Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
I bought this book as a birthday present for an elderly friend who has been a fan of Sir Tom`s all her life, she just loved it and reads a few pages every day, she has read it twice already,but still carries on reading all about her idol.
Published 12 months ago by Rosie Jones

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Book from Nowhere
I was eager to read the biography as a PONTY GIRL who went to school with Mark and in my college years worked with Violet Trenchard
in the local restaurant in college holidays. I was working with Violet when the news broke about Tom's affair with Majorie Wallace. Aubrey
Malones take on events is totally different to how l remember it as told to me by Violet...
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by Mrs. C. Swarfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Book from Nowhere, 2 Jan 2011
By 
Mrs. C. Swarfield - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was eager to read the biography as a PONTY GIRL who went to school with Mark and in my college years worked with Violet Trenchard
in the local restaurant in college holidays. I was working with Violet when the news broke about Tom's affair with Majorie Wallace. Aubrey
Malones take on events is totally different to how l remember it as told to me by Violet. Far from fighting Tom's corner she was
outraged at the humiliation that her daughter Linda was being subjected to..She felt if he had to play away he should make sure that
it stayed out out the public eye.

But for all that it was a fair book in respect of the rags to ruins legend that is Tom Jones. I have always been a big fan and admire
his loyalty to his roots which the book acknowledges. It portrays Tom as the ICON he is but a flawed one who at the end of the day for
all his philandering admits he's behaved badly but still loves his wife more than anything in the world. Keep on rocking Tom..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as a birthday present for an elderly friend who has been a fan of Sir Tom`s all her life, she just loved it and reads a few pages every day, she has read it twice already,but still carries on reading all about her idol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom the voice, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Rockin': Tom Jones, A Biography (Kindle Edition)
great page turner,makes Tom seem likeable without sucking up his bum.especially liked the chapter about Tom and Elvis.emphasises his great voice,truly one of pops best ever live acts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tom Jones Biogaphy, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disappointing. I consider the book poorly written. I doubt if Tom Jones had any input.
Would not recommend even at this low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Rockin': Tom Jones, A Biography (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. It gave an interesting insight in to Tom's relationship with his wife and his attitude to his marriage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Rockin': Tom Jones, A Biography (Kindle Edition)
perfect to deal with very fast service many thanks will be back again and again will tell my mate the same thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very basic, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Rockin': Tom Jones, A Biography (Kindle Edition)
Good read but very basic with no more information than you felt you already knew bout Mr Tom Jones enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED THE WAY IT WAS WRITTEN, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Rockin': Tom Jones, A Biography (Kindle Edition)
Well written and funny. Tom is a legend.

Not a very long book but starts from a brief history of childhood, where it appears he was born to sing and entertain. Who knows how many women he went through !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars List of facts glued together with cliches, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Rockin': Tom Jones, A Biography (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't finish reading this book, which made me sad. I hate to criticise anyone's creative work, but I felt this was poorly-written with a flavour of compulsory "what I did on my holidays" essay about it. I picture the author with two sheets of A4; one headed "Facts About Tom Jones" and the other headed; "Tired expressions to avoid using at all costs". Unfortunately the corner of the second sheet had been torn off and the author thought they had to be worked into the narrative. Probably because of this, I could detect no "voice" of the author; no personal involvement or interest in the stories, each of which was very brief.

That said, perhaps if you're a real fan of Tom Jones, you may discover previously-unknown facts about his life and career and not be too infuriated by the lack of writing skill. I'm giving it a single star purely because it seems the writer has done his research - at least as far as I, being no Tom Jones scholar, could tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book for fans - easy read., 10 Aug 2014
By 
RAMBLER (BELFAST N IRELAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book for TJ fans - a lot about his dalliances with famous ladies and his friendship with Elvis Presley.

a good read for a long bus/train journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews