Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series :) (Includes episode guide.)
First of all, I'd just like to say that I'm so grateful that this has been released on dvd!
Maybe it was the comments that I and others made, requesting a dvd release, on the Yesterday website...
Anyway, regardless, awesome decision; to whomever made the decision, thank you!

Quality programme, very enjoyable, hosted by the lovely, enthusiastic...
Published on 24 Aug 2012 by Sassquatch

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad
It,s not bad, I may order the others in the future. It,s good to watch when theres nothing else on TV.
Published 10 months ago by christine pouli


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series :) (Includes episode guide.), 24 Aug 2012
This review is from: Great British Ghosts presented by Michaela Strachan - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
First of all, I'd just like to say that I'm so grateful that this has been released on dvd!
Maybe it was the comments that I and others made, requesting a dvd release, on the Yesterday website...
Anyway, regardless, awesome decision; to whomever made the decision, thank you!

Quality programme, very enjoyable, hosted by the lovely, enthusiastic Michaela Strachan (a fitting choice).
I remember her from children's tv in the 90's (the best decade ever) ((I'm sounding old but, for the record, I'm only 21)). The programme isn't like 'Most Haunted' or 'Haunted Homes' etc. - this isn't paranormal investigation; none of that here. The episodes feature reportedly true ghostly tales with the accompanying facts, fables, and footage of the locations. Michaela travels around Britain across eight 30-minute episodes to meet with house owners, pub owners, castle keepers, historians, nutters etc.

Because you really want to know, my favourite location was Kelvedon Hatch Nuclear Bunker; how spooky!
Here is an undetailed (due to word limit) episode guide for you:

Episode 1 -
¤ Mermaid Inn and Old Town Gaol in Rye, Sussex.
¤ Michelham Priory in Hailsham, Sussex.

Episode 2 -
¤ The New Inn Hotel in Gloucester, Gloucestershire.
¤ Chavenage House in Tetbury, Gloucestershire.

Episode 3 -
¤ Woodchester Mansion, near Nympsfield, Gloucestershire.
¤ Village of Prestbury, near Cheltenham, Gloucestershire.

Episode 4 -
¤ Red Lion Hotel in Colchester, Essex.
¤ Kelvedon Hatch Nuclear Bunker in Essex.

Episode 5 -
¤ Galleries of Justice in Nottingham.
¤ The Viaduct Tavern in London.

Episode 6 -
¤ Hellfire Caves in West Wycombe Park, Buckinghamshire.
¤ Ostrich Inn, near Slough.

Episode 7 -
¤ St Mary's Walk, Old Town Gaol, and the Black Swan in Devizes, Wiltshire.

Episode 8 -
¤ Grenadier pub in Belgravia, London.
¤ Smithfield Meat Market, Bartholomew's Hospital, and Ghost Lady of Cripplegate, London.

A few of the stories might be bogus, like publicity stunts or business promotion (as on any such programme OR in any such book), who knows, but that's beside the point, they're entertaining, intriguing, chilling. The Great British Ghosts film crew only go along with what is told, and we viewers can decide for ourselves.
If you enjoy interesting and creepy ghost stories and abit of history, this should definitely satisfy you. However, some people have complained that the history isn't always quite accurate, so don't expect it to be and it shouldn't bother you too much. It's a shame but there we go. It's still very enjoyable and I recommend it.

For anyone who doesn't know, a second series has just started airing on British television (the Yesterday channel), so hopefully it will attract more viewers, and perhaps - fingers crossed - we'll get another dvd release :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Ghosts, 4 Aug 2013
This review is from: Great British Ghosts presented by Michaela Strachan - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Nice to see the beautiful Michaela Strachen do this kind of thing. Never thought she had any interest in the Paranormal. Good to see a new face on the block for a change. Like to see more of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghostly tales - well worth buying, 25 Dec 2012
By 
Miss A. Crocker "Reviewer" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Ghosts presented by Michaela Strachan - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Michaela is down to earth presenter who demonstrates a real interest in paranormal subjects. These tales are all filmed in the UK providing eye witness accounts of some terrifying encounters. Great Sunday afternoon TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Ghosts presented by Michaela Strachan - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I though that this and Series 2 are superbly told ghost stories. The best I've seen. I aim to stay in the Mermaid Inn in Rye soon..wish me luck!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 20 Oct 2012
By 
M. Winn "mikewinn7" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great British Ghosts presented by Michaela Strachan - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy this is now out on DVD, I really hope series two will also be released, it is a very good well presented series, like the series you used to get in the 70s and 80s like the arthur c clark programs. no daft paranormal investigators or laughable mediums, just good old fashioned ghost stories told by the people who actualy see them, great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ghost series on tv., 6 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. S. Fidgett "stridge" (Lincolnshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great British Ghosts presented by Michaela Strachan - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love this series. I've been watching it on Yesterday and, to me, it's the best tv series on ghosts that I've ever seen. I received the DVD as a Christmas present and it's great that I can now watch it when ever I want. I'll be really pleased when they release series 2 on DVD. And I hope they're making a series 3, etc. This is perfect for anyone who is interested in the real
life ghost stories from ordinary people. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British ghosts better in Blu-Ray!, 12 Jan 2013
By 
W. Beckett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Ghosts presented by Michaela Strachan - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Most people love a good ghost story and this is an affable way to delve into the more brooding gothic underbelly of British history. The tales are told in a chatty sometimes tour guide over-dramatic way, but they're interesting tales enough. And the locations themselves make you realize that there's nothing quite like Britain when it comes to providing atmospheric spooky picture postcard settings. Often the buildings themselves ingrain characteristics of their own to tickle our imagination and psyche. As for the episodes themselves, perhaps they're a little short - barely 21 minutes - but in hindsight they do the job. The only criticism is that the DVD is a little expensive. £21's... The price more in line with a Blu-Ray release, but then again - JUST WHERE IS the Blu-ray??? For a modern series obviously shot in HD, this lack of providing choice for those of us with HDTV is quite frankly - inexcusable! There's also no Extras to speak of - nor any leaflet inside the box to help index each episode as a point of reference. So 5 stars for a nice gentle meander into ghostly territory with Michaela as a friendly host. But only 4 stars for the above 4 gripes. So here's hoping that any future Boxset that also contains Series Two will also be on the Blu-ray format, because all in all - yes - I did enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth checking out, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Ghosts presented by Michaela Strachan - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyable series with Michaela Strachan travelling around the country, visiting and recounting the various ghostly tales attached to each location. No hysterics, as you might find in other programmes, just a good, enjoyable watch, so much so, I bought the second series. Hope there is a third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars spooky, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Ghosts presented by Michaela Strachan - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
if you like superb locations & fireside romantic ghost story's ,this is great,,Strachan seems sceptical but the true ghost storys win thru' her doubts..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True believeable stories, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great British Ghosts presented by Michaela Strachan - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent series hosted by michaela strachan. Each programme keeps you intrigued and a believer in ghosts. Good entertainment, spooky and makes you think all at the same time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great British Ghosts presented by Michaela Strachan - Series 1 [DVD]
£21.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews