Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but all that wire is a pain
I already have a pair of wireless Sennheiser RS170's, but was drawn to theses because of their built-in mic - and I'm sure most people are thinking the same as me - "these will be great for COD online". And indeed they are.

Comfort is good, if not exactly plush. The padding is fairly firm and the cups are an over the ear open design. This means they don't get...
Published 20 months ago by M. D. Harris

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great sound but not the best you can get
The Sennheiser U320 headset is a great sounding piece of kit but it's lack of features fail to justify the price.

They have a very clear and full sound that matches Sennheise'rs audio reputation. Even having opening developer sequences as a game loaded sounded exciting.

The problem is, they are only stereo and so fail to include any kind of surround...
Published 20 months ago by T. King


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but all that wire is a pain, 15 Nov 2012
By 
M. D. Harris (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sennheiser U320 Universal Over-Ear Multi Platform Gaming Stereo Headset with Noise Cancelling Microphone and Dual Volume Control - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I already have a pair of wireless Sennheiser RS170's, but was drawn to theses because of their built-in mic - and I'm sure most people are thinking the same as me - "these will be great for COD online". And indeed they are.

Comfort is good, if not exactly plush. The padding is fairly firm and the cups are an over the ear open design. This means they don't get as hot as a closed cup design and you can still hear most ambient sounds even while in game (such as your phone ringing). The mic works well and the 'raise boom to mute' feature is a great function, which operates in a lovely smooth manner. Audio quality is good, but not great - they're blown away by the RS170's (which also feature surround sound). The U320's are only stereo, with no surround sound (as far as I could tell), this may be a problem in game if you're used to a good surround sound set-up.

Set-up is pretty straight forward. The main cable to the console is nice and long and connects via USB. Then there's a second cable which splits off goes to your chosen audio device (in my case an AV amp). I needed two adapters to fit my AV amp (stereo phono to mini-jack, mini-jack to jack). A quick trip to the options on the PS3 (to select the mic) and you're up and running. Pretty it was not, but it does function well.

The main niggle is the wires - there's just so much they get everywhere and unless you're careful they will get tangled into knots when you put them away. A wireless version with surround would be fantastic (and more expensive), but being wired and stereo I think they're a bit pricey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant headphones, 13 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. P. Blythe "f1lby" (Borth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser U320 Universal Over-Ear Multi Platform Gaming Stereo Headset with Noise Cancelling Microphone and Dual Volume Control - Black (Electronics)
Lovely set of headphones - Used for online multiplayer gaming.
Headphone audio is great - also great for listening to TV & music too.

The microphone provides excellent clarity. After 8 months of use the headphones are still going strong. Nice and reliable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality product, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Jon Forster "sensor" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sennheiser U320 Universal Over-Ear Multi Platform Gaming Stereo Headset with Noise Cancelling Microphone and Dual Volume Control - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am not a 'hardcore' gamer but wanted headphones/mic of good quality for when I specifically play on-line.

I am also a Sennheiser 'fan' and have had several pairs of headsets so they had high expectations to meet.

What I wanted was a headset, that stayed on my head when I moved it but remained comfortable. It also had to have a good mic so it was clear and did not sound poor. The overall build quality had to mean spending the did not mean they fall apart.

So....they meet my expectations and more. They are a great headset. They should be for the cost but I will pay if they will last and be a solid, well made product. I recommend them to any gamer. You can wear them for a long period of time and not feel as if your head is getting crushed or they are falling off.

Overall - worth getting and worth the cost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for online gaming., 9 Nov 2012
By 
Karen Baxter (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sennheiser U320 Universal Over-Ear Multi Platform Gaming Stereo Headset with Noise Cancelling Microphone and Dual Volume Control - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The 'U320 multi-platform gaming headset' is another stylish piece of kit from German giants Sennheiser. Being an online gaming family (Modern Warfare fanatics) between the six of us that play my youngest daughter (7) doesn't ... yet, we have tried quite a few headsets over the years and this one is up there with the best of the bunch.

An excellent choice for serious gamers online or offline.

Being multi platform means that this headset can be used on a multitude of gaming machines and PC's, as long as it has a USB port it should work.

The microphone with its perfect muting ability (swivelling the microphone into an upwards position mutes you instantly, just right for those angry moments when you appear to have lost the ability to function vocally without offending your mother)

Game audio and chat audio are superbly controllable with a quick turn of one of the two wheels located on the headset's cable.

The audio quality is very good indeed, surround sound with base boost delivers explosions and bullet fire in amazing detail, and a real bonus is being able to hear your enemies creep up on you, clearly.

As for comfort, the soft-padded comfort - CircleFlex(tm) makes wearing the headset an absolute dream, even after a four hour long clan match my ears (also husband and son's) did not at any time feel hot or uncomfortable ... perfect!

To sum up ... A top end quality product and a must for serious gamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all your PC and console needs, 20 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. C. J. Thorpe "Lastaria" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sennheiser U320 Universal Over-Ear Multi Platform Gaming Stereo Headset with Noise Cancelling Microphone and Dual Volume Control - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Packaged very well and at first you think it is the cursed vacuum formed. But then you are met with the blessed relieve of plastic easily pulled away to give you access to the headphones.

They look good and are obviously made from good materials and once worn they are very comfortable on your ears.

The sound is of a good quality, handling music, voices and other general sounds very well. Though I would have liked the volume to be a little higher on this. But it will probably fit most peoples audio needs. You do get a little distortion on some music tracks when you have the volume at it's highest.

It uses a very long USB cable which stretches the entire length of my living room with still a foot or two to spare and the cable had built into it some nice functions. On it is a volume control for your headphones and a separate one for chat which is very useful. It also has attached a velcro tie for when you are coiling up the cable and storing it.

The microphone is attached to the left ear piece. It has a smooth rotation which means you can easily set the microphone up and out of the way when not using it, or angle it down to the optimum height for speaking into it.

As well as the long USB cable it comes with a number of optional cables that means you will be able to plug it into different ports on your PC, game console or television. This means it should work with practically anything.

If I have any misgivings about this it is that it needs a cord at all. The length of the cord means you can use it comfortably with any device at range. However there are products on the market that do everything this does without accord and for cheaper.

Despite my misgivings I would rate this 4 and a half stars so I am rounding it up to five. It is a good product. Strong and durable with decent sound and a well functioning mic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sennheiser U320 - All in one gaming headset with fantastic sound, 22 Oct 2012
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sennheiser U320 Universal Over-Ear Multi Platform Gaming Stereo Headset with Noise Cancelling Microphone and Dual Volume Control - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Sennhesier U320 gaming headset is a high end gaming headset, seemingly aimed at the higher end of the market, those who want top quality sound, voice and comfort in their gaming and who are happy to pay a higher price. They seem to be aimed at the same market as Turtle Beach and judging from their quality, are more than capable of competing there.

The headsets come packaged in a plastic blister pack (not so welcome) but thankfully these separate and open easily (no sharp plastic edges - very welcome).

The first sense I got was of quality. They look great, they feel solid and smack of a high build quality.

The headphones themselves are designed to work across a range of devices that can take a USB input and are aimed at the PC, Xbox 360 and PS3 but I'd imagine will work with future consoles with a USB input.

They come with cables to suite a range of configurations from the simplest (USB direct into the PC) to other audio output options such as an amp, they also suit HDMI or composite/component connections for the consoles via the red and white audio jacks. There's also a 3.5mm audio cable for connecting to the voice chat input on an xbox 360. This doesn't cover voice chat on the PS3 though as that is designed to be catered for via blue tooth headsets.

I've tested the sound output on PC, Xbox 360 and PS3. The quality is very high, the depth and range of the sound is fantastic having the sound close to the ear means I'm picking out details I normally wouldn't when output at distance by my amps or TV. I found the PC output to be a little quieter than the Consoles, although it is adjustable and still loud at maximum. [Edit} I have now tested these with my PS4. They can be plugged in via USB (as the PS4 supports this) an they work very well and help to create an even more immersive experience.

In order to work well with consoles, given they tend to be used for "sofa gaming", these would fall short without a good long cable and they've catered well with a good length cable. Mine comfortable stretches a few feet with plenty to spare. The designers also considered you won't want multiple cables across so the input cable from your sound output plugs into the USB connection itself at the console or PC end of the cable.

The voice input also works well, sound received is crystal clear and separate from other system or game sounds and apparently sound broadcast is very clear and high quality (using Xbox chat, Steam and Skype) as confirmed by friends who helped me test these. Voice chat levels can be altered via a slider. There's also a "side tone" option so that you can hear yourself through your headset if you prefer (can help to avoid shouting, as these cover the ears).

There are also controls to provide a bass boost (i find this worked really well in some music and games but it's good to have the option as the heavy bass in some shooters could be a bit much for me).

This headset is also very comfortable, it sits nicely over the ears and is easily adjustable and the padding keeps the ears and head nice and snug. I think these are much more comfortable than the one ear set that I have been using for console gaming and they'll be taking pride of place in my gaming. The fact i can replace several sets for one across sveeral devices is very appealing and the fact i can then out my game sound to these rather than the TV when console gaming will be music to my wifes ears.

Overall I would highly recommend these. They're premium in price but the quality is very apparent and you can see and hear what you're getting for your money. Impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Game on a PC, Macbook Pro & a PS3 late at night? Don't fancy spending a lot of money on gaming headphones? Look no further!, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser U320 Universal Over-Ear Multi Platform Gaming Stereo Headset with Noise Cancelling Microphone and Dual Volume Control - Black (Electronics)
Long cable means i can sit back and relax on the couch if playing PS3 at midnight.
Nice soft cushioned material around headphones and frame for long hours of Gaming or watching Films.
Pretty sturdy frame and Mic arm, with easy mute mechanism.
With the inbuilt controller on the cable its easy to adjust Game & Chat volumes separately.
Only bad thing is because of the low price the speakers aren't top quality and don't go as loud as other headphones i've had in the past (but then again that isn't such a bad thing).
and lastly Look pretty damn awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, but a bit dear, 15 Oct 2013
This review is from: Sennheiser U320 Universal Over-Ear Multi Platform Gaming Stereo Headset with Noise Cancelling Microphone and Dual Volume Control - Black (Electronics)
Comfy and light, substantial bass response when coaxed. To my ears, these headphones sound a bit thin in general but the treble is clean and clearly defined. Somehow it lacks guts unless you turn on the rather heavy-handed bass boost. There is also quite a lot of noise leakage, so those nearby can probably hear the vile curses of your foes.

The headset really disliked my Creative X-Fi output, pushing out a lot of electrical buzz where my old (and now broken) Roccat Kave headset or speakers exhibited none. I can only conclude that the headset line-in is a weak point in PC application, indeed the instructions make no mention of using the line-out on a PC. For that one should probably be looking at the PC320 version, losing out on the console support. It appears that Sennheiser have worked hard to make the included USB-powered amp drive the headset to their best, so those proud of their dedicated soundcards should probably find an alternative that can make use of the extra sophistication. The headset plays punchy music well and the microphone is rather good.

PC and PS3 setup is fairly obvious and handily solves the problem of getting headphones to work with a console.

To summarise:

Audio: Good, but not good enough for the price
Mic: Excellent
Sound leakage: Moderate
Sound isolation: Moderate
Multi-device support: Good
Comfort: Excellent, but not enough hours on the head to be really sure yet
Definitely a gamer's headset, rather than an all-rounder.

I am happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality headset, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser U320 Universal Over-Ear Multi Platform Gaming Stereo Headset with Noise Cancelling Microphone and Dual Volume Control - Black (Electronics)
This headset is worth the money!! The appearance is stylish, some might say it feels a bit cheap due to it mainly being plastic but it does make it lightweight. It makes gaming more immersive and music very clear. The Bass boost function actually makes a difference unlike some other cheaper alternative headsets. I've worn this headset for long periods of time and I personally find them very comfortable for more than 5 continuous hours of use. The long cable is ideal for console use and the Velcro can be used to tidy the cable if needed. The only downside I found was the lack of connectivity for watching TV. It’s possible but not with all television models (including my LG). There may be an adaptor you could purchase. I hope this helps your decision making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sennheiser U320, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sennheiser U320 Universal Over-Ear Multi Platform Gaming Stereo Headset with Noise Cancelling Microphone and Dual Volume Control - Black (Electronics)
incredible bass. beats dr dre by far. this garment will blow your ears away.Too bad i can not connect it with my cell phone (USB)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews