Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb 50's Masters., 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Of Rock 'N' Roll: The Complete 50'S Masters (Audio CD)
Firstly I don't know why Amazon are selling this excellently packaged boxed set with a very extensive booklet for £12.99. I would have thought it would have cost at least double this amount; so what a bargain. The 5 cds fit very nicely in the case, which is rare for a boxed set. The cd's are easily removed and replaced by sliding them down towards the sprung plastic clips. I am an unashamed audiophile so when I say the recording quality of these compact discs are astonishingly good I mean the quality is not just good but very good and is better than most modern recordings by light years. The quality of the instruments and Elvis's superb voice is crystal clear, just superb. The content of the album shows just how versatile Elvis was. The tracks are varied and cover a very full repertoire from country to rock to moving balads and humour. There aren't any bad tracks or filler on this album;every track is gold from the king of rock "n" roll. If your an Elvis fan this is a must;buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King that changed popular music forever, 6 May 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Elvis is the singer who made rock'n'roll popular, although even in his early years he did not limit his music to that genre. This compilation containing (supposedly) every song that Elvis recorded during the fifties, plus alternate versions of some of them, shows just how good Elvis was at several different styles.
Here you get all his famous rockers including Heartbreak hotel, Don't be cruel, Blue suede shoes, Hound dog, Mystery train, Paralyzed, Party, All shook up, Jailhouse rock, Teddy bear and One night, together with great covers of Tutti fruiti, Shake rattle and roll and other classics. Of course, you also get his recording of That's alright Mama, the song that secured his recording contract.
Elvis also recorded a number of country songs, though not as many as he did later in his career. Sometimes (as with Blue moon of Kentucky), he re-interpreted them very differently from the originals, but most of his covers were more faithful, albeit adapted to his own style. I forgot to remember to forget, Old Shep, Have I told you lately that I love you, Your cheating heart and Fool such as I are among the country songs to be found here.
Elvis also recorded some brilliant pop ballads in the fifties. Love me tender is the most famous but there are plenty of others. Among the lesser known ones, I particularly like As long as I have you. Gospel music was important to Elvis and here you can find Peace in the valley, Take my hand precious lord, It is no secret and I believe. You also get the eight Christmas songs that Elvis recorded in the fifties including Blue Christmas and Santa bring my baby back.
This is the first of three boxed sets covering the music of Elvis. While the boxes for the sixties and seventies (which I reviewed a long time ago) are by no means complete, the music he recorded in the fits easily fits on five CD's. Indeed, there is enough room left for a long interview at the end of CD 4 (which I could have done without) and an entire CD of rarities.
This box illustrates just why Elvis was such a powerful influence on popular music in the fifties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Complete 50's Box Set, 26 Oct 2012
This review is from: The King Of Rock 'N' Roll: The Complete 50'S Masters (Audio CD)
This is a give-away at this price. Five CD's containing every song Elvis recorded in the studio during the 1950's. Contains some live tracks, alternate tracks and his first ever recording which he made for his mother, "My Happiness". Don't think twice ... buy it. The sound has been remastered and is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely Masterful!, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Of Rock 'N' Roll: The Complete 50'S Masters (Audio CD)
Ohh, the glory of it all! A reissue, and repackage, of the Grammy-nominated 5-Disc milestone from 1992 - confirmed by the RIAA ten years later as a two-time Platinum award winner - is an historical welcome to anyone looking to complete, or even begin, their audio overview of the beginnings of popular music and the phenomenon of Rock 'n' Roll. This collection consists of a massive 140 tracks which also includes several master outtakes and unreleased performances of both well-known, and not so well-known, classics. ELVIS PRESLEY was the man who popularized the art form known as Rock 'n' Roll, and in doing so broke through several authoritative and social barriers which opened up a whole new expressive culture of music for other talented artistes to follow suit. On Disc 1 alone, you are witness to that transformation of country to rockabilly to rock 'n' roll with the additional ingredient of the ballad tinged with blues flavourings (including his first ever demo recording!)- it is an audio education in itself; this most-popular Disc of the set includes all of his 'Sun' masters and the first hit-making platters of his RCA output. Throughout his 23-year musical reign on earth, Elvis had crossed-over several genres which also included popular Hawaiian and Latin-flavoured compositions along with achieving THREE Grammy awards for his influential Gospel-related output. It is the latter genre in this set which depicts his early homages to the type of music that so was a major influence throughout his Tupelo childhood, and a further extension of the sacred songs are the christmas tunes that were originally released as one of his many best-selling albums. The master recordings from his early, and best, movies are also included here and once again we are treated to other genres of music such as pure Country ("Love Me Tender") and Jazz ("King Creole") as well as the now-getting-heavier sounding beat of "Mean Woman Blues", "Jailhouse Rock", and "Hard Headed Woman". Furthermore, two versions of "One Night" are presented during this era: the well-known chart-buster, and the version which El recorded with the original 'raunchy' lyrics, namely "One Night of Sin"! Another double-representation is in the form "Old Shep" - the song which Elvis had grown up with and also features him on the piano here with both the master recording and an alternate take. And, speaking of alternate takes and unreleased songs too, there are several to be had on Disc 5 of this groundbreaking audio extravaganza. As mentioned previously, it is a repackaged set so the CDs are tightly secured inside - be careful when trying to 'prize out' Discs 3,4 & 5!! Also, the original extensive booklet with a great essay from Peter Guralnick (two years before his critically-acclaimed "Last Train to Memphis" biography) is also included in compact form. A fantastic reissue audio-wise at a truly-fantastic price!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unspoilt and Raw, 9 April 2009
By 
Pj Beirne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a strong arguement that after the '50's Elvis made unessential records.Many point to his stint in the US army as the downward turning point. However some of the tracks on this collection were made during his leave periods from the army. I am more inclined to believe that he succumbed to a record industry that quickly took control of the initial rock and roll explosion and neutered it.
Every track here is brilliant and this is the Elvis you need to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis fans, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Of Rock 'N' Roll: The Complete 50'S Masters (Audio CD)
This is one of my husbands Christmas pressies and I am sure he will love it, - there are many tracks on here I have never heard before, one in particular is fantastic it's called "How's the world treating you", I heard this for the first time on the radio only a few weeks ago and I couldn't get it out of my head - hence me buying this particular album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King rocks on, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Of Rock 'N' Roll: The Complete 50'S Masters (Audio CD)
This, as claimed, is a complete reissue of the early Elvis songs, from a period when, in my view, he was at his best, largely untainted by Hollywood.
A collector's item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Of Rock 'N' Roll: The Complete 50'S Masters (Audio CD)
what more can you say...its elvis. cd holder is rubbish recommend you put them in a sleeve to protect them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis CD, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Of Rock 'N' Roll: The Complete 50'S Masters (Audio CD)
This was on my other halfs wish list so i got this for him on his birthday. He has it on in the car alot so i know it's money well spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. C. T. Jones "5Os Rocker" (READING , ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Of Rock 'N' Roll: The Complete 50'S Masters (Audio CD)
UNBELIEVABLE BARGAIN , Being a lifelong Elvis fan I bought this on Vinyl when it was first issued and it cost me £50 and I think I am right in saying that the CD box set was also available at the same price. I have never played the Vinyl as I want to keep it pristine , OK all of these tracks are available on other LPs and CDs but not as a complete set in the correct running order . This is Elvis at his early and raw best , I love every Elvis track ever made but to me he never surpassed these early recordings. I have never been able to understand why the alternate take of( Shake Rattle and Roll) wasn't the version picked for the US 45 issue , to me the piano solo makes this the better of the two (both are on this collection)among the other gems is the version of (One Night Of Sin) cleaned up and issued as( One Night) for the 45 general issue .
These are just a couple of tracks worth mentioning , there is more unissued cuts on this great collection. ELVIS A GENIUS AT HIS VERY BEST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews