Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Replacement for Apple Chargers
My wife and I have several Apple devices each, and now with newer tech, like Bluetooth Headphones coming with USB cable chargers, we seem to be stealing each other's 'white triangle' Apple chargers which came with iPhones/iPads!

So we looked around and bought two of these, main reasons we chose these over extra official Apple USB AC Adapters:

- Not...
Published 15 months ago by Kapil

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great little charger, could be a slightly cheaper.
This charger does it all - phones, tablets and Kindles.

Works great, looks fine, small size, doesn't get hot when charging (just warm). Would be brilliant if it was slightly cheaper but for the price it's still a very good charger.

5 Volt output at a maximum of 2.1 Amps.

UPDATE: The charger makes a horrible whinging/whining noise when...
Published 19 months ago by K. Varley


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Replacement for Apple Chargers, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Wall Charger with One USB Outlet 2.1 Amp Output (Electronics)
My wife and I have several Apple devices each, and now with newer tech, like Bluetooth Headphones coming with USB cable chargers, we seem to be stealing each other's 'white triangle' Apple chargers which came with iPhones/iPads!

So we looked around and bought two of these, main reasons we chose these over extra official Apple USB AC Adapters:

- Not all USB chargers feed enough power to charge our iPads (3rd Gen) quick enough, some, take overnight to gain 50%!
- We didn't want to spend 15 a pop!
- The ones on eBay and even here on Amazon which look like Apple plugs, but are only 3-4 get mixed reviews, some burning out, if you're lucky to get a good one, great, but we didn't want to take the risk

Pro's
- Charges our iPhone 5s, iPads, Camera, Kindle very quickly
- Looks pretty sleek
- Good price
- No noise as witnessed by some

Con's
- Red light is distracting and does look a little cheap, but lets you know you've left it on
- Wish it came in white to match the cables and wall socket, we just leave it in there permanantly but is a black mark against a pale backdrop!

Will buy more when needed, they do the job well without the risk of Apple knock-offs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars usb charger, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Wall Charger with One USB Outlet 2.1 Amp Output (Electronics)
Excellent value for money charges kindle fire hd in a couple of hours .Can use kindle while charging.Very good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great little charger, could be a slightly cheaper., 28 Dec 2012
By 
K. Varley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Wall Charger with One USB Outlet 2.1 Amp Output (Electronics)
This charger does it all - phones, tablets and Kindles.

Works great, looks fine, small size, doesn't get hot when charging (just warm). Would be brilliant if it was slightly cheaper but for the price it's still a very good charger.

5 Volt output at a maximum of 2.1 Amps.

UPDATE: The charger makes a horrible whinging/whining noise when plugged into a socket without being plugged into any device. As soon as you connect a device the noise stops. Might be a sign of bad build quality?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buzzing noise annoying, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Wall Charger with One USB Outlet 2.1 Amp Output (Electronics)
There must be a bad connection inside the device as it 'buzzes' when plugged in and no device is charging. Looking through other reviews, this problem has been reported before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This item is dangerous., 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Wall Charger with One USB Outlet 2.1 Amp Output (Electronics)
We used this plug for about 10 months with no problems. Recently the plug exploded when we attempted to pull it out of the socket and my colleague was electrocuted and left with a burn on her hand. The top half of the plug had broken away from the rest so the plug was completely broken at that point. I definitely would not recommend this item. We have never had any problems like this with the Apple equivalent of this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good product but has some issues and now on very long order fulfillment delay (Oct 2013!), 28 Aug 2013
By 
T. Read (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Wall Charger with One USB Outlet 2.1 Amp Output (Electronics)
Bad points:

1. I can confirm that it does emit a high pitched whine when on but with no devices attached. The whine is audible from 1-2 feet away so not great if you charge your device overnight on your bedside table.
2. I get a very mild i.e. 'prickly' electrical shock from touching just the outer casing of the micro USB cable (the device cable end). Happens on multiple cables.
3. Ordered a second one on 2nd August and its expected delivery date is 29th Oct-7th Dec! Maybe for the above reasons this unit has been withdrawn? Have now cancelled the order and don't know why it's still being offered on sale with this kind of fulfillment time.

Good points:

1. Good size
2. Good price
3. Charges both a Nexus 7 and other smart phones quickly
4. Hope they reissue it when the above issues are fixed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good quality, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Wall Charger with One USB Outlet 2.1 Amp Output (Electronics)
tried these as soon as being delivered which was quick by the way in sensible packaging as well and found them to work fine.
I would have liked to have seen the usb socket mounted on the upside of the plug so you can see to push in the usb cable because most mains sockets fitted in your typical home are at low level and to plug the cable into the usb socket underneath is fiddly.
That is not a critism just an observation after using many types of chargers so still given a 5 star rating because it is a fine product and I knew the design layout before purchasing and not many other chargers are the full 2.1 amp for rapid charging, something to note when searching for a replacement or spare as in my case I like to leave the charger in situ upstairs and downstairs and just move the cable from room to room with the iPad as well as the fact we have 3 of them so there is always a charger close by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Exploded and shocked my son, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Wall Charger with One USB Outlet 2.1 Amp Output (Electronics)
After having been used for only three weeks, my son plugged this charger into the wall and it exploded, blowing the cover off and giving my son an electrical shock. I highly recommend you buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Wall Charger with One USB Outlet 2.1 Amp Output (Electronics)
I have had a few of these in the past and I have to say this is one of the best ones. Does what it says on the pack. Would highly recommend this to anyone needing a wall charger for mini ipad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Charger, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Wall Charger with One USB Outlet 2.1 Amp Output (Electronics)
I was looking for an additional charger for my iPad3. Original Apple chargers are way too expensive. This little beauty is cheap, smart looking in it shiny black, but most importantly, it's fast. I recon it charges the iPad in half the time. Fully deserves it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews