Customer Reviews


337 Reviews
5 star:
 (211)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


481 of 490 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first tablet
I need to come clean. Before I bought the Nexus 7, I had never owned either a tablet or an Android phone. I'd never downloaded an app in my life. My main reason for getting a tablet was I kept writing notes on paper in meetings and then losing them, or I went to meetings and found I didn't have the documents I needed because I hadn't printed them off. So I decided...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. N. J. Todman

versus
66 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The tale of the three Nexi
Very excited to get my hands on my Nexus 7. Compared reviews with iPad Mini and it looked like the Nexus was a solid choice. My two friends and I all purchased a Nexus each around December time.

I have had my Nexus since Christmas day and have decided to write this review on my experiences.

Pros:
Beautifully crafted and fits in hand...
Published 18 months ago by J. Scott


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

481 of 490 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first tablet, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. N. J. Todman "mr_todtastic" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I need to come clean. Before I bought the Nexus 7, I had never owned either a tablet or an Android phone. I'd never downloaded an app in my life. My main reason for getting a tablet was I kept writing notes on paper in meetings and then losing them, or I went to meetings and found I didn't have the documents I needed because I hadn't printed them off. So I decided this Christmas to buy myself a tablet.

I compared the Kindle Fire(HD), the Ipad mini and the Nexus 7. Having looked at a lot of reviews, I came to the stunning conclusion that there isn't much between them. They all have lots of storage, fast processors, great screen resolution and are about the same size and weight. I went for the Nexus 7 because it was cheaper than the Ipad and had access to the Google Playstore which meant access to loads of apps (including the Kindle one for purchasing and reading books.)

Some people- perhaps working for Amazon- have said you need to be techy to use a Nexus 7. Well, I'm not and so far I have found it really easy to use. All my MS office and PDF files work on there. Dropbox was the first app I downloaded and I keep all my work files on there, so wherever I am I've got them.

Two things have surprised me. Firstly,how many great apps there are. I love "Flipboard" which creates a daily magazine for me of all the stuff I am interested in. I also loved "podkicker" which collects all the bits of radio I like for me to listen to at my convenience. Google calendar is a great way to organise your life, and if like me you have young kids, then there are tonnes of free games. My boys are enjoying Temple Run and Cartoon Wars. I found Speedball Evolution 2 for me, which is exactly like it was back on the Atari ST back in the day.

Secondly, two weeks in, it has surprised me how much I do on this tablet. My home laptop is gathering dust. I type at work, but at home or on the road, I just want to have access to documents and have a bit of fun. The Nexus 7 does everything I bought it to do and a whole lot more besides.

Update: Nearly 8 months on this might be the best 200 I ever spent. I bought a bluetooth speaker and now have access to my favourite music via the Amazon music player wherever I go. I have bought a car charger and have installed the M8 free satnav. I have the kindle and nook apps and read for work and leisure. I subscribe to a couple of blogs and read the Bible daily on it using a reading plan. I bought a cheap android phone, and tether it to the Nexus if I have no access to Wifi. They work together like Batman and Robin. This is a superb tablet and I have no regrets purchasing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


890 of 914 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep taking the tablets..., 18 Nov 2012
By 
uncle barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I've now had the 32gb version of the Nexus 7 for a little over a week so thought I would share my views with you.

This is not the first tablet I have owned - but it IS the first 7" version I have bought. My other two have been 10" tablets and although I like the size for viewing films and pictures I don't take them everywhere with me because I cannot fit them into my coat pocket - so they are nowhere near as portable as this little baby. I therefore find the 7" tablet a really nice compromise between size (for ease of viewing) and portability.

This Nexus 7 is really a lovely little tablet - it exudes quality. I bought it with its proper case - in fact with the retailer I bought it from because of the madness of the cashback (20 if you bought tablet and case) and the fact that the case had 10 slashed from the price (down to 15) - it was 5 cheaper WITH the case than without! Madness! Anyway, as I say the case is a must-have and fits like a glove and protects it from all sides.

Out of the box it is incredibly easy to set up. You are probably wise to take the advice and fully charge it straight away and then it's really easiest if you either sign on your google account or get one if you don't already have one. There's so much to go for via Google Play - much of which is absolutely free (more of later). It's all beautifully synched - so all of your e-books, films, music, talking books, pictures are all there at the press of a button.

I use my tablet for most things. There are so many useful apps downloadable for Android - and because this is a Google tablet you get an Android version update straight away - I'm on Jellybean version 4.2 as of yesterday - and it's superb! Android really is (for me) the best way to go - sorry to all those who love their iPads or whatever - a PROPER Android tablet is the best!

The battery appears to last for quite some time - certainly a number of hours b- ut I charge my tablet each night so it's difficult to say how long is its max at the moment (I always take the publicised figures with a pinch of salt!). I'll do some experiments and report back later. It's never got near packing up on me yet because of battery power (or any other reason) but obviously it takes a bigger hit on its battery life if you are doing power-hungry things - looking at a tv programme on iPlayer or YouTube obviously eats up more energy than reading an e-book already downloaed for instance!

My only little quibble was not having a micro-sd slot so I can expend it when and where I want - adding sd cards for films, music, pics or whatever. But because you can have lots of data file on google drive (what used to be google docs) this is perhaps a reasonable way to hold lots of your files over many devices so I might give that a go.

At the moment 32gb is plenty of space for my use. I've got a few talking books, lots of music, a few films, lots of word and excel docs/xls, a huge number of PDFs of 17th century pamphlets (one of my hobbies is researching the English Civil War) and a large number of pictures and still have plenty of space for a myriad of games and apps.

The sound is ok but not brilliant through its own speaker but fantastic via a decent speaker or via headphones and this is how I usually use it. I've got plenty of speakers and headphone/earphones so am happy to hook it up one of these ways. I must admit I have had problems hooking it up to any of my speakers via bluetooth - my nexus just does not find any bluetooth devices despite my humble mobile phone finding my bluetooth speaker ok. I might have to look into this in a bit more detail.

The picture quality on this 7" display is really quite exceptional. I've watched a few episodes of a comedy series and a couple of films - plus youtube clips etc and they are really clear - as good as you could really expect from a 7" device at this price.

What apps have I got on this device so far? Google Sky Map to look at the stars, Aldiko and Moon+ Reader for eBooks, File Manager (cos as a PCV-type geek I like to see everything in folders and files), Adobe reader (cos I have hundreds of PDFs to view), IMDb to check out what films are worth watching, MetOffice for weather, Google Maps, Google Earth, PlayMusic, OfficeSuite (to read word docs and spreadsheets), Simple Notepad to write checklists and notes to myself and then the usual ones - Youtube, BBC iPlayer, Sky Sports which all play seamlessly - even BBC iPlayer which I have had problems with on other tablets. I've then got a few games including Bad Piggies, Jewels Deluxe, Fruit Ninja and the new Angry Birds - Star Wars. All of these play without any problem - none hang like on other tablets I've owned and all of these apps and games were absolutely free! Bargain!

So, at the end of the day what do I think of the Nexus 7? It ticks pretty much all of the boxes for me and it therefore deserves the five stars I have given it on here. I am sure there are plenty of people out there who will be happy to pay the extra money for the Apple iPad - and good luck to you - or those who prefer the HD version of the Amazon Fire (which does look wonderful also) and again I say good luck to you and I really hope you enjoy them. It was a difficult decision to come down to the Nexus instead of the Amazon Fire. At the end of the day it all comes down to personal preference and I am VERY pleased with my purchase. Thank you and goodnight.

*********************************************************************************

UPDATE 04/01/13

I thought as I've now been using the Nexus 7 32gb for over a month I would update you on things that people have asked me in the "comments" section and other things I have downloaded to make life easier for me (so you don't have to trawl through 4 pages of the comments). Please keep the comments and questions coming!

Space - the final frontier!
One of the bugbears of the Nexus 7 is the inability to create more memory (i.e. it has no micro-sd slot). However... I've now invested in a Mini-USB to USB OTG (On The Go) cable. I can then attach a card reader (I have one that allows SD, micro-SD, USB sticks etc) to the Nexus 7. If you get the app "Nexus Media Importer" you can then use this as external memory. So I often have a 32GB Micro-SD card attached - which nicely doubles my memory capacity.

Input of text
I am happy to type using this device BUT you don't have to use the keyboard offered as standard as there are plenty of alternatives. Also with the latest version of android (4.2) you can also use the "swipe" feature which, once you're used to, is a lot easier than typing! Alternatively if you have a lot of typing to do you could connect a portable keyboard via a Mini-USB to USB OTG Cable - I have and it works perfectly. You can then input as much text as you like comfortably with no problems at all.

File Managers
I use "File Manager" by Rhythm Version 1.14.3. at the moment but I've also used "File Expert" by Geek Software and also Android File Manager by SmartWho - both of which were good. It just depends what "look" you want for your File Manager. There are so many excellent free ones around via GooglePlay/Android Market.

Viewing and/or Editing Word Docs/Excel Spreadsheets
There are plenty of apps - like "DocumentsToGo" for instance that allow you to read Word/Excel files (in the free version) and edit them in the purchased version (it is under 10). There are plenty of other apps (OfficeSuite) but DocumentsToGo is my personal fave.

Google Chrome
I have had no problems with Google Chrome v IE. There are some sites that are noticeably different viewed in their mobile version but that would be the same with any tablet device (or mobile phone).

Movies - film file types
I've tried a variety of types of movie files so far on the nexus (avi, mp4, asf, wmv) without any problems. Although I DID have problems with a very large mkv file - that now is working fine using MX Player . You do need to ensure you have a decent film app because the one that comes with the Nexus is not really adequate for today's users. (MX Player is free or MX Player Pro is 3.50 through Google Play). The FREE version seems to accept many file types (mp4, asf, wmv) but you need to ensure you get the latest version if you update to Android Jellybean 4.2 or it won't work at all!

BBC iPlayer
I downloaded BBC iPlayer no problem at all. I also downloaded BBC media player as a chap on another site said he couldn't play one without the other. I prefer the "belt and braces" approach and it plays fine on my nexus 7.

Google Sky Map
Google Sky Maps is installed and it works fine - it moves around with you and appears to point to the correct stars (but I'm no Astronomical expert!)

Wifi Reception.
One possible purchaser asked about wifi reception. The reception on my Nexus 7 is better than any of my other devices I use wirelessly (mobile phones, other tablet or even one of my laptops). I get the full "4 bars" in my bedroom for instance!

That's all for now folks! :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


203 of 221 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best 7" Tablet on the Market, BUT not at this Price, 13 Nov 2012
By 
Martin (London, England) - See all my reviews
The Google Nexus 7 now comes in three versions, from other suppliers.
16 gb from 158
32 gb from 195
32 gb plus 3g for 239

My remarks, below, about the BBC iPlayer have now been superseded by the release of a BBC iPlayer app.

My Original Review from August 2012

This Tablet is great!! I've only had it a couple of days, and I cannot recommend it enough.
Firstly, I'm a silver surfer, so not young. I already have an Android HTC Desire S phone, which makes the set-up familiar.

I bought the larger 16GB version, as there is no expansion SD card slot, for 199.99 from, sounds like, what you eat after the pub on a Friday night.
Come on Amazon, I know it competes with the Kindle, but let the punters choose, instead of having this overpriced offering.

I've been waiting for a few months for this Asus Google Nexus 7 tablet to come out, after reading lots of industry reviews and hoping the hype was true, and it is.

As someone else said, it's easier to set up if you already have a Google account. It imported all my contacts, emails, Chrome bookmarks and some of the Apps I had on the phone, Astro file manager and SkyEye, for you astronomers, Google Maps, Google Earth.

To look at the internet or movies or pictures in landscape mode:
Pull down the menu from the top with your finger and touch the circling arrows around a rectangle symbol.

Yes you can watch BBC iPlayer, using the Nexus 7

1. Using the Nexus 7 download the Firefox Beta Browser from Google Play.

2. From inside Firefox Beta using your Nexus 7 find, download and install both these files.

Adobe Flash Player 11.1_11.1.115.11.apk

BBC iPlayer_1.3.apk

The BBC are working on a less techie fix, but this works for now.

With the Nexus 7 you can surf the web, watch iPlayer even without Wi-Fi if you have a 3G Android phone.

On your Android phone Go To: All Apps select Wi-Fi Hot Spot and follow the instructions, password etc.

When it is set up, using your Nexus 7 tablet Go To: Settings, then Wi-Fi.

If you are using an HTC phone, look for HTC Portable Hotspot, it will say something similar if you have another make of phone.
Now you can have the internet on your Nexus 7 anywhere you have a phone signal. Brilliant.

I know I could look at the internet on the phone, but it makes the experience more comfortable.

If you have BBC iPlayer in your Chrome Bookmarks Bar on your computer, it will automatically sync into your Nexus 7 Bookmarks.

The screen rendering is so fast. I've transferred some of my movies and TV shows, that I had converted, from my phone and they work very well. My Bluetooth headphones registered immediately, no faffing like in Windows.
Being able to speak questions into it and getting 90% correct answers.
The Google translate app is fantastic. Say any phrase in English, then have it say it in the language of your choice, just like the Star Trek Universal Translator.

Battery life seems good, although I haven't had time to really push it yet.
I've just received a Black Carbon Fibre Print PropUp Stand Case Cover & G-HUB ProPen Stylus from Amazon, which turns the the Tablet Off and On when you open the cover. Just waiting for the screen protectors I ordered to arrive, because of my greasy fingers.
Built in mono speaker, but stereo head phone jack or Bluetooth. On first use, the music player is better than my phone, five slide graphic equalizer, bass boost & 3D effect.
With the MySMS app you can text from it as well as email.

I can see this becoming the new Filofax for the 20 tens.

Update 3 months on. Still think the Nexus 7 is great.
There was an Android Update this week and now the Home Screen spins as well, when you change from Portrait to Landscape mode, which it was criticised for not doing so before.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement for an ARNOVA 9, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. William Land (yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought an Arnova 9 tablet which was ok but it packed up after a month or so, changed to the Nexus 7 (32gb) and what a revelation it was! its faster, better graphics and sound along with a simplicity of use that is very similar to my Samsung Galaxy S2. It does almost everything from using it as a Sat-Nav (Navigon free download) to a media player, it has a battery life of about 7-9hrs, starts up and shuts down quickly, charges in about 1-2hrs from flat. accessories are very cheap(cases etc) on Amazon. using it as an E-Reader (Kindle books and others) is superb with very clear text and adjustable screen brightness that will satisfy everyone. I would without any hesitation reccomend the Nexus 7 to anyone who wants a fast practical multi-purpose tablet that 'does what it says on the box'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 187.19 ever spent!, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Liam Wilson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I am not going to lie here. This is the first ever tablet I bought and I glad I did! It all started when my dad bought a iPad. He let me borrow it for a bit as he knew I was on the hunt for a tablet. I used it but wasnt to keen on the whole user interface so that ruled out any option of me getting any iOS device. The next tablet I looked at was the Nexus 7 which my friend at work just bought. At work I used it for a bit and really liked the interface unlike the iPad I could do a lot more and found better apps, better GUI and since the Nexus 7 was much cheaper I decided to buy myself a Nexus and I am glad I did!

The first thing I will talk about is the battery life. I rarely have to charge my Nexus 7 and I use it pretty heavily. I play games, watch videos talk on Skype browse the internet you name it, I find the Nexus 7's battery about twice as good as a iPad. The Nexus 7 also has a lot of apps to be downloaded in Google Play, the camera for the Nexus 7 is not spectacular I will tell you that but it is good for whatever you may use it for - Skype, Google Hangouts etc. I found that the Nexus 7's speaker was not the best when trying to watch a movie or certain YouTube videos but I just plugged in some headphones and I was happy. The Nexus 7 is a extremely good tablet and I recommend anyone to get it. The build quality is just superb.

Pros

- Build Quality
- Is running Android Jellybean 4.2/4.3
- Has a lot of applications ready to be installed
- Very Fast
- Extremely light
- Amazing battery life
- Only 187
- Feels great in the hand

Cons

- Speaker not to loud
- Sometimes freezes - Has only happened to me once or twice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice small tablet, and good deals available, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Zebrasoma - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Google 7 inch 16GB Nexus Tablet (NVIDIA Tegra 3 Quad Core 1.2GHz Processsor, 1GB RAM, 16GB Memory, Wi-Fi, Android 4.1) (Personal Computers)
My son (10 at the time of writing) bought one of these with money he got for Christmas, after using the 2013 model that I received as a gift (and which I love). He was able to get a 16 Gb model, in brown, from Carphone Warehouse online for 99.99 - not sure if the offer is still on. If I hadn't already had the 2013 model I would have been extremely impressed with this, but the improvements that were made leave this one looking only very, rather than extremely, impressive (especially as a sub-100 tablet). The screen is very sharp, colours are bright and clear (but without the super-vivid hues that you see on some Samsung phones and tablets - which I know some people don't like). The touch response is very good, too, and the processor is obviously pretty fast given the speed and slickness with which it runs. We have had no technical issues so far. The tablet is rapid to start up and runs the games that my son likes very well, plays video beautifully, and is great for web browsing - these small tablets are a nice balance between the screen size of a larger tablet and the light weight and portability of a smartphone or an iPod Touch (which my son has more or less abandoned now). One immediately obvious difference between the 2012 and 2013 versions of the Nexus 7 is the thickness. While both fit nicely in the hand (full marks to Asus on ergonomics), the 2012 one is decidedly thicker (which some people may prefer in terms of holding it), and has a nice leathery-textured back which is easy to grip. It feels a touch heavier than the 2013 model, but not much. All in all, a very nice tablet, especially if you can find a good deal on it - you're getting an iPad mini rival for the cost of something much less sophisticated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best tablet I have ever owned, 26 Nov 2012
As others have said, Amazon have over inflated the price as this is competing with the Kindle. The kindle is a great device at a great price point. This however is the best tablet ive owned. Before the fanboys leap on, I started with an Archos tablet which was fine but felt flimsy. When I got a new job I treated myself to an Ipad 2 which was great and then I got caught in the Ipad loop and upgraded to a 3. The recent release of the Ipad 4 so soon after the 3 and the new IOS that seemed to somehow slow my Ipad 3 down had put me off. The fanboys will have none of it and tell me its rubbish, but the thing became unresponsive, slow, required multiple taps to react. I had rebooted, reset and none of it helped. Add to that Apple's bullying tactics to Samsung and I had seen enough of the company and its products and sold it on.

The Nexus seemed too small and I initially dismissed it. After reading glowing reviews I gave it a closer look. I instantly liked it. It felt solid but the rubberised back felt good to hold with no risk of slipping. The quad core processor is fast and responsive. Its got a great screen that shows up deficiencies in my MP4 converted films far more than any other portable device ive had.

This is the tablet equivalent of a swiss army knife. It may seem like just a secondary device when you dont have a pc or full size screen but in reality it covers all bases. The battery life for this class of tablet is outstanding and in real terms is between 6 and 10 hours depending on what you are doing (this is on a par with Apple tech). It is easily stored in large pockets or back packs and with so much on the Google Play marketplace for free it can keep you entertained. On my 32gb I have about 34 films, 100 books, pictures and about 20 games and some emulators. Ive also got about 20 albums and still have about 2 gb spare.

This thing goes everywhere with me now and I think that the 10in tablets are actually going to see a decline. In the home they are fine but watching people fiddle and balance them on the train in the morning or on station platforms seems a bit 'yesterday' when I can pop out my nexus and easily navigate without hassle. Of course the Ipad mini is here now and if that is your preference then I wish you well but this is a little beast of a machine in low profile disguise.

Seriously if you are not swayed by brand then this is the tablet for you. It does everything you could expect including offline navigation though I have yet to test the accuracy. on a final couple of notes, this is made by Asus that have a great reputation for pc component manufacturing and if you can afford it get the 32gb which will pay dividends for the smallish increase over the 16gb. Expect to pay 199 for this on the high street compared to the 16gb at 159. Oh and depending on where you buy you will get either transformers dark of the moon or Ice Age 1 on there for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works fine, well pleased!, 25 Feb 2014
By 
David Hudson (Cirencester, Glos Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Google 7 inch 16GB Nexus Tablet (NVIDIA Tegra 3 Quad Core 1.2GHz Processsor, 1GB RAM, 16GB Memory, Wi-Fi, Android 4.1) (Personal Computers)
After reading loads of reviews of the 2012 and 2013 models, I decided that the extra speed and better screen of the 2013 model weren't an issue and the 2012 model now at a really good price. Item arrived, good delivery. Worked straight out of the box, quick, bright screen with good res and everything I expected it to be. Came with Android 4.2 installed and quickly came up with an update to 4.3 which is now installed. Everything seems to work well, had it on for several hours now and all good. Will re-post in a week with update. Overall, for my needs, very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why you should invest in a Nexus 7, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all I have given the Nexus 7 a five star rating because I believe it simply deserves this for the price.

I researched the performance of other tablets and their respective features, however the Nexus 7 is a very hard to compete with given it's HD screen and excellent quad core snapdragon processor, also including a decent graphics chip for your gaming needs.

I purchased the 32gb model, first generation of the Nexus 7 as the larger amount of storage really appealed to me, as I like to watch films, listen to music and also read books.

With the addition of the USB On The Go adapter you can purchase separately, you won't be dissapointed for storage space, as this will allow you to hook up an external USB pen drive or HDD of your liking. You are required to download the nexus media importer app from the google apps store to enable this, which will cost you a few pounds, however it is truly worth it.

I would suggest before purchasing to think of what features you think will appeal to you, as the Nexus 7 in my opinion is a good all rounder, capable of reading kindle books and delivering fantastic quality media at your fingertips, also excellent for surfing the internet to watching your favorite TV shows on Netflix. Google Nexus 7 has this all covered for you!

Best of all, you can upgrade to Android Jelly Bean 4.3, and have your Nexus 7 set up in no time.

This was my first tablet I have ever purchased, and considering my phone uses the android operating system, I was able to navigate and use the tablet efficiently within around 1 hours use.

It feels fantastic to hold within your hands and is lightweight, I would also recommend purchasing a protective cover or leather case you can place it within to avoid any unnecessary damage or scratches to the screen.

If you are artistic, you can also purchase a variety of apps, including Photoshop touch to create some stunning artwork.

There is nothing I can really say that I dislike about the Nexus 7, however it would have been nice to see a higher resolution camera on the device, however the front face camera does a decent job for skype video calling and general video web chat.

I hope you have enjoyed the review and hope this review has given you some advice on why you should consider purchasing the Nexus 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my best decisions ever...., 5 Dec 2012
I have only had the NEXUS 7 32GB for about 18hrs but I can already say that it is easily one of the finest purchases I have ever made. As someone who has both Windows and Android smartphones, I had been undecided as whether to purchase an Android tablet or to wait for the first batch of Windows tablets to come on stream....I am very glad I waited no longer.

Upon opening the box and starting the device, everything was as smooth as could be; connecting to my wireless hub, syncing with my Google profile, noticing and immediately installing the updates to both Android (upgraded now to 4.2)and several pre-installed apps, the NEXUS was ready to use very quickly. Adding extra email accounts(YMAIL, HOTMAIL & ORANGE), gmail already having been taken care of by my Google profile, was as easy as typing in the username and password...you didn't even need to select a provider, the @xxxxx.xxx being enough for it to auto-configure.

The home pages show the pre-installed freebies....a few music tracks, several books and the film, Ice Age.... unimportant but useful for showing off the abilities of my new toy.

Which brings me to the important stuff....how does it 'use'? Well, I can tell you that everything....almost....about it is fantastic. The screen is absolutely to die for, far better than an ipad mini or, to be honest, any comparably sized tablet I have yet seen. The powerful processor means nothing jerks, stutters or leaves you waiting, not even for a couple of seconds when loading apps. I purposefully tried to load as much as possible into memory, running as many widgets and background processes as I could be bothered doing...and still it doesn't flinch.

Using Google Play, I downloaded many of my most used apps; Spotify, Kindle, Facebook, etc....and all worked perfectly with no fuss first time. I also downloaded the BT Wifi app for out and about net connectivity and can also confirm that the signal is much better received than with either of my very new smartphones - both HTC - meaning that you are in range much more often. The device has remained connected whilst at home now for some 10 hours, downloading several gigabytes without dropping once.

The only fiddle was getting BBC iPlayer (would be same for ITV Player etc.) to work but the nice people at xda developers' website have the necessary fix for that - it's because Adobe wont release a flash APK for these devices...and therefore Google Play wont allow the BBC iPlayer app to be downloaded due to this...it says it isn't compatible; search the web for 'how do I get iPlayer on my android tablet' or similar and 2 minutes work has that problem fixed - it fixes all flash related problems too, so far as I can yet see.

So, are there ANY faults? Well, if we're going to be ULTRA critical, we could point to the average quality of the speaker...but it's no worse than most of the best available; the rest of this device just puts your expectations way higher than they have any right to be. Having said that, even this isn't really a problem as the sound through a fairly old set of Bluetooth headphones is better than I've got on any other device by far....and with wired SONY headphones it's excellent.

You may also find, at this very moment anyway, that a lot of apps you want aren't on Google Play; the main ones, by and large are, but things I looked for weren't all there......YET. Every item I couldn't find, I went to the specific website and found, pretty much without exception, a note saying the Android version was in development - fair enough as these devices aren't all the same and therefore take a lot more development and ESPECIALLY testing; after all, an iOS app has only to work for Apple's devices... I think with the advent and, doubtless, popularity of this device we will see Android become extremely popular and, hence, well supported as companies need to satisfy an increasingly important area of the market. Of course this doesn't mean I'm not impatient about things but it does mean there's a long list of further reasons to love the NEXUS coming over the following months.....

If you buy any other tablet than this you deserve what you get.....namely something inferior to the NEXUS, and I include all 10 inch tablets in that statement too - I can say this with some honesty as I have used 4 other tablets from various manufacturers and they're just blown away by this.

Of course, I am not including Apple devices in the above statement....I don't want to start an IOS v Android war....so let's just leave them out.

VERDICT: Buy one....now(if not sooner)!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews