Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nostalgic
Excellent read, brought back memories of my training in the 1970's, could relate to lot of experiences. Was transported back in time especially the awful night shifts. Told with honesty and feeling. Would recommend particularly if you want a trip down memory lane.
Published on 27 Feb 2011 by Mrs. Patricia Briggs

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disjointed
This book promised much but didn't quite deliver. The stories were interesting and at times quite funny but I didn't like the writer's style and found myself going back a few pages to determine who was who again. It was okay.
Published on 3 April 2011 by Mags057


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 9 July 2014
Excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a lovely look back in time, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Won't Hurt a Bit: Nursing Tales from the Swinging Sixties (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. I had experience of nurse training in the late 60s and lived in the nurse's home so it was a trip back in time for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Won't Hurt a Bit: Nursing Tales from the Swinging Sixties (Kindle Edition)
couldn't put the book down, really good reading. Showed how nurses sometimes got emotionally involved with their patients, and how much they enjoyed their jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Passed time, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Won't Hurt a Bit: Nursing Tales from the Swinging Sixties (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad read, but thought it would have had a little more humour in the stories, & more detail of what a nurse had to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it's okay, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Won't Hurt a Bit: Nursing Tales from the Swinging Sixties (Kindle Edition)
I suppose there are loads of these books post Call the Midwife. This one is okay, but not in the same league. But I read it and quite enjoyed it and then put it in the charity bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: It Won't Hurt a Bit: Nursing Tales from the Swinging Sixties (Kindle Edition)
Enjoying hearing tales of nursing in Aberdeen, I trained there in the 80's so much of the description of wards etc are familiar. I was given the second book in this series as a Christmas present so downloaded this one onto kindle to read first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oh the memories, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Won't Hurt a Bit: Nursing Tales from the Swinging Sixties (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful read, words that painted pictures of life in ARI in the 60s. Loved it. Looking forward to next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nursing in the 60's, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Won't Hurt a Bit: Nursing Tales from the Swinging Sixties (Kindle Edition)
A fun, easy read. Anyone who did their nurse training in the 60's and 70's will relate to this, and it will set the memories going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a big page turner., 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Won't Hurt a Bit: Nursing Tales from the Swinging Sixties (Kindle Edition)
Slightly amusing in parts but felt that I could have put it down anytime and forgot the story. Have read follow up book first by mistake. Can't remember much about that either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Moving, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Won't Hurt a Bit: Nursing Tales from the Swinging Sixties (Kindle Edition)
I chose this book as I had read Jane Yeadon's "It Shouldn't Happen To A Midwife" and realised I had missed out on this one. This is seriously funny in places and quite moving in others with the right level of graphic description. Definately worth the money and one you could recommend to your Mother or Daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews