Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of both albums and then some! Great sound quality too, 26 Nov. 2012
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Now we know why the earlier advertised "Essential Yazoo" single disc never actually materialised, someone at the record company had the good vision to make this a double set. As with the Beloved double from a year or two back, this essentially covers nearly all their album tracks ("I before E" being an obvious casualty, but that track is probably just too experimental for a 'Best Of'). As such those tracks, plus the original 12" versions selected, are all 2008 Remasters from "In Your Room". As I didn't buy that set this is a great compilation, and some of the track sequencing is inspired, as they had more material to choose from. Several slower/bluesy tracks sit adjacent, whilst the same is true of the poppier stuff.

It's nice to have the original 7" of "Situation" as track 2, as it was a single in its own right in the US, and both US 12" sides are also present here. Some of the newere remixes work better than others, but as they are all on CD2 you can choose to include or exclude at will. Some are quite challenging, like "Ode To Boy", but worth perservering with, whilst some are quite commercial. As I'd purchased the original Reconnected 12" vinyl EP it was initially a bit annoying all 4 tracks are included, but having listened to the 2CDs their inclusion is worthwhile, and I will still keep hold of the vinyl!

Quite nice liner notes, short and sweet, and a great cover image choice/treatment make this budget set very strong indeed, and great value. The inclusion of most original 12" mixes, plus b-sides like "Situation" and "State Farm", work brilliantly.

This is a great Music Club Deluxe offering, and makes up for the same label's recent Blancmange iffy sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for old and new! Love this album, 18 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Yazoo: The Collection grabbed me as soon as I saw the cover - such a classic shot of Vince and Alison and the art is beautiful.

The collection covers everything you'd expect in a 2CD retrospective of the band and with not many albums to choose from, the remixes and alt versions work really really well.

I really love the last track on CD 1 - the 1990 mix of Only You with strings and piano! One of my favorites and I've been looking for ages for it!

I'm no massive fan, but got through these 2 CD's with a huge smile on my face and it really took me back! Again, for £5 it's a must have and a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how Alison Moyet became famous, 1 Aug. 2013
By 
Bearman (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (MP3 Download)
Simply a brilliant album. Alison Moyet's deep rich voice may seem to be suited to jazz or classical signing, but in Yazoo she teamed up with a simple electropop keyboard accompanyment to create one of the classic sounds of the1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For the Good, the Bad, I Don't Want to be, A Page in your Diary, Babe..., 17 Jan. 2015
By 
Christina (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (MP3 Download)
Alison Moyet and Vince Clark, who made up Yazoo, brought out some of the best music of the '80's. In particular, Upstairs at Erics, which tells the heartrending breakdown of a real relationship, and You and Me Both, a funky electronic masterpiece that really showcased Moyet's remarkable bluesy voice.

This compilation is not as good as the two separate albums, above, in that the concept is destroyed by definition, with the tracks in no logical order. I guess we should be grateful to be able to have the mp3 download, as neither of their othet albums are available, except in audio CD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
By 
ian mcfarlane (bovey tracey uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Brought back many childhood memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
An absolutely stonking collection of tunes from one of the best bands to come out of the 80's. Moyet's voice combined with Clarke's synth riffs make for some unforgettable songs. Top notch music at a bargain price, thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
If you like this era of music get it in your collection, great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
If you liked Yazoo its for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, nothing else to say, 22 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
The best , nothing else to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Great product. Great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collection
The Collection by Yazoo (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews