sense of good mode. And Jeff is stunning as always! This one is also my womens favourite, because the first 3 tracks are in Elvis mode, which easily brings here to join in the coach(sofa). Then lovely Imelda May entered stage and it turned more jazz, and continued to be keeping us astonished by details and wonderful music. When u select 5 stars on Amazons review system they say "I love it"? According to this character I cant help give it 6 STARS
6 also for the bargain that gave me 2 of my favourite concerts for price lover than 1. Dont hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Double Bubble, 23 Jan 2014
By 
David Green "Country Dave" (Preston, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performing This Week & Rock 'N' Roll Party [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
This could be the best bargain I've found on Amazon. I was looking at buying the Rock N Roll Party having just got a blu-ray player (I know, several years behind most) and found the double pack.
Performing this week is a great DVD highlighting the more traditional Jeff Beck live experience and would be worth the price on it's own. Having seen Beck live with a friend, we left the building contemplating selling all our kit via ebay as - it's just not possible to do that with a guitar.
The Rock N Roll Party could be one of the best music purchases I have ever made. Not only do you get Jeff Beck playing a number of old school tunes, but his backing band are out of this world - special note should be made of Darrell Higham whose vocal and guitar performance truly enhance this show. Also I can't finish this review without commenting on Imelda May - the voice, the presence and the energy leap from the screen. Truly a voice for the ages.
Oh and Blu-ray quality - very impressed, in fact I may just look at some of my DVDs and consider replacing them (John Mayer being the next).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Beck, 10 Sep 2013
By 
T. Feler "kyprios1" (Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performing This Week & Rock 'N' Roll Party [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
If Eric Clapton is God, Jeff Beck must be then..... Actually nobody can compare with him. His unique technique, like he was pulling notes out of guitar makes him one and only. Both gigs are great. Just look who's in audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two great Blu ray concerts in a convenient budget package, 29 Jun 2013
This review is from: Performing This Week & Rock 'N' Roll Party [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
Two great concert films from Jeff Beck in double pack. The first, Performing This Week - Live At Ronnie Scott'S [BLU-RAY DVD] [2009] showcases Jeff Beck's modern style with brilliant jazz tracks like Stratus, Brush With The Blues, Cause We've Ended As Lovers and Where were you. This is not only virtuoso technique, but brilliant entertainment as well. Then as contrast we get Rock 'N' Roll Party - Honouring Les Paul [Blu-ray] [2011]. Designed as a tribute to guitarist Les Paul this shows Jeff Beck and special guests covering memorable tunes from the fifties including the Peter Gunn theme, The Train Kept A Rolling, Apache and Sleep Walk.

I had the CD of Ronnie Scott's and expected Rock 'N' Roll Party just to be a bonus, but both of these concerts are stellar, with good picture and 5.1 sound, as well as blistering performances from all concerned. They are presented in thinline bluray cases inside a cardboard cover with rather functional artwork, which gives more prominence to sony's blu ray branding than to the concerts, but at this price who can complain. If you check out the reviews of single disc versions you'll see how good they are. If you were thinking of picking one or the other of them up then why not get them both here for the same price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a guitarist, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performing This Week & Rock 'N' Roll Party [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
Absolutely Brilliant, sound quality Excellent, Worth the money just for Becks Bolero, and Eric Makes an appearance too - Good Value - Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Beck is wonderful, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performing This Week & Rock 'N' Roll Party [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
Both Blue Ray discs were very well recorded. I liked the singing of Emelda May who demonstrated why she is regarded so highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good guitar player, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performing This Week & Rock 'N' Roll Party [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
Performing is a great concert with a woman on base guitar she is playing the stars from heaven you almost forget that this concert is about jeff beck
The orther disc rock n roll is even better its a pitty that jeff didn t play more songs with Brain Setzer watch these dics with a high level stereo sound and endjoy the quality is very good the pictures also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fine performances and an outrageously good deal, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performing This Week & Rock 'N' Roll Party [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
Words almost fail and hyperbole isn't good enough. This is a phenomenally good package. Two incomparable Jeff Beck concerts plus a host of fantastic extras and other performances, on Blu-Ray, all for less than 14. Incredible. Superb musicianship from everyone, both at the Ronnie Scott's gig and the Iridium in New York. And both performances so, so different.
And what can one say about Wallington's finest, Jeff Beck? Absolutely on top form on everything and the most respectful, humble, modest man to boot. Can't recommend these concert recordings highly enough, for Jeff Beck fans and non-fans alike - in fact especially for those who aren't so familiar (if at all) with Jeff Beck's work. His musicianship and mastery of his instrument is a complete revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Performing This Week & Rock 'N' Roll Party [Blu-ray] [2012]
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews