Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin.
I decided to buy this tool to do the job myself rather than spend £5-10 every time I needed a watch strap resized.
The unit is basic but does what its meant for.
The instructions though basic are concise.
The bonus; my unit came with 2 extra replacement pins
Published on 14 Dec. 2012 by D. Varghese

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job
Cheap and shonky, but would I have paid more for one manufactured with care out of a single billet of machined aluminium? Nah. I wanted something that would enable me to sort out watch straps without going to a jeweller's, once every couple of years. This meets the requirements.
Published on 21 Jan. 2013 by N. Sumner


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin., 14 Dec. 2012
By 
D. Varghese (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Link Remover Tool Band Slit Strap Bracelet Pin Adjuster Repair Tools (Misc.)
I decided to buy this tool to do the job myself rather than spend £5-10 every time I needed a watch strap resized.
The unit is basic but does what its meant for.
The instructions though basic are concise.
The bonus; my unit came with 2 extra replacement pins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job well, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Link Remover Tool Band Slit Strap Bracelet Pin Adjuster Repair Tools (Misc.)
I ordered this watch strap adjuster for a new watch purchased on the internet. It took me about 10 minutes to adjust the strap on the first attempt. It requires a basic level of diy skill and a little care in lining up the strap correctly. It is important not to force the pin out of the strap as when correctly aligned it will come out easily. I would say that this is not a heavy duty professional piece of kit, but:
a) it is more than adequate for home use adjusting watch straps as required and comes with 2 spare pins.
b) it is a reasonable price and represents good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what is needed, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Link Remover Tool Band Slit Strap Bracelet Pin Adjuster Repair Tools (Misc.)
Hubby has several watches and each time a strap needed adjusting it would cost £5. Nw he can do it himself and save money into the bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good tool, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Link Remover Tool Band Slit Strap Bracelet Pin Adjuster Repair Tools (Misc.)
Delivered in 2 days.
No instructions but obvious how to use it for anybody with a practical turn of mind.
Worked perfectly first time. Having two replacememnt pins was reassuring, but not needed.
Good value, saved more than its cost in first usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
N. Sumner "Neilio" (North West) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Link Remover Tool Band Slit Strap Bracelet Pin Adjuster Repair Tools (Misc.)
Cheap and shonky, but would I have paid more for one manufactured with care out of a single billet of machined aluminium? Nah. I wanted something that would enable me to sort out watch straps without going to a jeweller's, once every couple of years. This meets the requirements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check the width!, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Link Remover Tool Band Slit Strap Bracelet Pin Adjuster Repair Tools (Misc.)
It's ok but didn't work for me as the watch strap was too wide to fit in the gap. It would probably work on a ladies sized watch. You do get a couple of tools with it which was handy as I managed to use these to get the job done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what is needed!, 6 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. L. D. Porter (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Link Remover Tool Band Slit Strap Bracelet Pin Adjuster Repair Tools (Misc.)
If used properly this is an excellent tool. It will only bend and break if you are pushing the pin out of the wrong side or it is not aligned correctly with the pin in the strap.

The platform can be slid sideways by turning the knurled screw on the side which drops the platdown down to cater for thicker depths of straps. This isn't mentioned on the instructions.

Tip
===
If you have a wide strap like mine and cannot see the strap pin which is to be removed in order to align it with the tool plunger end, then I found that by holding the strap against the plunger end and waggling it around the plunger would sit in the strap pin as these are very slightly recessed. I could then lay it flat on the tool with the plunger positioned correctly and slowly push the pin out without any issues at all.

Another tip - if you have one of those bracelet straps that you slip your wrist into like mine, use the supplied extra little tool (not the two spare plungers) to undo the clasp from the bracelet is held in by pins with spring ends. Push the tool into the end of one end the spring pin and gently pull the strap to the side. The watch can then be laid out flat to remove the links as required.

*******
In less than 5 mins I had undone the clasp, removed 2 pins and reassembled the strap. Excellent and easy with a little care. Well worth buying. Much easier than how I have messed around with various tools in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, I ended up taking the pin out and using a hammer instead., 9 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Link Remover Tool Band Slit Strap Bracelet Pin Adjuster Repair Tools (Misc.)
The watch goes into the slot, then as you twist the handle to drive the pin into the hole, you are unable to see where the pin is, so I found it impossible to even get the pin into the hole. They need to either make the pin rigid so it can move around, or make the plastic clear so you can aim the pin for the hole as you twist. I ended up taking the pin out and using a hammer and vice, the first pin snapped like a twig, the second pin I did a bit more gently and it worked. I would not recommend this product, you can just use a paper clip, vice, a sock (to stop the vice scratching the watch) and something heavy like a hammer or wrench to gently tap the watch pins out. Make sure you are knocking from the right side or you will break the watch, look for arrows on the watch strap/ look up online which way they go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great gadget shoddily made., 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Link Remover Tool Band Slit Strap Bracelet Pin Adjuster Repair Tools (Misc.)
This turned out to be a really GOOD idea, really BADLY executed. I bought this to remove links from bracelet style watches bought as Christmas presents. It worked beautifully for the first one and promptly snapped as I tried to fix the second. The metal rod you can see running up the centre of the unit has a thin section at its tip, intended to push out the pins holding the links together. It just was not up to the job of dealing with even the slightest resistance.
At this price, I didn't see the point in returning it, and it is a disappointment, but you are still left thinking, "what a clever gadget".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and cheerful, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch Link Remover Tool Band Slit Strap Bracelet Pin Adjuster Repair Tools (Misc.)
This is probably the cheapest piece of kit that I have ever bought that works! It has a slightly better quality than a Christmas cracker gift but it works a treat provided that the pin is lined up properly. Not the sort of thing that you need to spend pounds on. The replacement or removal of a link is simple - just watch a few YouTube videos to explain how, and then it is easy. You will need a small pair of pliers too and don't lose the small components that will drop out of the strap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews