Customer Reviews


219 Reviews
5 star:
 (177)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic film on a very bleak dvd
Seven is in my opinion the greatest thriller of the 90's, a disturbingly dark film which captivates its audiences and draws them into a world of evil and sin. The cast are all superb, especially the two detectives Mills and Summerset, played by the uncanny ability of Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman. One a tempermental rookie, the other an aged retirement-bound cop,...
Published on 4 July 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Differring opinions
By partner absolutely loves this film and so we decided to pay to watch it. I however found it a bit long winded and hard to follow, I ended up falling asleep and missed the last 20 minutes. I would recommend watching it when your not tired though and I would deffo watch again to try and understand it better!!
Published 4 months ago by Leanna Walder


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic film on a very bleak dvd, 4 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
Seven is in my opinion the greatest thriller of the 90's, a disturbingly dark film which captivates its audiences and draws them into a world of evil and sin. The cast are all superb, especially the two detectives Mills and Summerset, played by the uncanny ability of Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman. One a tempermental rookie, the other an aged retirement-bound cop, together they try to solve a case where a man is cruelly murdering his victims based on the seven deadly sins. This leads us to an unforgettable conclusion where all the themes of the films are intervined and drawn out with devastating power.
This 'two disc set' is in my eyes a major disappointment for a film of Seven's magnitude. The special features are awkwardly displayed and takes a bit of getting used to. The deleted scenes are OK but like most films, it is obvious why they were not included in the final cut. I always look for a comprehensive documentary in such an edition, but sadly it does not arrive. Plus-points are the picture and sound transfer is top notch; you will think it is raining outside! This does not compensate however for a two disc set which is nowhere near as good as it could have been.
Seven is one of the most chilling and exciting films to grace the screen, and for this it deserves to be part of any DVD collection out there. Along with Fight Club, it ranks as David Fincher's greatest achievement. I have gave it five stars for the film itself, not for the package. You could almost fit the entire features and the film itself into a solitary disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fincher at his best., 4 May 2007
By 
Nolene-Patricia Dougan "Dougs" (Ravara, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
After Legends of the Fall, Brad Pitt has been rumoured to have thrown a bit of a wobbler, wanting to be taken seriously as an actor and not just be seen as a teenage heart-throb. He cut off his blond locks and, for his next film, chose a much darker and sinister detective story that the teenage girls would have trouble getting into the cinema to see. What followed this decision is a cinematic masterpiece, a truly nightmarish tale that at times is hard to watch.

We are presented with a vision of a city that is so bleak and cruel that no one ever mentions its name. Two detectives--the cynical older detective (Freeman) and the ambitious young detective (Pitt)--are investigating the vilest series of murders that a cinema-going public can cope with. Each murder is based on one of the seven deadly sins everything from greed to, tragically at the climax of the film, wrath. Be thankful for one thing--that these murders were never shown to us; all we see is the bloody aftermath of these violent and unthinkable crimes. This is the master stroke of the film, for it catapults it from a gory slasher flick into cinematic art. It is a bleak, terrifying vision of the world we live in, and leaves you thinking, even hoping, that this is entirely a tale of fiction and such a place does not exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark, disturbing and magnificent masterpiece., 21 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Seven [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
Seven is by far the best phycological thriller that I have ever seen. David Fincher's atmospheric and dark interpretation of the disturbing criminal underground in which evil lurks is magificent. This combined with the brilliant casting of Morgan Freeman, Brad Pitt and in particular Kevin Spacey make this an awesome movie.
I don't believe that you can draw parallels with this and 'Crime and Punishment' and any true 'humanist' would be fascinated to see the depth at which the film explores human morality and behaviour.
The best ending you will ever see. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five star film. Three star extra features., 17 Dec 2002
By 
C. Kilvington (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a quality psychological thriller, with the emphasis on psycho. It's a dark film with lots of rain, shady scenery and gory murders. But if you're not affected by Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD), not put off by a story about the darkest side of life and not shocked by blood, buy it now.
The film moves at a good pace, and twists and turns to great effect. The acting is also something to write home about. Morgan Freeman cannot be faulted as usual, Brad Pitt plays a good part and Kevin Spacey is chilling in his role as the killer.
Now to the two-CD special edition. The best parts of the two discs are the commentaries. Not only can you listen to David Fincher, Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman, but you can also hear from the screen writer and others. Sometimes it leads to a bit of waffle, but the majority is interesting. The rest of the features are fillers in my opinion and don't lead to any greater insight into the film or its makers.
For this reason I'd probably go for the one disc edition if it's cheaper - especially if this already includes the commentaries (which are featured on Disc 1 of the Special Edition anyway).
So the long and the short of it is that the film is a total winner. Don't expect a cross between Driving Miss Daisy (Morgan Freeman) and Legends of the Fall (Brad Bitt) though - as one poor couple at the first screenings did, according to one of the commentaries. You'll be shocked and possibly scarred for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, very dark, 6 May 2004
By 
S. Paciej (London, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
Seven is one of my all time favourite films, it excels in all areas - the plot, the direction, the acting, the palette and mood of the film and the sound.
The title sequences are the best I have seen (I wrote an essay on the subject for art college!), they set the mood perfectly for Fincher's masterpiece, he uses a special thicker film to make sure the shadows really are pitch dark (as oppose to the dark grey most films have) - this is a mark of quality, the actual direction is spot on, the film is well paced and never moves too fast neither does it dwell too much on any one story, I could go on about this more but it would be narcissistic!
So moving on to the acting... It is faultless, Morgan Freeman plays a detective who thinks he's seen it all but is shaken by the psychopathic fundamental character portrayed by Kevin Spacey, the other main actor Brad Pitt also delivers a good performance as the young 'rookie'. The screenplay focuses predominantly around these three characters, the plot involves all of them in a complex story revolving around Chaucer's Canterbury tales which pulls you, the viewer, in to the dark world of inner-city homicide and the twisted mind of the murderer.
The DVD features include interesting commentaries from all relevant parties (director, cinematographer, sound + actors etc.) and also some supplements of which some are fillers while others are interesting, for example the storyboarded alternative ending and my personal favourite the making of the infamous title sequences.
However, I'd probably rate the features 3/5 over all. As for the film, it deserves 5 stars and is very worthy of a place in anyone who likes plot and depth to their films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Silence of the Lambs?, 25 May 2006
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
Seven is probably the greatest thriller of all time. It's perfect in every way and all the deleted and extended sequences included on this 2 disc set would do nothing to improve it. It's beautifully shot in a bleak, rainy American city, the gothic scenery adding to the sense of despair and horror. The film follows Detective Summerset (Morgan Freeman) during the last few days of his police service before he retires to live in the countryside. He is joined by a brash, young Brad Pitt who needs to learn the ropes before he takes over as detective. During their few days together a routine murder investigation turns into a hunt for the most audacious and twisted serial killer ever commited to film. John Doe (Kevin Spacey) only appears for a short time towards the end of the film but he definately takes his place alongside Hannibal Lecter, Norman Bates and Buffalo Bill in the movie psycho hall of fame.

The film benefits from brilliant story-telling and script as well as the excellent cinematography and acting. The killers expolits will shock and repulse you and the race to track him down is edge of the seat crime writing at it's best. There are too many great scenes to pick out favourites but the discovery of Does Sloth victim tied to a bed, the conversation with Doe in the police car and the final shocking twist as his legacy is completed are classic cinema.

Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Become wrath, 4 Sep 2006
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
'Se7en' is a dark tale of two cops, played by Pitt & Freeman, who are thrown into partnership to hunt down a psychotic killer. As the story unfolds it becomes aparrent that there is a pattern; the murderer is killing people for committing one of the seven deadly sins...

It sounds simple enough, but the great cast & clear skill from director David Fincher make this a Film Noir masterpiece. Fincher really knows how to keep up suspense & create a very dark and disturbing atmosphere. For those that are interested in the more subtle art of film-making, Fincher uses some very powerful shots & angles, while alot is revealed about each character without them having to say anything.

However, even forgetting that, this is a brilliant crime thriller; the ending alone is what truely makes it what it is. It's the only time in the film where everything is bathed in bright light as everything becomes clear to both the characters & the audience. (obviously I won't spoil it) It's no fairy tale, but it definitely makes u stop to think after the film has ended.

A classy 5 stars!

If you liked this then check out Fincher's other great films; 'Fight Club' & 'The Game'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "SE7EN" Reasons to buy this DVD set..., 11 Jan 2001
By 
Frank "Monbois-86" (Philadelphia, Panama) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this movie was incredible the first time I saw it - I love films that DON'T end the way you expect them to, that don't follow the safe and true path, so if you don't already own the videotape or the original DVD release, that alone is a great reason to buy (or at least rent) this new DVD.
We'll start off there...
1. It's simply a great movie. A modern classic. The screenplay is just brilliant. The characters are developed and complex. Screenwriter Walker hit upon a great idea and ran with it. (And I am bitterly jealous.) Even if New Line were able to get away with making it into just another cheesy cop flick, the idea would have been intriguing. Walker went the extra mile, though, and pushed himself to try new twists and turns. Kudos to him and directory David Fincher, Brad Pitt, Morgan Freeman and everyone else who pushed to keep the plot's integrity. The acting is superbe, Gweneth Paltrow is a true angel and Kevin Spacey (yes, lovably average-looking Kevin Spacey from "American Beauty") just resonates with evil.
2. It's not just my assumption that New Line tried to "emsculate" (my word) the "SE7EN" script; it's on the record now with the "Stars" commentary track. It's never been easy to get a movie made when it cuts against the grain (just ask Terry Gilliam). Studio suits are notorious whimps when it comes to trying out new stuff, as Fincher, Pitt and Freeman attest to. Though the suits may not think so, I think the director and actors are being nice - they don't name so many names. But they do talk about the battle with the studio to keep the picture from being watered down and turned into just another blasé film version of a TV cop show. Plus you get to feel like one of their buds as they talk fairly candidly about what was going on during production, their thoughts and feelings about the story, etc. It is particularly interesting to list to Morgan Freeman analyse his character's psyche and hear how he came to certain acting choices - a gem for other actors. The "Stars" audio track is often quite funny, too, as with Fincher and Pitt's observations about how the dead GLUTTONY guy was "enhanced" (again my word) to recompense the actor for having enduring hours of make-up and playing a stiff.
3. Speaking of commentaries, the "Sound" commentary track with Fincher, Author Richard Dyer, composer Howard Shore and sound designer Ren Klyce is an enlightening treat, one I've never experienced before (though I don't own every DVD out there). They explain the complex process of applying the different continuous sounds of the city and music in a digestible fashion. It'a fascinating, too, to watch the movie with the background noise brought to the fore and the dialogue and up-front sound effects cut out. Very surreal.
And tying into that...
4. The sound has been remixed for the home theater, and it will blow you away. There's background noise everywhere, just like in a real city. It's crisp, it's clear, it's there in your face (or rather your ear, if you prefer). Why, their creation is alive! It's aliiiiive!
5. The "Story" commentary track with Fincher, Dyer, screenwriter Andrew Kevin Walker, editor Richard Francis-Bruce and New Line production president Michael De Luca breaks the story down piece by piece. This track alone should be a film school student's dream come true; it dissects the movie nearly scene by scene. Wannabe screenwriters and movie directors should listen to this track over and over again.
6. The picture quality on this new DVD cannot be overstated. It has been transferred from the original negative and it is simply sumptuous. It's not a post card, mind you, and it's not meant to be, but it no longer has that "ER" faded feeling to it, either. For example, the all important color RED really JUMPS OUT out at you from the darkness now, adding to the creepiness of the moment. When something is supposed to be disgusting, again like the dead GLUTTONY guy, it is. It's just so real and vivid, like you're there in the moment. It's unlikely that many movies will ever get the loving treatment "SE7EN" has received for this new DVD release, and it's a shame. This makes those movies that have been rushed out onto DVD to make a quick buck (and there are plenty of them) look that much crappier. (Ever see "Splash" on DVD?) That's why people who love movies, and not greedy MBA schmucks, should run movie studios.
7. Although I've watched the movie's original opening (I think they could have kept it in, but with the new vibrating title sequence), there's still a ton of stuff on the second supplemental DVD I haven't yet had time to explore. I have the "Fight Club" DVD, though, and even though that's a different studio (Fox), I am confident that David Fincher will not let me down, so my 7th reason for getting this DVD two-pack is all the fun exploring all the extra stuff, such as extended scenes, the fourth "Picture" commentary track, and veiwing the dead GLUTTONY guy frame by agonizing frame...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "What's in the box?", 27 Mar 2003
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seven [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
"Seven" stars Morgan Freeman as a gentle cop whose only a week away from retirement. Brad Pitt plays the brash young detective that has come to replace him. In their week together, they work on finding a serial killer whose victims are all tortured (gruesomely) and killed to illustrate the "seven deadly sins."
Freeman is wonderful, as always, playing a character similiar to his "Red" in The Shawshank Redemption: soft-spoken, patient, and wise. Pitt looks at ease playing the cocky, over-eager kid-cop. Gwyneth Paltrow has a small part as Pitt's wife. The killer is played by Kevin Spacey as a quiet, intelligent, insane madman.
The direction and photography are top-notch. The pace is quick, there are no wasted speeches or scenes. Because we know there will be seven murders, we are expecting, but never quite prepared for, the horrific crime scenes. The film was reminiscent of The Silence of the Lambs and Red Dragon, both very intense stories about serial killers. (I was also remined of Vincent Price's Dr. Phibes movies as well as Who is Killing The Great Chefs of Europe? Here again, the viewer knows there will be more killings following a definite pattern. These were played for laughs, however, and there are NO laughs in Seven.)
The ending took me by surprise, which is always good. I recommend Seven for viewers who want blood, gore, and excellent acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Se7en Deadly Sins, 21 Jan 2006
This review is from: Seven - 2 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
In Se7en, Daivd Fincher (director of Fight Club and Panic Room) conjures up a delightfully bleak helping of moody, noir-esque thrills around Andrew Kevin Walker's ingenious and engaging script. Se7en is set in a quintessential American city (we are never told which one), where the arm of the law is never quite long enough to prevent the city's criminal underbelly from indulging in all sorts of sinful activity.
Against this backdrop we find the film's two protagonists, played by Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman who both deliver fine performances. Pitt plays the young, idealistic and motivated Detective Mills, who is the perfect foil to the pragmatic and world weary Detective Lt William Somerset, played by Freeman.
Mills and Somerset are assigned to hunt down the sociopathic serial killer John Doe, whose murders are grisly sermons designed to warn a corrupt society of the consequences of the seven deadly sins (gluttony, greed, sloth, lust, pride, envy and wrath). Each of his murders becomes an ironic example of the dangers of each sin; his victims are punished for the deadly sin they embody by being forced to indulge in it until it kills them.
Unfortunately for Mills and Somerset, John Doe is as intelligent as he is disturbed, and they can do little but follow in his wake to pick up the pieces until he unexpectedly turns himself in...
Although some people might find the plot a bit too twisty, and the story a bit too morbid, all in all this is a fast paced and witty film, with superb acting from a great cast (also including Gwyneth Paltrow and Kevin Spacey). This film will leave you guessing until the brain-bendingly clever finale.
As you've probably guessed by now, this isn't the kind of film to watch if you're in need of cheering up. In fact I would go so far as to say that this is one of the most depressing films I have seen for a long time. This film will take you to a dark and frightening place. Crucially though, it's not only dark but interesting and (in a way) enjoyable, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Se7en - Premium Collection Steelbook (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1995] [Region Free]
£34.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews