Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well specified camera for the price
This Nikon Coolpix is a well specified camera for the price. It has 16 mega pixel censor, 14 x wide angle optical zoom (25 - 350) 1080p, HD movie recording and has an HDMI port for connecting to TV or other playback device.

It is quite light at just over 8 ounces and feels comfortable and solid when holding it. Personally, I still like to use the viewfinder...
Published on 1 April 2013 by josie82

versus
40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice budget zoomer
OK, I had occasion to buy myself a new camera and chose the COOLPIX S8200. As luck would have it, a couple of weeks later I was offered this one, the COOLPIX L610 as a review item. A little annoying, as (perhaps) I needn't have spent the money on the S8200, but also fortuitous as it allows me to make a direct comparison between what appear to be two more or less identical...
Published on 23 Oct. 2012 by Crookedmouth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great specifications, but a short battery life, 23 Oct. 2012
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This camera offers 16 Megapixels and Full HD video recording. That's pretty good for a budget camera. It also runs on AA batteries, so wherever you are in the world you should be able to keep it going without a charger - if you can afford to buy quite a lot of batteries.

Nikon have three ranges of Coolpix cameras. There's the P-series, which is the performance range. There's the S-series, which is the stylish range. And there's the L-series, which is the lifestyle range, which I take to mean easy-to-use and not too expensive. The L610 is a lifestyle camera. It's not particularly stylish, and its case feels quite cheap and plasticky - the cover on the USB and mini-HDMI sockets feels particularly flimsy. The grip, however, is very good indeed: it's easy to hold and just the right size. There's no viewfinder, but there's a large screen.

The accessories provided are a USB cable, a composite video cable, a CD with the user manual, a CD of PC/MAC software, 2 x AA batteries and a wrist strap that can be attached to either side of the camera. There's no HDMI cable and no SD card.

You need an SD or SDHC card to get started (the camera's internal memory is only 30MB, enough for three pictures). By default, the camera is set to take pictures at 4608 x 3456 pixels (16 Mpix), but using a fairly high JPEG compression ratio; if you choose the setting with a lower compression ratio (the 4608 x 3456 option with a star beside it in the camera's menu) you get a noticeably better picture - but you also dramatically increase the filesize, from 4Mbytes up to about 7.5Mbytes per image. There's also the choice to shoot in 16:9 ratio, giving 4608 x 2592 pixels.

Using the camera is OK, but nothing special. It's not hugely fast to start up, and focussing is slow. If you change the zoom setting, the camera goes out of focus for about a second until the autofocus catches up. The automatic white balance setting is good, giving quite natural-looking colours under artificial light. Exposure compensation is easy to access and use. Setting macro mode is needlessly complicated: instead of simply toggling macro on/off when you press the button, you instead need to press the macro button then select from an on/off menu, then press OK. I turned off the digital zoom in case I used it accidentally; the optical zoom offers a very good range of focal lengths.

There are no manual settings to speak of: you have a choice of automatic settings, either Smart Auto or plain Auto. Smart Auto tries to guess what your subject is and chooses the scene mode (Portrait, Landscape, Sports, etc) it thinks is most appropriate. There are also Smart Portrait and High-Key/Low-Key scene modes, and a selective colour option, which lets you take a black-and-white picture with just one or two objects shown in colour - it's a popular type of picture at the moment, and it works rather well.

The video recorder mode is good. It just takes one button press to start and stop recording, and the recorded video is full HD (1080p at 30fps). The video quality is fairly good, but I found that it looked a bit jerky when I panned round.

In principle I like cameras that use AA cells - I have a Canon camera that uses 4 x AA cells, and it gives me probably six hours of shooting time on one set. This Nikon gives a much shorter battery life - only about an hour per set of two cells. Alkaline cells recover a bit if you rest them, so battery life will be slightly better if you are using the camera less intensively. I've switched to using rechargeable AA cells for the Nikon.

When you connect the L610 to your PC and turn it on, it is recognised as a mobile device, so you can choose to browse its memory or import pictures and video. I didn't bother installing the supplied software.

This is a good lifestyle camera if you're willing to live with the short battery life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I know I am being lazy about learning but the Sony is so handy and is useful when I dont need the zoom, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So far have found it difficult to operate compared with my old Sony Cybershot. Has much bigger zoom but I find it difficult to operate and it seems to take too long to focus. I know I am being lazy about learning but the Sony is so handy and is useful when I dont need the zoom..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor battery life, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good average camera but badly let down by very heavy power usage on the battery. rechargeable batteries hardly last two days! That alone means I cannot recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars small pocket camara, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good but with my large fingers difficult to use more convenient than taking my SLR but not as easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Nikon, 26 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. L. R. Hales "pancake maker" (cradley heath, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my wife. Just what she wanted. Compact and flexible, does what it says. Just waiting for a holiday now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Camera, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought a Nikon Coolpix L610 on Amazon based on the cost and the fact that the model was new. The transaction was simple and the delivery was prompt and I could track the process at all stages.

The camera is easy to use and the results are brilliant. I simply am delighted with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HD video quality is really good, hand stabilizer is good, 21 Aug. 2014
Works perfectly. Nothing special. HD video quality is really good, hand stabilizer is good, sound of the camera is bad of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great value from argos returns -as new -i cant fault it -quality camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Nikon COOLPIX L610 Compact Digital Camera - Red (Electronics)
Great camera, only drawback is it drains batteries very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews