Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars360
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 28 November 2012
Since the first film came out I've been a huge fan. I've watched each and every one several times over with the first being my personal favorite. So you can imagine the gleaming happy face i had when my girlfriend bought me this box set in blu-ray format last week. I've watched each movie at least twice since then and i'll probably watch one again tonight and as for my girlfriend who was not a huge fan, i have converted her (probably because it's always on TV and the brainwashing effect has worked).

First off the box set has 4 discs, each has the blu-ray movie on it in glorious high definition. The image quality along with the audio to match makes this box set one of the best and highest quality box sets around. The movies are as good as they get when it comes down to movies and if you're asking yourself DVD or blu-ray? My honest advice is to go blu-ray as there is a difference especially when watching on a big screen (ideally plasma). Also buying the blu-ray box set you will future proof your collection, in fact the only downside to the box set is that the saga is not yet finished with them still making movies, but that's hardly a reason not to buy it.

PROS: Excellent quality both in terms or audio and visual effects, region free edition meaning it will work anywhere in the world, excellent value for money, better than DVD especially for deep colours and high action scenes.

CONS: I honestly fail to see any other than the fact that i'm still waiting for the next film to be released....arrr!

VERDICT: If like my you're a Resident Evil fan and want the 1-4 collection then get this you won't be disappointed. As for which edition to go for DVD vs Blu-ray .. get the blu-ray version as you'll be glad you did when you sit down to watch it.... you may even convert your other half like i did!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ... especially for fans!
44 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
Blu Ray Extras Review.

Not a review of the movies as if you like them then I'm sure you'll buy this set as the price is amazing. Now for the ridiculously low price of £10.99 for 4 Blu Ray films I expected no extra features.. boy was I wrong so here they are listed for anyone who wants to know:

Resident Evil:
2 Audio Commentaries
12 Featurettes
Alternate Ending with Video Introduction by Director
Music Video: Slipknot My Plague
Previews

Resident Evil: Apocalypse
3 Audio Commentaries
9 Featurettes over 2 sections
20 Deleted Scenes
4 Trailers (for other movies)

Resident Evil: Extinction
Audio Commentary
4 Featurettes
11 Deleted Scenes
4 Trailers (2 video game, 2 for other movies)
Resident Evil Degeneration Trailer (Animated Movie)
Under the Umbrella - Picture in Picture Experience

Resident Evil: Afterlife
Undead Vision - Picture in Picture Experience
Audio Commentary
7 Featurettes
8 Extended / Deleted Scenes
Outtakes
Sneak Peak of Resident Evil: Damnation (Animation Movie)
5 Trailers (for other movies)

A special extra bonus in my opinion is Sienna Guillory as Jill Valentine in 2 of the movies!!! Almost forgot to concentrate on the serious nature of the movies when she came on screen... ;o)
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
I'm a Resident Evil Fan so when i saw this package and the price I could not resist. All movies look and sound perfect. Way better than the DVD's The price is what really convinced be to purchase product sense i live in the US ( our dollar sucks) and it is much costly to buy each movie. I would recommend to all RSE Fans
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
The Resident Evil franchise offers an interesting take on the idea of Zombies, yes they are still mindless shambling human flesh eaters, but this somehow shifts the horror to the Umbrella Corporation. The zombies are still horrific, but they aren't the enemy. They just get in the way of the heroes and Heroines in getting to the real bad guys!
As its set in modern times you could almost imagine it was real. The special effects are great too!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
RESIDENT EVIL;
------------------------
A botched attempt to steal a very powerful virus sets of the automatic defences in a top secret underground facility known as The Hive, locking all employees inside. Directly above, Alice wakes up in a shower not knowing where she is or even who she is. Upon searching her room she finds, hidden in a locked drawer, guns, and lots of them. A few moments later she stumbles upon a tactical response team on a secret mission into The Hive to dispatch of the Red Queen...

For a videogame-based movie, I must say I like it. I remember the first time I saw it I felt real skeptical because of the catastrophic attempt of videogame adaptations like Street Fighter, Super Mario Bros and others. The acting is good, at least compared to other action movies, and the special effects are overall also good. Being a zombie movie it contains a surprisingly small amount of blood and gore to which you get an explanation though, which makes it more interesting and thought through (the blood has coagulated in the undead bodies, ergo they don't bleed in the normal sense).

The release was better than average, a big step up from the DVD, with sharp and crisp picture throughout and intense colours.

3 / 5 stars

RESIDENT EVIL: Apocalypse
----------------------------------------
Continues directly after the first one where Alice once again wakes up not quite knowing where she is. After exiting the hospital she finds herself back in Raccoon City where the dead walks the streets...

This sequel was a bit of a letdown. First of all the director tries too hard to make it look like the video game, with all from how the characters move to how they are dressed. This is particularily apparent in the case of Jill Valentine. Sure, it's fun to recognize a character from the game in the movie, but lines have to be drawn somewhere, and I think they crossed it by a mile. What works in a game may not work in a movie. I also thought the acting was below par. In some scenes I could almost feel how silly the actors felt, especially Ms. Guillory. On the plus side was the special effects which were way better than the first with much less apparent CGI.

The picture was sharp, nice saturated colours with very little grain. Only problem was with the sound which was prone to distort during loud scenes. The recording volume seemed to be a bit on the high side, and the difference between the lows and the highs were quite extreme. Not a big problem but anyway.

2 / 5 stars

RESIDENT EVIL: Extinction
-------------------------------------
Five years after the Racoon City incident, the T-virus has spread around the world and humanity is on the verge of extinction. The only way of surviving is by constantly moving from place to place to avoid the undead. A small band of survivors, led by Claire Redfield, choose to make for Alaska where supposedly the virus hasn't reached yet...

My favourite so far, better than both its predecessors. The special effects are better, the acton scenes more intense and the gunfights seem more realistic. And this time, when the zombies are shot there is blood, and quite alot too. It also felt as if the actors did a better job, especially Ali Larter who is a bit out of her element portraying a tough survivor.

Regarding the release it was also excellent, best of the three first, and nicely balanced sound with great space and dynamics.

4 / 5 stars

RESIDENT EVIL: Afterlife
----------------------------------
Another seven years later, Alice decides to take action against Umbrella in Japan, bringing her clones that she discovered in Extinction to help out. After all, one Alice is bad enough, and letting them fight 30 or more is truly devastating! Wesker escapes in an airplane, with the original Alice on board, but just when she is about to end his evil reign he sticks her with a syringe containing an antidote which strips away her special powers. Helpless against him without them she tries one last desperate thing...

Paul W.S. Anderson is back in the directors chair for this sequel, both for the better and for the worse I think. He has a thing for slow-motion action sequences, a bit like Zak Snyder, and usually I think it's OK to use it in a small amount but I felt that certain scenes in this movie looked like they'd been copied from The Matrix. No new thinking at all which is a shame, as Anderson is most of the time an accomplished moviemaker. Apart from that, it's an entertaining 90 minutes with more gore than the previous ones and also, so far, the best special effects. In my opionion this is as good as the first movie.

This was also the best release of them all, slightly better even than Extinction, with a really good surround mix, crisp picture and well-saturated colours.

3 / 5 stars

All in all, I recommend it to fans of sci-fi action movies and considering its price, just buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
Good box set, it arrived quickly and was in perfect condition. I have never seen any of the films before and they were enjoyable. I recommend them if you like action films
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
I enjoyed all the movies.

The main actress (milla) really makes the films supported by a great cast.

The scripts are top quality
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
These films may not be the best movies ever but for what your getting and the price it's a bargain. The first two movies don't really do much on blu ray, after the third one the quality in audio and picture quality picks up. If your a fan of the franchise it's a must. Even if you just want to see some more blu rays it's worth a buy. For £10 your getting four movies on blu ray thats great value for money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
I HAVE GOT THIS ON DVD, RECENTLY I PURCHASED A BLU RAY PLAYER, THIS IS ONE OF THE TRILOGIES I WANTED TO PURCHASE WASN'T DISAPPOINTED WITH THE OUT COME, AS YOU WOULD EXPECT THE BLU RAY IS OVERWHELMING PICTURE IS CRISP THE SOUND YOU CAN HEAR A PIN DROP, HAVING PLAYED THE GAME THE FILMS ARE EXCELLENT AND SOMETIMES I WISH THEY COULD ADD A BIT MORE GORE TO THE SCRIPT ie LOOK AT THE WALKING DEAD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
I would totally recommend this boxset to anyone who hasn't seem the resident evil films, the only 1 I'd seen previously was the first film years ago. After watching the 4th movie on Sky Movies earlier this year I was keen to see the other films. I don't usually like films derived from games but the resident evil franchise seems to hit the spot! Its got excellent special effects, the acting is good & the story lines are excellent too. I haven't played any of the games as I'm not a 'gamer' so I can't comment on whether the films do the games justice or not, but if you like a good sci-fi yarn then this is the boxset for you. Reasonably priced & an excellent quick delivery from Amazon as usual =D
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse