Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic and Executive?
First: it works. Of course.

For me, the main criterion for assessing whether a stylus is good or not takes time to figure out however - the main question is how long it lasts. I'm tempted to suggest that I think this one will last longer than the pretty feeble MediaDevil Magicwand (which costs £10 and lasted about a month); that's because the tip on the...
Published on 4 Mar. 2013 by O E J

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Grim
Amazon have managed to take a very flattering photo of this "executive" stylus. In fact it's a very lightweight bit of silver plastic with a largely ineffective, and too small, rubber end. Notwithstanding finger-marks and limited dexterity you're far better using your fingers than this remarkably poor product. I found the following issues:

1. Very cheap plastic...
Published on 8 Mar. 2013 by Dr. Paul Ell


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Grim, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Dr. Paul Ell (NI, UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Executive Touchscreen Stylus Silver (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Amazon have managed to take a very flattering photo of this "executive" stylus. In fact it's a very lightweight bit of silver plastic with a largely ineffective, and too small, rubber end. Notwithstanding finger-marks and limited dexterity you're far better using your fingers than this remarkably poor product. I found the following issues:

1. Very cheap plastic design. The only metal is the pocket clip!
2. Far too light weight.
3. The rubber nib is too small.
4. I doubt this cost more than 20p to make so massively overpriced.
5. The stylus is so small it seems incapable of supporting "swipe" functions.

On the plus side:

Nothing.

Avoid.

Try this instead Just Mobile AluPen for iPad/iPhone/iPod Touch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 14 Dec. 2012
By 
Daryl Griffiths (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Executive Touchscreen Stylus Silver (Electronics)
You will love this "executive" stylus if you love
- the cheap metallic-effect plastic finish on cheap chinese import goods, you would possibly be able to live with this stylus.
- tapping your screen just to see if this time it is going to register on your device (iPad 2).
- greasy-looking dot marks every place you've tapped on the screen, staring back at you like creatures from the abyss.
- spending £8 for a stylus that looks and makes you feel cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BASICS EXECUTVE????, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Executive Touchscreen Stylus Silver (Electronics)
THE PRODUCT IS OKAY.BUT AFTER TALKING TO SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE ABOUT IT.WAS INFORMED THAT THERE ARE SIMILAR ITEMS ON THE MARKET.WAS GIVEN ONE THAT COST LESS THAN £2.JUST AS GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Executive, not really!, 28 Mar. 2013
This review is from: AmazonBasics Executive Touchscreen Stylus Silver (Electronics)
I was bought this Stylus as a gift as I have recently bought my new gadget baby the Nexus 10 and wanted to be using a stylus instead of my fingers, save my screen from smears etc.
First impressions it was too light and flimsy in my hand, I wanted to feel some quality weight like a good expensive "executive " pen. When I see the word "executive" my expectations are something which is higher quality, which sadly this is not.
If feels very cheap with its brushed silver effect and being so lightweight. Its really is a very basic styli and found the nib started to leave more smear marks than my own fingers within a few uses. So I had to stop using it completely. The nib itself is quite small so if using the pen at a lower angle has the possibility of scratching my screen...an absolute nogo for me.

Its my own personal view but I will be buying a far better quality styli after spending all the money on my gorgeous Nexus, but Im super grateful to my friend who bought me this as a gift, its always the thought that counts.Thankies XxX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent stylus with some faults, 24 Feb. 2013
This review is from: AmazonBasics Executive Touchscreen Stylus Silver (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First of all - if you are not sre that you need a stylus you probably don't. It may save getting finger marks on your kindle screen but you are unlikely to be more confident or accurate when using it and all the multi-fingered gestures are a little more difficult.

This one is nicely made and lightweight - important as it is not a pen and heavier stylii can become tiresome. I found the length and diameter ideal for my not very big hands.

Even more importantly, unlike many cheap stylii, this is never going to scratch your screen - even if the membrane ruptures.

The flaws:
it does not work if used at too much of an angle - it is much less flexible than others I have used.
it sometimes fails to work and needs more pressure than it should do to guarantee reliability.
it is no more accurate than a finger so not suitable for fine work (it is not designed for this)

So if you have long fingernails or are worried by finger marks on the screen this is probably what you need. If you are looking for a drawing tool or greater precision you will need a finer alternative.

This is a safe buy - beware the cheap and nasty stylii that can damage your screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Galaxy Tab 3 8.0, 6 Feb. 2014
This review is from: AmazonBasics Executive Touchscreen Stylus Silver (Electronics)
Looks good but it's very very very irresponsive. You need to press really hard when scrolling. It's for pushscreen, not touchscreen. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very "Basic" and much too expensive, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
WitchoftheWest - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Executive Touchscreen Stylus Silver (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A touchscreen stylus that looks like an expensive metal ballpoint pen. Well, that's what it seems to be from a distance. In reality it is a very lightweight plastic shell with a rubberised cushioned tip. The tip itself is too big for the small icons on some touchscreen products, as well as leaving little marks if you happen to press too hard. Since you can buy a real ballpoint pen with a metal body for far less than £7.99, I'm not sure how Amazon justify the price for a cheap piece of plastic. Maybe the thinking is that if you can afford several hundred pounds for your device, then you can afford to buy this. However, I have found my 10p DS stylus more effective, even though it doesn't have the appearance of a pen, or a clip to hold it in your pocket. I'm not sure I would even trust the flimsy clip, because it feels so brittle that it will probably break away from the body of the stylus after a short while. This is something you can buy in most markets and boot fairs for a fraction of the price being asked here. Yes, it is lightweight and easy to use on devices with larger icons, but not very sturdy and way too expensive for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic and Executive?, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Executive Touchscreen Stylus Silver (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First: it works. Of course.

For me, the main criterion for assessing whether a stylus is good or not takes time to figure out however - the main question is how long it lasts. I'm tempted to suggest that I think this one will last longer than the pretty feeble MediaDevil Magicwand (which costs £10 and lasted about a month); that's because the tip on the Amazon-branded product gives the impression that it's less adhesive and therefore less likely to 'grip' the surface it's touching. Less grip = less abrasion.

One negative point - it would have been useful (some might say essential) to have a hole in the opposite end so as to attach some sort of cord that can can be connected to the tablet/phone whatever. This product does not offer this facility, so it means there's a bigger chance of it getting lost or mislaid. I bought a couple of phone cases recently for some Samsung phones and they came with a free stylus that had a hole in the upper tip for just this purpose. The AmazonBasics Stylus is designed very much like a pen, one that when not being used can be put in a shirt or jacket pocket. That's fair enough but for home use, when the owner might be wearing clothing that has no pockets at all, it's of little use and the probability is that it will be put on a table or sideboard, maybe on the floor, and sooner or later it will get lost.

That's a shame because it could otherwise have been excellent - I think the main plus-point is that it will last longer than most due to its low-friction tip, but it might also get lost easily due to the absence of a hole (for a cord) in the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly unresponsive, 2 Mar. 2013
By 
Dave M (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Executive Touchscreen Stylus Silver (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Maybe it is just me, but I do find that my tablet (a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2) is a bit less responsive to this compared to using my finger.

Maybe I am just not used to it, yet and I will try for a few more days; especially as it keeps my screen clear of finger marks, before making a final decision.

I will report back...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Works on Nexus 7, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
Peter Piper (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Executive Touchscreen Stylus Silver (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Other reviewers have mentioned the packaging, which does make this item out to be more than it is - a surprisingly short (12 cm/4.6 inch) slim aluminium tube with a clip and a conductive spongy nib. It is very light and has a matt silver paint finish.

Plus points
Straight from the box this stylus worked with no problem at all on my Nexus tablet, I do not have to press even as hard as I might with my finger and the tablet responds as required every single time, there are no misses. It makes the on-screen keyboard easy to use, and can even activate tiny on-screen buttons, e.g. mail, sign out, etc. Works instantly, does not need batteries.

The Nexus 7 does have a remarkably sensitive screen which makes my satnav a pain to use by comparison. Perhaps this is the reason the stylus works so well on this tablet.

Negative points
Too short and too light to be comfortable for me. At £7.99 it's expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AmazonBasics Executive Touchscreen Stylus Silver
£4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews