Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Experience
I read and have read very many books on warfare, mainly the two world wars and Vietnam both fiction and non fiction and found this book to be so rewarding as the reader gets to know about the individuals before during and after the conflict whereas many of the non fiction autobiographies are based only on the wartime experience. Very moving, I may be UK but the story of...
Published 13 months ago by Will

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow going
Ok, but doesn't get anywhere near Dispatches by Michael Herr.
A bit too much early detail on the characters before Vietnam.
Published 8 months ago by Steve_O


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Experience, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boys of '67: Charlie Company's War in Vietnam (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
I read and have read very many books on warfare, mainly the two world wars and Vietnam both fiction and non fiction and found this book to be so rewarding as the reader gets to know about the individuals before during and after the conflict whereas many of the non fiction autobiographies are based only on the wartime experience. Very moving, I may be UK but the story of those in Charlie Company won't be forgotten in a long while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot praise it enough great read., 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boys of '67: Charlie Company's War in Vietnam (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book follows brand new recruits through their training & introduction to the infantry. They are sent to Vietnam full of confidence at their superior firepower only to find the enemy is often wily enough to get too close for the heavy support weapons to be used. Real eye opener to what the troops on the ground went through. As good a read as CHICKENHAWK !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 Jan 2013
This book captured me straight away, it places you amongst the men of Charlie company, puts you in the rice paddies of the Mekong delta. highly recommended for anyone, a very emotive true story of the Bond between men in combat. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the boys of 67, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boys of '67: Charlie Company's War in Vietnam (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
book came up on my recommended,
usually i pay no interest but really glad i downloaded it!
what a great insight into day to day life of draftee's in what is an overly "hollywooded" genre....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning acount, 11 May 2013
By 
S. Haines "scarletto" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boys of '67: Charlie Company's War in Vietnam (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Took me less than a week to read, yet will take me a lifetime to forget. For once i actually shed a tear over the death of some one i never knew. The author of this book takes you right there, your lying in a ditch glad to see a helicopter come in for the wounded only to, well read this book. This book should be required reading at Sandhurst, West point or whatever place sends men off to war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good A Book On Vietnam As You Will Read, 23 Mar 2013
By 
R. Rose - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boys of '67: Charlie Company's War in Vietnam (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Most books on Vietnam are written from a single person perspective. This is unusual in that it follows a unit rather than an individual. Books on a single Company are are mostly due to the American policy of rotating individual men in and out of formations.
This is a great book to read particularly because it follows up the particpant's after the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Book, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boys of '67: Charlie Company's War in Vietnam (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
After a few pages you realise that this is going to be a good book. Like many I have read several books on the Viet Nam War. This must rank as one of the best in my opinion. Not only do you hear about their tour of duty but you also get to know about the men themselves and their families. This makes the book a lot more personal than others. The combat descriptions are very explicit and thought provoking. When the men finally come home you realise that their story is far from over. I lost count of the amount of times I was brought to tears by what I was reading. The book also gives details of Bill Reynolds superb web site so you can research their story even further if you wish. A great read which will have you thinking about it long after you finish reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just read it, I doubt you'll be disappointed., 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boys of '67: Charlie Company's War in Vietnam (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
A great read.
Up there with "Dispatches" by Michael Herr & "Nam" by Mark Baker in my opinion.
You can't fail to be moved by the experiences of Charlie Company.
On occasions made me laugh, but mostly brought tears to my eyes.
In response to another review on here, I'd say this publication isn't about the wider issues of the conflict. It concerns C company's
experiences and is not intended to be an historical account of the Vietnam war.
Also, as to what the troops motivations were for being there etc, I believe it states that only one member of the company was a volunteer and the rest conscripts so it would seem to me that they had little choice in the matter i.e. they were drafted into the army then sent to Vietnam on the orders of the U.S. government.
In my opinion you don't need to be concerned with any of the above issues, just take this book for what it is and enjoy it.

Maximum respect to all the Charlie Company veterans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
By 
Mr. R. Bellerby "roy" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boys of '67: Charlie Company's War in Vietnam (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and in parts very sad - well worth a ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boys of '67: Charlie Company's War in Vietnam (General Military) (Kindle Edition)
Very good and in parts very sad - well worth a read, especialy if you remember the Vietnam war and the sixties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews