Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a go
Just thought I'd add a bit of support for this game as the negative reviews here seem to suggest that people didn't like the game because they didn't like the style of play on offer, rather than the game not being good at what it does offer. It's true that initially you can feel a little alienated from the action in this game whilst you get your head around what's being...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. J. K. Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambition over budget.
Spiders the French company who made Of Orcs and Men have a lot of heart, it's clear in their products even if the money behind them isn't quite there. The game is a pretty linear action RPG where you have two characters that essentially act as one stealth and one warrior. Each character has different skills and equipment to upgrade which is important as there's no...
Published 5 months ago by FallenGrace


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a go, 15 Jan 2013
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Of Orcs And Men (Playstation 3) (Video Game)
Just thought I'd add a bit of support for this game as the negative reviews here seem to suggest that people didn't like the game because they didn't like the style of play on offer, rather than the game not being good at what it does offer. It's true that initially you can feel a little alienated from the action in this game whilst you get your head around what's being asked of you. If you were hoping for a button-mashing hack'n'slasher you will feel let down. However, once you begin to understand each characters separate attacks and how to strategically combine them against an enemy the game becomes much more rewarding. I would urge anyone wanting to buy this title to put a bit of research into finding out what the game is before deciding if it is right for them and purchasing it.

Right, that said the game itself is solid in build, charismatic in story and as good looking as it needs to be for the generation of console, and I for one am pleased to see a game of this genre, that requires a bit more intelligence over dexterity coming to the console market, (check out the average score for the game on PC and you'll see the audience it was targeted for.) I won't give a long winded in depth review here - you can find those all over the net. I just wanted people visiting this page to be aware that this is a good solid game that plays really well and offers a lot of satisfaction if it suits your style of play, and given the floods of repetitive, inspiration-less prequels and sequels that currently stagnate the console market it's nice to see something that offers a change in pace and game play like Of Orcs and Men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected and brilliant game., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Orcs And Men (Playstation 3) (Video Game)
I loved the game from start to finish. The main two characters work well together in game play as they do in character. Some really nice plot twists within the story as well.

Combat is not your standard affair in most RPG's, think more tactical where you line up debuffs and then go in for the big hit. Use Styxs' assassins abilities as much as you can before each battle and it will help with the over all conflict.

I hope they make another one with the same two characters as there can be much more from these two and the game world its set in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for button mashers, 1 May 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Of Orcs And Men (Playstation 3) (Video Game)
Hello

I've never written a review on Amazon before and never thought I would. However, seeing the number of stars next to this title urged me to act. I'll keep things brief.

I love Elder Scrolls, Dark Souls, Fallout, Knights of the Old Republic, Mass Effect, Baldur's Gate, The Witcher etc. I quite like Dragon's Dogma. I get bored rather quickly with Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning, despite the excellent story. I think Darksiders is utter mince. Hope this helps to illustrate my spectrum of opinion.

Anyway, I love this game. Fantastic indie quality. Gripping story & gameplay. Awesome combat system. A good challenge.

Different strokes for different folks I suppose. I urge my fellow like-minded gamers to try this title and give it the praise it deserves. Proud to have it sitting alongside the best in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ambition over budget., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Orcs And Men (Playstation 3) (Video Game)
Spiders the French company who made Of Orcs and Men have a lot of heart, it's clear in their products even if the money behind them isn't quite there. The game is a pretty linear action RPG where you have two characters that essentially act as one stealth and one warrior. Each character has different skills and equipment to upgrade which is important as there's no conventional way to heal so you have to plan each fight, it can be quite hard.
The production values aren't especially great, the game looks serviceable but compared with a lot of Playstation 3 games it won't especially impress.
All in all it's a fun slightly different game that doesn't quite hit it's potential but at £10-15 you would get your moneys worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Of Orcs and Men., 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Orcs And Men (Playstation 3) (Video Game)
Unfortunately this is the worst RPG game I have ever purchased. The battle system is far too complicated,and laborious,compared with a game such as Darksiders 2. I gave up after ten minutes,there was no continuity,or flow to the battles,--turn-based battles can be interesting,but this system was just too much. I'm afraid I could not recommend it,but perhaps some people may find it interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but could have online mode..., 18 Jan 2013
This review is from: Of Orcs And Men (Playstation 3) (Video Game)
You finisht he game... not online mode and combats are weak.

RPG? Medieval combat?

i don't think so... more or less is a good definition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buen juego a buen precio cuando lo compre, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Orcs And Men (Playstation 3) (Video Game)
La calidad precio del juego en el momento de la compra excelente y al ser un juego muy extenso en su duracion totalmente recomendable para los fans del rol en consola de videojuegos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars of orcs and men, 5 Nov 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Orcs And Men (Playstation 3) (Video Game)
I dident like the fighting system. I takes to long time to do anything and I like free fighting and not in real time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Of Orcs And Men (Playstation 3)
Of Orcs And Men (Playstation 3) by Koch Distribution (PlayStation 3)
£13.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews