Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars52
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2012
This is exactly what "Decade" should've been. Whereas that compilation may have cut off all the fat, The Biggest And The Best contains all the right ingredients. Naysayers may moan about the inclusion of Faith In This Colour & Lake Shore Driving, but I personally think that these songs are a testament to Duran's commitment to being an experimental & forward thinking band. The omissions are irrelevant, whoever compiled this album clearly took a lot of time & care by selecting tracks that work together.
The 2010 remasters sound amazing, quite frankly they haven't sounded any better & for this price I would recommend this anyone.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
A FANtastic double CD set of singles, album tracks and rarities. "Burning The Ground" gets a look in and even "My Own Way" is the single version (at long last)! Fans will, of course, have all these tracks but what sells this set for me, and what deserves the highest praise, is the artwork. Beautifully put together with accurate liner notes, even the colour of the CDs themselves match the font colours used on the sleeve. The care taken here simply shines. Michael Neidus (for I assume he's responsible) should get an award, or at the very least a pat on the back. Simply superb. And all wrapped in a slipcased double jewel case too.
A great selection of music from a great band and showcased to sparkling effect. Worth it at any price, but at this price (as all Music Club Deluxe sets are) an absolute steal.
Perfect!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
I've just received this in the post and am blown away!

ART- 5/5

I thought for £5 it was going to be a little drab but it looks fantastic - put together with love and definitely by fans! The images are great and the notes cover everything! A great read and something for my collection!

MUSIC- 5/5

On 2CD's I was worried it wasn't going to cover Duran Duran's career... but this has been put together in a way that covers both fan and chart favorites and really works well. Both CD's are full of all the hit singles and correct versions and finishing on "Save A Prayer" was a really nice touch!

OVERALL- 5/5

This is the perfect collection for fans and newcomers to Duran Duran! On 2CD's it covers off everything you need to know and has been put together with the care that other titles from Music Club Deluxe seem to often exude. For £5 it's a must have!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2012
Great tracklist and good remastered sound in a decent 2 discs set packaging. But... Would someone please explain the reason why they put two fillers like "Faith in this Colour" and "Lake Shore Driving", two useless instrumental tracks from '83 and '88? Instead of these not-so-irresistible tracks I think it was better to put on the tracklist great songs like "Lonely In Your Nightmare" from "Rio" album, or "Friends of Mine" from the first 1981 album. Anyway these are the only fillers in a flawless compilation.
PS: featuring only 1981/89 songs: DD golden age.
Giancarlo Rapetti - Turin, Italy
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Spotted this double album for a very low price so quickly snapped it up. Found out why though when I received it because the box looked like it had been dropped on the floor and indeed the jewel case fell apart when I opened it. Good job it was not a present for someone. Fortunately the CDS play OK. Can still remember 'Planet Earth' in the charts and what a truly brilliant song. Only problem was speaking from a personal perspective all the follow up singles seemed to sound a bit flat by comparison even if they were big hits. Listening to this album however has broadened my positive image of the band. All the well known singles have gone up in my estimation and I enjoyed listening to this collection. Not heard 'The Chauffeur' before but it is a most excellent track. This album should guarantee satisfaction for the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
iF YOUR A EIGHTIES FAN THEN THIS IS A MUST BUY , SOME VERY GOOD SONGS FROM THE DURAN DURAN HITS & A FEW YOU MAY NOT HAVE HEARD ...HAPPY DAYS .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
i chose this rating because i bought this item as a gift and tehy loved it, i would recommend this product to anyone who loves Duran Duran
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Very pleased with this CD - got all my favourites on here, and enjoying reliving the 80's again! Definitely recommended for all Duranies
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
Fantastic value and a good choice of tracks but what a shame they opted to use the 2010 remasters for the 'Duran Duran' and Seven & The Ragged Tiger' tracks. For those who don't know, read the reviews for the deluxe editions of those albums and all will become clear. EMI, in its arrogance, ignored the complaints although that was hardly a surprise. Of course, if you like a harsh, distorted and tinny sound with no depth to the music then you're in the right place. Take a listen to Planet Earth. Is the sound supposed to dip in and out with every drum hit? Is Girls On Film supposed to sound like a worn out tape with dodgy tracking? Somebody obviously thought these sounded great. Probably on an I-pod through a pair of Beats by Doctor Dreary whilst surfing the escalator at King's Cross station they sound sublime. Sadly, when played on one of those antique things...(now, what are they again? OH YES, A CD player!) it sounds like tosh. Perhaps if someone had bothered to do any research then they would've found the wonderful 2003 remasters which didn't suffer from Baby's first mastering attempt!
But then I doubt anyone cares. Which is a shame because you should!
1919 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
fans will love this compilation,as it has all the old hits and some newer unknown hits....very good full set.....good price too
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.86

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)