Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great Historical Fiction
For the sake of up front honesty i have to post that I'm a HUGE fan of Christian Cameron's books.

The reason for this is that he is the best writer in the historical fiction genre, probably the finest writer i have ever read.

There was a comment recently where it was said he writes for re-enactors, I disagree, i think he writes with the knowledge of...
Published 17 months ago by Parm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars beach reading
easy read but not gripping, great for the beach where not much brain needed! Bernard Cornwell has nothing to fear,
Published 13 months ago by Es Bowman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great Historical Fiction, 4 April 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part One: Castillon (Kindle Edition)
For the sake of up front honesty i have to post that I'm a HUGE fan of Christian Cameron's books.

The reason for this is that he is the best writer in the historical fiction genre, probably the finest writer i have ever read.

There was a comment recently where it was said he writes for re-enactors, I disagree, i think he writes with the knowledge of a historian and the experience of a re-enactor.
This brings the story to life in a much more real fashion... don't take my word for it, ask all the historical fiction authors who also read his books and cast jealous glances at them.

I never thought anyone would match let alone beat the simple elegance of David Gemmell's writing, but ...well Christian Cameron's books have me totally immersed in another world after just a few paragraphs, by the end of the book I'm utterly lost in another time.

Tom Swan is no exception. A character so real and so complex you are riding along his journey, not at his shoulder, but in his skin. Christian Cameron's tireless search for knowledge and perfection of his understanding of every period he writes in, just makes the world as vivid fr me the reader as i suspect it is when the characters talk to him during the writing of the story.

I love the fact that these adventures will be coming out monthly

Book 2 Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part Two: Venice

Book 3 Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part Three: Constantinople

but i lament the fact that there will not be a full blown series. As once again the writing astounds me.

Very Very Highly recommended

(Parm)
Other new books by this great author

Poseidon's Spear (Long War 3)

Product description

1450s France. A young Englishman, Tom Swan, is kneeling in the dirt, waiting to be killed by the French who've taken him captive.

He's not a professional soldier. He's really a merchant and a scholar looking for remnants of Ancient Greece and Rome - temples, graves, pottery, fabulous animals, unicorn horns. But he also has a real talent for ending up in the midst of violence when he didn't mean to. Having used his wits to escape execution, he begins a series of adventures that take him to street duels in Italy, meetings with remarkable men - from Leonardo Da Vinci to Vlad Dracula - and from the intrigues of the War of the Roses to the fall of Constantinople.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part One: Castillon (Kindle Edition)
Mr Cameron as ever tells an extremely convincing yarn appealing to the inner 14 year old. Proper good male bonding excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great swashbuckling adventure, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part One: Castillon (Kindle Edition)
I thought I would give this a go for 99p and it was well worth it. Really faced paced with characters you can believe it. Highly reccomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lots of fun, extremely realistic., 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part One: Castillon (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced, witty and humorous. This tale immediately captures your imagination, I read it all in one go! I would recommend to anyone who likes history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The makings of a good story, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part One: Castillon (Kindle Edition)
My type of book and a must read for all readers of historical fiction. Will recommend it to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Period page turner, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part One: Castillon (Kindle Edition)
The story moves along quickly, the main character is believable, the sword fighting feels authentic, and I'll be checking up on what else Cameron has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part One: Castillon (Kindle Edition)
Good start that kept up the interest. I will manage the 6/7 books in series..really enjoyed and will continue til the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars beach reading, 26 July 2013
By 
Es Bowman "Izzy" (Newcastle UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part One: Castillon (Kindle Edition)
easy read but not gripping, great for the beach where not much brain needed! Bernard Cornwell has nothing to fear,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part One: Castillon (Kindle Edition)
Once you get into it, hard to put down, was expecting a longer read, otherwise OK. lets see what part two brings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part One: Castillon (Kindle Edition)
You have to read this and the others in the series. The characters are interesting, there's a lot of accurate history, and the writing is fast paced and compelling. Really fast paced. Each novella is just long enough (only 99p), and leaves you scrabbling for your ipad to buy the next.

If you like Clements or Sansom, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews