Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Old'uns are the best!
A really enjoyable book for children up to retirement age who haven't lost the wonder of their childhood. Although the twins in this tale seem in some ways remarkably immature for 11, they have no problems with modern technology, yet are still young enough to happily suspend disbelief when they encounter an elderly witch, who offers them her help should they need it in...
Published on 11 Aug. 2012 by Annie W

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars WBI Witch's Bureau of Investigation
It was ok, not really enjoyed that much, but filled in some time, Would not read anymore of these books though,
Published 19 months ago by kim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Old'uns are the best!, 11 Aug. 2012
By 
Annie W "bookworm" (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WBI: Witches Bureau of Investigation (WBI Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A really enjoyable book for children up to retirement age who haven't lost the wonder of their childhood. Although the twins in this tale seem in some ways remarkably immature for 11, they have no problems with modern technology, yet are still young enough to happily suspend disbelief when they encounter an elderly witch, who offers them her help should they need it in the future. Since their mother disappeared 6 months before....

With the help of several ladies retired from the Witches Bureau of Investigation (WBI) as being too old and unable or unwilling to embrace modern technology, the twins help save the planet from disaster, restore faith in the abilities of these superannuated witches, give them back their self-respect, force the new head of the WBI to reconsider the infallibility of technology, and - oh, yes - find their missing mother. All of this in a single day!

The story moves along quickly, and is utterly enthralling. The father's despair over his missing wife (though only briefly mentioned), and the children's ability to deceive their elders, are both realistic. The whole book is filled with wonder and enchantment, with a little bit of history thrown in unobtrusively. I (as one of those at the retirement end of the scale) took pleasure in every twist and turn of the plot, and would really like to see more stories from the WBI; I might even share them with my grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it. Where's the next one?, 30 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WBI: Witches Bureau of Investigation (WBI Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm a 51 year old grandma of five and I LOVED this book, great story, likeable characters with that nice little magical edge. Nothing complicated but then I read to escape so I loved that. Was so disappointed there wasn't three or four more in the series to read. Can't wait for the next one to see how the characters grow. Thanks Mr Capwell :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 26 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WBI: Witches Bureau of Investigation (WBI Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is aimed for younger kids but I must admit I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters kept me entertained, very likeable and enjoyable. Can imagine this book as a film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much enjoyed, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WBI: Witches Bureau of Investigation (WBI Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this story, although i would describe it more of a short story. It could have been drawn out a lot more. I liked the characters very much & would liked to have heard more about them. Keen to read WBI 2. Very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read on a miserable winter's evening., 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WBI: Witches Bureau of Investigation (WBI Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. I liked the idea of a FBI for those of wiccan persuasion. Not a literary heavyweight, but an entertaining read on a miserable winter's evening nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this story, 18 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WBI: Witches Bureau of Investigation (WBI Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This story was wonderful. I could not put it down! Loved the twins and all the wonderful characters. Looking forward to reading more from this author and hopefully more stories about the twins - and Clementine and Doris Tec.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WBI: Witches Bureau of Investigation (WBI Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Love this book.
A great read for both adults and kids.
My niece and nephew will enjoy this at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WBI Witch's Bureau of Investigation, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WBI: Witches Bureau of Investigation (WBI Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It was ok, not really enjoyed that much, but filled in some time, Would not read anymore of these books though,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic for people, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WBI: Witches Bureau of Investigation (WBI Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. It is aimed at children, but most people like a little good magic in their lives, read it. I am 58 perhaps you should read it if you feel like the grandchild that I would love to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WBI: Witches Bureau of Investigation (WBI Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As an adult with a childish streak I found this book an easy, entertaining read. Recommended for all age groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews