Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of interesting details and ideas
This is an informative, readable book about the English obsession with manners, which will appeal to history fans. It also includes ideas from anthropology and picks up on the author's own experiences, to result in a book that is quite quirky but also full of interest and food for thought. Highly enjoyable and packed with anecdotes which I will enjoy retelling.
Published on 27 Jan. 2013 by Owlfan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly as billed
More of a sedate run through of a collection of mildly interesting stories regarding manners than anything particularly funny/informative. A bit of a disappointment, sadly!
Published 20 months ago by PaulieC


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of interesting details and ideas, 27 Jan. 2013
This is an informative, readable book about the English obsession with manners, which will appeal to history fans. It also includes ideas from anthropology and picks up on the author's own experiences, to result in a book that is quite quirky but also full of interest and food for thought. Highly enjoyable and packed with anecdotes which I will enjoy retelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misapprehension, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry! The English and Their Manners (Kindle Edition)
I've left `Sorry! The English and Their Manners' unfinished, so write to flag-up to potential readers that the book isn't what I thought it was going to be (and the failing may well be all mine). I had assumed from the jaunty title (and a review in one of the Sunday newspapers) that it would be amusing and lightly informative as a `dip-in, dip-out' bedtime read. Certainly, it tries to be accessible and jocular but, au fond, it came over to me as a jazzed-up academic paper of specialist appeal. Do by all means buy it if the subject matter interests you - but with your eyes open as to the nature of your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a history of polite behaviour, 23 July 2013
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is an enjoyable book which explores the development of what has been considered to be polite or well mannered behaviour since the middle ages. Only in the last few chapters do matters come up to date, but this is not a book which has much to say about particular behaviours, or what is good or bad manners, in our time - instead the author discusses amongst much else the efficacy of ASBOs and the perceptions of good manners at different times, showing that manners are closely related to time and place with different expectations applying in different circumstances.

I enjoyed this book, although it wasn't what I was expecting, and I found it to be an entertaining and informantive work about social history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry! The English and Their Manners (Kindle Edition)
A well written delightful read full of intriguing facts. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly as billed, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry! The English and Their Manners (Kindle Edition)
More of a sedate run through of a collection of mildly interesting stories regarding manners than anything particularly funny/informative. A bit of a disappointment, sadly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, funny, 25 Oct. 2013
By 
J. C. Longton (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry! The English and Their Manners (Kindle Edition)
Not a book that you read cover to cover in one sitting. But one that you enjoy a chapter or two at a time, full of interesting ideas and facts. A good book to keep and keep dipping back into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This scholarly and panoramic text was a joy to read, 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What, on the surface, appears to be a dry subject becomes illuminating and entertaining in Mr Hitchings' hands.This scholarly and panoramic text was a joy to read, presented as ever in his inimitable and comprehensive prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History of How To Behave, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A readable historical account of manners and "correct behaviour" over a long time.
Informative and educational but not a manual for "correct/polite" behaviour now.
"Manners" are changing all the time, particularly at the present time, and this book exposes the absurdity of small minded priggish people trying to impose their ideas of "good manners" on others.
E, Housley,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 13 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best read, too long,boring in many plages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 10 May 2015
By 
Mr. Geoffrey Meadowcroft (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sorry! The English and Their Manners (Kindle Edition)
More about mannerisms than manners!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sorry! The English and Their Manners
£4.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews