Customer Reviews


721 Reviews
5 star:
 (555)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


285 of 296 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Olympic DVD coverage and amazing!!!!!
Having got this today (the release day) along with the Paralympic dvd London 2012 Paralympic Games [DVD] i must say i am very happy with the purchase. the opening ceremony can be watched with BBC Commentary (Huw Edwards etc) or Danny Boyle and Frank Cottrell ( director and writer). Both are worth listening to, especially the latter. also with the option of no commentary...
Published 17 months ago by Josh S

versus
129 of 142 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Olympian feat
This is a good buy and you get a good range of discs for your money. The sporting highlights are well selected with a nice balance of interviews and big names and newbies.

They managed to edit all the games footage into a pretty decent product here, and I really enjoyed reliving the summer.

My only criticism is that they showed Oscar Pistorius's...
Published 17 months ago by Phoebe Caulfield


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

285 of 296 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Olympic DVD coverage and amazing!!!!!, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having got this today (the release day) along with the Paralympic dvd London 2012 Paralympic Games [DVD] i must say i am very happy with the purchase. the opening ceremony can be watched with BBC Commentary (Huw Edwards etc) or Danny Boyle and Frank Cottrell ( director and writer). Both are worth listening to, especially the latter. also with the option of no commentary and just the stadium sound in 5.1. the day highlights are extremely well done and each day has an introduction from sue barker and each day contains the best sports of the day, including all 29 of GB's wins.

The extras such as nimrod and isle of wonder deconstructed are interesting but they aren't that long, (2-3 mins each) and two out of the 4 opening ceremony special features are just pre-cereomony stuff.

the closing ceremony is well done and edited. you can only watch it with BBC commentary though. you can't turn it off, which may be annoying for those of you who want to strangle the commentators when they speak over stuff you want to hear. Of course there are subtitles for highlights and both ceremony's for all options.

The only down side for me is the DVD Menu title screen looks like it's been made from something like iDVD. which makes the finished product look slightly lazy. which is a shame because the content is fantastic.

All in all this is a amazing buy for any olympic fanatic, sport fan, or for the person who just wants to treasure the memory of our olympic games in 2012. and i'm sure this dvd will be shown to the generations to come to relive the memory. Must buy DVD!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb record of an incredible event, 30 Oct 2012
By 
GreenSt (Sussex, GB) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: London 2012 Olympic Games [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Brought this and have already sat through the opening and closing ceremonies - superb stuff. It doesn't say on the Amazon details but the sound is DTS Lossless (HD) 5.1 with the option to switch off the BBC commentary for the opening. There is just the DTS-HD soundtrack for the closing ceremony but I am quite OK with the BBC commentary. Major shortage of chapters which is a shame - would have been good to have the option via the popup menu to go to the part you want to but, otherwise, really pleased the BBC did such a good job in presenting such a detailed set. They could have easily put out a shortened highlights package but what you have here is much, much more. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great memories, stunningly preserved!, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London 2012 Olympic Games [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have just watched the majority of this fantastic boxed set. The picture quality on the Blu-ray version is absolutely glorious. Congratulations to the BBC for creating such a comprehensive package of all the main highlights from all the sports. It's great to see the sports shown exactly as they were broadcast (i.e. no arty video editing and intercutting and overpowering music). It's also a nice touch that they include clips of the some of the key original post-event interviews and the odd medal ceremony (albeit brief). An interesting aspect is the day-by-day chronological presentation and the several introduction clips with Sue Barker which were obviously filmed especially for this boxed set. It's a truly superb record of an amazing 2 weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 142 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Olympian feat, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good buy and you get a good range of discs for your money. The sporting highlights are well selected with a nice balance of interviews and big names and newbies.

They managed to edit all the games footage into a pretty decent product here, and I really enjoyed reliving the summer.

My only criticism is that they showed Oscar Pistorius's historic first round 400m, but failed to show the semi final where Kirani James swapped bib numbers with him. For me, this was an emotional and meaningful moment that attracted a lot of attention and respect. Shame they didn't include it. However I know I can see that on Youtube still!

The footage of the Opening Ceremony came out better than when I watched it live. You could see more of the pixels with better aerial shots and continuity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Bargain!, 21 Nov 2012
This review is from: London 2012 Olympic Games [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Forget the amazing summer that was the Olympic Games of London 2012 for a moment (if that is at all possible!) and think about the price of 22 for a FIVE disc Blu-ray set - that is outstanding value in itself!

Throw in the fact that the content of the discs contains some of the most inspiring and heart-warming scenes that have ever been filmed on these shores and I challenge you to find a better bargain out there!

I received this set for my Birthday and have to say it is even better than I expected. All the glorious moments of the summer presented together in a chronological format and also including the outstanding opening & closing ceremonies and interviews with the amazing athletes themselves.

I don't think you can put a price on a product that makes you feel Proud to be British but the BBC have set theirs at 22 and it is an absolute bargain for over 15 hours of triumph, heart-break and heart-warming inpiration.

It is almost impossible for words to do justice to these amazing games, the inspiring atheletes and the unbelivable atmospheres that went into creating the best Olympics i have ever witnessed.

A true gold-medal offering from the BBC who have certainly gone a long way to answering some of the criticisms it has received over its sporting coverage in the past few years.

Generations will be inspired for decades to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A better edit...!, 26 Oct 2012
By 
MikeB (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My pre-order for this arrived today, and I started with the opening ceremony - the main reason for buying this.

It's great to have the option of no BBC commentary (Huw Edwards + co got on my nerves on the original). Also, it does seem to be a slightly different edit, with some of the bits we missed being shown. e.g. On TV we didn't see Brunel's photograph properly, the "photos" of the servicemen, etc. - or the re-enactment of the Suffragettes at the 1913 Derby, or the miners working underground that we didn't see. Some of these can just be seen in the corners of the original BBC broadcast if you squinted hard enough.

In other words, it's the same ceremony, but with some of the rough bits fixed - understandable, perhaps, with the live nature of the original massive event.

As far as I can tell, it's pretty much all of the opening and closing ceremonies, with some sporting highlights across the other three discs. This may take some time to watch.

Wonderful stuff. Pity the sport had to get in the way. :)

[And I can't upload a photo yet to prove this is real - must be because it's before release date!]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 134 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suprised and disappointed in equal measure, 6 Nov 2012
By 
pabaines (Pijnacker, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me, the opening ceremony alone makes this worth the asking price. I didn't know what to expect when it started. I mean, how interesting can a series of scenes depicting pre-industrial Britain possibly be? Boy was I wrong. By the time the Olympic rings came together in a shower of sparks, my mouth was hanging open. I turned to my family. We all looked at each other in amazement. After the fourth viewing, we found the option to watch without commentary. Even better!

So why was I disappointed? Basically, some sports received the lion's share at the expense of many that were left out completely. For example, in the athletics there are almost no field events. I enjoy all of the athletics disciplines but, as usual, the BBC seems to equate "athletics" with "running". I realise that this is a highlights set and that tough decisions had to be made. I understand the need to showcase Team GB's amazing performance. But 50% of the content is devoid of sport. We have the awesome opening ceremony, and the FULL walkthrough of the athletes, but only 2.5 discs with actual sport content.

This set is called "London 2012 Olympic Games" but would be better named "London 2012 Olympic Games - Team GB and Selected Highlights". Please, BBC, release a disc set with decent coverage of all sports. The opening ceremony was great and watching the athletes enter the arena was fun, but please remember to cater for those who watch the Olympics for the sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Gary Hansen (Parker, Az United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London 2012 Olympic Games [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am in USA. This DVD set is superb but it is recorded in PAL format which does not play on many USA spec DVD players. Given that issue, if you can play PAL DVDs this is the London Olympics coverage you want. Video quality is second to none. Camera work is excellent and there are lots of events that normally are not shown. I really cannot say enough about how good it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region Free but not playable on US PS3--Oppo players OK, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London 2012 Olympic Games [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am in the US and I bought this disc. Although region free, it won't play on US PS3 players as it's encoded in 1080i/50hz. However, it played perfectly on my Oppo player. What a magnificent set compared to the POS that was the NBC Olympics highlights disc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


291 of 337 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remove ALL reviews please Amazon, 18 Aug 2012
This review is from: London 2012 Olympic Games [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As many have said before me, there is no way anyone should or could speculate about the quality, content or otherwise of this DVD. If you had wanted a blow by blow account of the Olympics perhaps you should have thought about recording it yourself. There are plenty of mediums through which this can and could have been done.
Quite obviously this will be as good as record that can be obtained from the BBC archives but there is so much content it will not satisfy everyone. It cannot in reality.
I for one feel the BBC coverage was fantastic and almost futuristic with 24 streaming channels, great reviews and superb collages or montages put together with great music and mood.
Anyone who criticised the BBC coverage should have watched CNNs coverage in America. Nuff said.
I, for one will buy it regardless.
But please, Amazon, stop reviews before a product has even been released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae974f3c)

This product

London 2012 Olympic Games  [Blu-ray]
London 2012 Olympic Games [Blu-ray] by Kim Gavin (Blu-ray - 2012)
8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews