Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Info on the this DVD
I think the other reviews here do justice in saying how good this film is, so I won't focus on praising the film. However, I would like to inform you about this version of the film. For the average person looking to buy this dvd, this information may not be that useful but for an fan it may be relevant.

So....

There are other editions of this film...
Published on 25 July 2008 by Mr. J. Hogg

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This movie brought us a legend Hayao Miyazaki
One of the first movies directed by Miyazaki, a man that has become a legend and even stronger then Disney or Dreamworks.

An international thief Lupin III comes to the small European duchy of Cagliostro to investigate some excellently-forged money and stumbles across a national conspiracy going back some hundreds of years. After a break in the middle of the...
Published 8 months ago by worldofcinema


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Info on the this DVD, 25 July 2008
By 
Mr. J. Hogg - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think the other reviews here do justice in saying how good this film is, so I won't focus on praising the film. However, I would like to inform you about this version of the film. For the average person looking to buy this dvd, this information may not be that useful but for an fan it may be relevant.

So....

There are other editions of this film including streamline and manga editions.

This is the Optimum Asia release. This Optimum re-release marks a general improvement over the previous Manga edition. Whereas that version came without anamorphic enhancement and was essentially lacklustre in the visual department, here we find a fine clarity, superb colours and anamorphic transfer. That said, we also arrive at an NTSC-PAL conversation which results in some noticeable - if never overt - ghosting. The film remains watchable, but then this was never a problem with the Manga disc for all its other flaws. As for the soundtrack we arrive at both Japanese and English options in DD2.0 form. Both remain clean enough and technically sound though no doubt the purists will go for the Japanese original (which comes with optional English subtitles of the white variety, unlike some of Optimum's other Ghibli offerings). The English dub is the old Streamline edition and not the newer re-recording which appeared on the Manga disc. The Manga edition used David Hayter (the voice for Solid Snake in the Metal Gear Solid games) as the voice for Lupin, which I do think sounds better than Bob Bergen, who voices Lupin in this Optimum edition using the older streamline soundtrack.

This DVD edition still sounds great though and the voice acting is still brilliant. I would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, brilliant fun even for non-anime-addicts., 30 Aug 2006
By 
F. L. Weightman "Rainbow Daydreamer" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A dashing young thief robs a casino, blowing up police car tyres and sneaking out of windows, and manages (Ocean's Eleven notwithstanding) to escape with the money, only to find it counterfeit. Causing an immediate traffic jam by shovelling it out of his physics-defying car, he decides to track the money down to a little-known European kingdom. That's just the first five minutes of this terrific film, and the fun has hardly begun.

Cagliostro's Castle was my introduction to anime, and it's hard to imagine a better transition-- if this were live-action, it would be world-famous. The hero, Wolf (Lupin in Japanese, I believe), is a likeable rogue with impossible gadgets, a bizarre streak of chivalry and a determined policeman on his tail, and if that doesn't sound like a recipe for great fun I'm not sure what does. Throw in an eternally unruffled swordsman, a matter-of-fact sharpshooter, a refreshingly love-to-hate villain, a sassy lone agent and a beautiful 19-year-old damsel in distress, and you've got this amazing film, which mixes romance and action with comedy and doesn't waste a single minute.

One word of advice: get used to EITHER the subtitled OR the dubbed version, don't try to like both-- they seem to have been based on scripts at different stages of production, and as a consequence don't always match up even at crucial moments. If you speak fluent Japanese, fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your usual Miyazaki film... but still very good., 16 Feb 2006
The Castle of Cagliostro doesn't really conform to the usual expectations one might have of the great Miyazaki's work, particularly in light of his more personal and celebrated projects like Kiki's Delivery Service, Spirited Away and My Neighbour Totoro. However, that said, it is worth noting that the film will definitely appeal Miyazaki's die-hard fans who are interested in seeing how their master's unique visual style would develop from this, his first theatrical film, through to the films aforementioned. It is also an important document within the whole world of Manga/Anime, as it represents what some fans consider to be the definitive film adaptation of the long-running and highly celebrated Manga series Lupin III.
Although it is true that the film lacks the flair and the individual charm that Miyazaki would develop throughout his later work for his famed Studio Ghibli, we can certainly see his unique style and his intuitive approach to character developing through the high-risk escapades found here. The Lupin III series focuses on the suave gentleman thief Arsène Lupin (distilled from the character found in Maurice Leblanc's long running series of novels... hence the lineage), who gets himself into all manner of scrapes and adventures whilst trying to readjust the economical balance. The film gets off to a great start with Lupin and his gang making a getaway from a robbery just pulled on the national casino of Monaco. When the gang discover that the haul has left them with a fortune in counterfeit cash, they head for the small European duchy of Cagliostro to lay low and investigate. However, once there, Lupin and his chums inadvertently stumble across a national conspiracy going back hundreds of years, and find themselves having to rescue the beautiful Clarice from the hands of the evil Count de Cagliostro, whilst, in the process, trying to solve the mystery of a hidden treasure dating back to the 15th century!!!
Although the plot outline sounds a little confusing (it might just be my poor description!!), the film itself is a great adventure, with Miyazaki showing early signs of his firm grasp of action (it is often said that a certain Steven Spielberg once called Cagliostro the greatest action movie ever made!!), as well as offering many great moments of piercing high-tension. As always, the director is just as capable of creating great scenes of drama (and even some subtle moments of pathos) as he is at creating the more high-octane moments, whilst always ensuring that the characters are likeable and totally believable in what they do.
The Castle of Cagliostro may seem a little out of place when viewed alongside the director's more iconic films, though that isn't to say that the film is without merit. Here Miyazaki shows his depth as a filmmaker, creating a rousing action adventure with great characters, some broad humour and a handful of memorable moments. It's probably not the best place to start for those new to Miyazaki's work (try Spirited Away or My Neighbour Totoro), but at the same time, it shows his development as a filmmaker, as well as offering a great story, and a more than welcome addition to the Lupin III canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English dub is bad., 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castle Of Cagliostro (Blu-ray + DVD) [1979] (Blu-ray)
I'm an anime fan who lives in Japan.
Please forgive me for my poor writing.

I love to watch Japanese anime that has been dubbed into other languages​​.
I saw a lot of great English-dubbed anime.
It is, "Evangelion" "Puella Magi Madoka☆Magica" "Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex "
However, the English dub of "The Castle of Cagliostro " This is terrible.

Characters' dialogue is different from the original script.

In this dubbing of the Lupin name has been changed to Wolf.
Lupin is called the boss to Jigen.
However, Jigen is not a subordinate of Lupin.
Lupin and Jigen is a partner.
It is the same as Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.

English dubbing is ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
When you see this movie, please look at whether Japanese voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best animated movie ever, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The second big screen outing of Lupin III is already one of the best Anime movies ever made, while rivaling anything Disney or Pixar has to offer. Green ogres, fat superheroes or a zillion gigabytes of computer animation still cannot compare to 12 frames of hand drawn charm.

For the uninitiated, Lupin III is the grandson of Arsene Lupin, the gentleman thief, created by Maurice Leblanc in the Twenties. He's always breaking into some impenetrable vault, or has a zillion gadgets up his sleeve to help with escaping if things go awry. He's also rather wacky and buffoonish, which makes his antics a joy to watch.

Hayao Miyazaki (Spirited Away, Howl's Moving Castle), in his movie debut, tones down the out of control wackiness of the Lupin III TV show and gives Lupin a rather decent plot to dig his teeth into. This is not an excuse to string together a bunch of insane set pieces.

Seconds after robbing a Monte Carlo casino, Lupin and Jigen discover that every dollar note they have swiped is a fake. Only one place in the world is known to make these counterfeits and Lupin's underworld knowledge leads them to the tiny European country of Cagliostro (think Luxembourg, only much, much smaller).

Half a moment after crossing the border, Lupin and Jigen are involved in a car chase and rescue the Lady Clarisse from a bunch of goons. But she's promptly kidnapped again, though manages to leave Lupin a clue in the form of a strange wedding ring.

Their suspicions over the kidnapping lead them to the titular castle where they discover that an evil Count has seized control of the country, using - guess what? - funny money. And the ring is the key to a great treasure that can only be uncovered when the Lady Clarisse is married to the Count.

Lupin deliberately blows his cover to Inspector Zenigata (the perpetually stressed Interpol officer who is always chasing him) as a diversion, while he breaks into the castle to rescue Clarisse. What follows is scene after scene of hairs breadth escapes and impossible scenarios.

Miyazaki's attention to detail is what truly elevates this beyond typical animation quality. There are enough moments of quietness and atmosphere to balance out the loud scenes. A strong sense of setting also comes from the imaginative "photography". Too many animated movies disorientate the audience with frenetic direction and over-indulgence, but Castle Of Cagliostro works so much better by taking its time and choosing the best angles to cover the action. His trademark flying machines and overeating scenes make their first big screen appearance here.

Far from his typical sub-genre of eco-friendly animation, Miyazaki is obviously a big fan of Lupin and has made a movie that refuses to be missed. Even Spielberg called CoC "one of the best adventure movies ever." Any fan of Miyazaki should check out this film immediately.

One should be aware that the Maurice Leblanc estate doesn't entirely approve of the Lupin III franchise. As a result he is mostly known in the new Optimum Region 2 DVD version as "Wolf" (get it?). The Manga release of this film was entirely re-dubbed in English with Lupin restored but the new Optimum DVD uses the original English voice actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, One to Watch, 17 May 2008
By 
Mrs. A. Gask - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great film, especially if you like a mixture of action and comedy and love Ghibli studio films. Fun, fast and doesn't get boring. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an amazing restoration, but why re-dub?, 23 Feb 2002
As most people who look this up will know, Castle of Cagliostro is an incredible film. As a big fan of the film who has watched the Manga Video VHS many times I would like to comment on the DVD.
The picture quality and sound quality are incredible. Especially the English soundtrack, the music comes across in a breath taking way. The picture is crisp, but retains the great filtering.
However the thing that stops this from getting 5 stars is the English dub track. It's not the same as the VHS, and the voices are all wrong. It completely loses its charm without the voice of the Gamekeeper and many accents are changed such as the Count's guards who have faux-german accents.
I will only be watching the Japanese original now, but at least it gives me the opportunity to fall in love with the characters once more as I hear them how they originally sounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crime has never been cooler than this, 29 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the ultimate animated crime film. Full to bursting with brilliant action, an old castle in the middle of nowhere which seems to still be in business, a handsome, but crafty crime lord, cool settings, a thematic storyline, a crazy young runaway thief on the run from a Police Inspector and a nineteen year old damsel, it's the "James Bond" of Japanese anime films. I always laugh at the antics of Wolf, since he's particularly talented with all kinds of things, especially the windy thing hidden in his belt buckle, and his agility skills when climbing rooftops. He also happens to be very good at getting himself into trouble with the Police Inspector and the Count of Cagliostro, and the Count's butler who looks like he's eaten something which made his hair and face go green is as villainous and scheming as you could wish. There are some amazing stunts too, such as the scene in which Wolf manages to make a perilous jump onto the young girl's chamber tower, the swimming scene, the confusion between two identical Inspectors and a trap door, one in a deserted hallway, and one in the Princess's room which look like they're never there. The funniest for me is when Wolf and the Inspector are both on the way to rescue the Princess when they're meant to be enemies, and when Wolf goes off at the end pursued by the police whilst Fujiko, an undercover agent rides on up the road to avoid being caught as well. It's the high speed chase somewhere in the beginning that gets the daring action started. If this were live action, it would be even better, but I think it's great as it is. Since other similar films like "Nausicaa Of The Valley Of The Wind", "Laputa: Castle In The Sky" and "Princess Mononoke" which I've also bought, it stands in fourth place beside them. It's a change from the more gory crime you see on television, and an ideal film for teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wolf wicked, 28 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Castle of Cagliostro is an absolute gem, a classic. Filled with laugh riot one-liners, deep storyline and a fair helping of action, James Bond wished he was this cool. Probably one of the best anime i've ever seen, definetly worth 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best!!!, 9 Aug 2006
I 'm Japanese and I grow up with Hayao Miyazaki's work.

I assure this film is the best film of Lupin the third altough Monky Paunch did not like it.

offcourse this is one ob the best of his total works as like "laputa".

It is not like "Kiki" "mononoke-proncess",but,this is his early work and he had best team for making this,Music,Mechanic Design,producer,etc when he made this.

You will find out the essense of fis talent, his tecnich and his story telling.

I think his best work are this film and "Laputa" ,you must see them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Castle Of Cagliostro (Blu-ray + DVD) [1979]
Castle Of Cagliostro (Blu-ray + DVD) [1979] by Hayao Miyazaki (Blu-ray - 2012)
16.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews