Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars32
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2012
I've been working with the development framework provided by Jim Kouzes & Barry Posner for 25 years. The Leadership Challenge books and the associated 360 survey tool provides a practical and well researched tool for developing both ones own and others leadership skills. Leadership is both observable and learnable. The 5th edition adds to that body of knowledge with new case studies, more international examples and data as well as new research into positive workplace attitudes and the relationship between leadership behaviours and workplace attitudes. Need to convince someone to invest in leadership development - give them a copy of this book today!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 November 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The book has always been very well thought of - with good reason - and this update is excellent, it really brings it into the modern era. As per the title, it's very much focused on leadership, rather than management - and it shouldn't be seen as only having relevance to members of a senior management team. As the authors put it, "it is the work of leaders to inspire people to do things differently, to struggle against uncertain odds, and to persevere towards a misty image of a better future"; I couldn't agree more, and everyone - whether you manage others or not - can show leadership. The values expounded here will show you how, if you take them seriously.

Having just completed an MBA, I used this tome for quite a few citations and references, and it informed a lot of my thinking around leadership - it's just as relevant as it always was, with the update even more so. You're unlikely to need many other books on leadership during your career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 February 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Author's James Kouzes, Dean's Executive Fellow of Leadership, Leavey School of Business at Santa Clara University, and Barry Posner,Professor of Leadership and former Dean (1997-2009) of the Leavey School of Business, Santa Clara University have produced a revised,25th anniversary, 400+ page blockbuster of a book which has been regarded in many areas, as a modern classic. Addressing the multifarious aspects of management across the globe, the authors take on the problems which many in management encounter in their fields of responsibility, and offer empirical evidence as to how others in management have addressed and vanquished these problems. For those operating in a global field, Kouzes and Posner look at the cultural variances in management style and how those dislocated from a particular culture can get around the often impenetrable nuances within that market. A useful reference work for managers everywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Tried and tested for over 25 years, but rewritten, updated and refreshed, this book is still current for today's environment. It features over 100 case studies and examples, which show The Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership in action: 1) Model the way 2) Inspire a shared vision 3) Challenge the process 4) Enable others to act 5) Encourage the heart

Having been gradually pushed into more and more leadership roles, I am currently reading quite a few books and articles, and this is undoubtedly is an invaluable book. It not only focuses on some of the toughest organisational challenges in leadership today but also addresses challenges in how people work and what they want from work. It links issues with a practical and pragmatic approach whilst at the same time providing the academic context.
Definitely a very interesting and useful read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I found this to be a little heavy going to be honest. Although understandable and concise, I found that the premise itself was a little stale. Some interesting points though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I read this book first many years ago and it is a good, solid business management guide and it's ideas are still relevant- and fresh- today in many ways. This 5th edition adds some new case studies, is a bit less 'Americocentric' and more international in outlook. It also looks at the changing workplace, the dynamics within it and the relationships between the workplace and the behaviour of its leadership.

All good stuff in a shortish book that can be easily absorbed and also I think, with pointers that can be adapted to areas of life outside of business. Worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I enjoyed the case studies as I do like reading about success. I have a small business and am reading everything I can about leadership and management. Although this book reads like there is a lot in it, I did not get any light-bulb moments - it simply didn't seem relevant to the issues I want to deal with.

Perhaps this book is more suited to corporate-types rather than small-business owners. I did enjoy the stories in this book but the "How to" that is promised in the title of the book is definitely missing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've read a lot of business leadership books - and experienced a fair bit of business leadership. Unlike a lot of newer books, this feels like the definitive, no-nonsense original fount of knowledge. The examples are clear, the text easy to follow, the subject matter relevant and the tone just right.

Not only is the book good on the theory of leadership, it's also very practical with plenty of actionable ideas and suggestions to try and incorporate into your leadership style. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 May 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is one of the most important books on leadership. if not THE most important. For anyone with any pretentions of being a leader is simply indispensable. Although this is a thoroughly updated edition (It was first published 25 years ago) it's a reminder that although the skills required to be a leader do change at the margins over time at the core there are some in-alienable truths that hold good.

"The One Minute Leader" it is not, but it's still written in a style that easy on the eye.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book has lots of good advice and I found it was an insightful read which has made me reflect on my own practice. Definitely worth a read whatever level of leadership you are at and i believe it would be relevant to leadership outside the business sector. I certainly know a few bosses that I would love to loan this to! On a totally superfluous note I liked the aesthetics of tracing paper dust jacket as management books don't often look particularly inviting to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)