Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars308
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2014
Love it:)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Very good
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2010
In all the films I've seen of Tom Cruise' this must be the best by far. His previous best was "A few good men" but this is better. Can't fault it, amazing fight scene's and very moving. Not for the squeamish.
M.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2004
Here we are again with another western attempt to bring the Asian culture over to us Europeons/Americans.Of course their version of the East has to be distorted so us "dumb viewers" understand whats going on.The Last Samurai stars Tom Cruise as a "moody,over-the-edge" American soldier with the "Guilt Ridden Past"TM who goes to Japan to fight for Imperial army against Samurai renegades but ends up joining the renegades(shocking) and becomes a Samurai in a couple of weeks.Thats basically it. The direction is nice though, all with colourful scenery etc. The acting is good too, as I do quite like Tom Cruise(however his co-star Ken Watanabe really steals the show). What bothers me is the story itself.Does Cruise's character really have to be the sad-ass sorry whiner who feels bad for killing Native Americans, even though the samurai's, like all armies, killed peasants and ordinary folk during war time aswell? Or how is it that it took all those other samurais a life time of trainig to get where they are and our "dashing super whiteman"(Cruise) only needs to practice for a couple of months and becomes the best.If you want to see a geniunely good samurai movie that was also released this year, watch "Zaotichi"(starring an actual Japanesse person-Beat Takeshi). The action wasnt bad though.
0Comment7 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Sublime.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
was good
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2005
I bought this dvd ages ago but never got around to watching it until last night. And i have to say i was impressed. Although i thought it was a little too long, i enjoyed it very much as the story is very interesting. Tom Cruise shows once agian that he can turn his hand to any number of different roles and his portrail of an army officer who becomes a samurai is very impressive.
Recommended
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
I really liked this item; the film itself is of excellent quality; it's one of my favourite films and the transfer to blu ray was lovely. The box is very snazzy but one minor flaw is that on the spine it reads "Last Samurai" rather than "The Last Samurai" which is okay as long as you don't look at it for too long.
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
love it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2006
I thought I'd watch this with a reasonably open mind and to begin with I was pleasantly surprised by the visuals, the cinematography was quite good. I also thought that the sword fighting was well choreographed in places and even occasionally made it appear that Tom Cruise was actually capable of weilding a sword that was twice his size without toppling over like a twit. Now, here is where I have a problem. To be good at Japanese swordsmanship one has to study supremely hard for many many years. Here in this film is a village full of rock hard samurai, fully trained over many years and along comes Jerry Maguire and ends up being better than all of them, even giving advice to the big boss samurai at the end. Perhaps I am being petty but when will American films stop trying to put their super-sized stamp on the success of other cultures? Of course the last samurai just HAS to be an American <sigh> rant over.
11 comment13 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse