Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars53
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2010
This book was written to make you laugh, which I did from start to finish. There were times when I thought it autobiographical (did you really do that in prison Milton?), though as an autobiography the author couldn't have been so rude, and maybe not as funny. The first half he's starting out in stand-up and its laugh out loud, with loads of material and tons of gags, I was reading thinking "what a treat". By the second half characters have been developed and it becomes a bit like a sit-com; more Frasier than Friends. He deals with family, tragedy, and his own torment, all the while interjecting with scenarios developed with believable characters then an unexpected perspective relieves the tension and humour is restored. I was left thinking he's better looking than me, drives a better car than me, and has got a cat called Jess.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
I stumbled upon this by mistake , I am glad I did. it is a fascinating and un-put-downable description of the life of a stand up comic. All I knew about Milton Jones is that he does one-liners and has messy hair. I know know he is also a fine writer.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Comedian Milton Jones is famous for his one-liners on TV programmes such as Mock The Week, but in this novel he presents a good mix or humour and plot as he tells the tale of not-unfamiliar comedian Jerome Stevens through ten years of his life.

I really like the style of the narrative, alternating between the character reflecting on his immediate past during his journeys between and after various gigs and his situation at the end of the ten-year time span. It's an interesting way to tell a story that is essentially the characters inner monologue without it reading like continual exposition.

The humour is perhaps a little lighter than I was expecting, and a lot of it plays in ironically as Stevens considers ideas for his routines, but overall I enjoyed reading it and would probably read more from Jones if he chooses to write a follow-up novel.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
Milton Jones has a stand up act that is different from most, and he takes us on a similar tour in this book. Written with inside knowledge of the world of stand up comedians, it is a book you can read, put down, and read again without losing any of the plot - because there isn't one. It's readable, but I feel Milton has a true novel in him somewhere, and I believe a comedy thriller should be his next move. Great as a stand up - but work in progress as a writer.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
I have enjoyed this book, i wonder if some of it wasnt semi-autobiographical regarding his views and experiences in standup. The book arrived quickly and in good condition.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
As a fan of Milton Jones I was pleased to find this book and enjoyed it. It is an amusing and interesting account of the trials and triumphs of a stand up comedian, probably not a typical one however and possibly not autobiographical. Not laugh out loud funny but highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
This is a remarkably honest and realistic tale taking a guy from being amusing to becoming a star. Whilst this is happening, the rest of the world turns and you get the full context behind what is happening to the "hero". At times it is funny, at others it is very sad. An excellent read, and a tale that will stay with me
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I'll start off by declaring an interest, in that I find Milton Jones one of the funniest comedians on the circuit today. Unfortunately that doesn't guarantee that he's also a good author, as this book proves. If Jones didn't have an established reputation i doubt this book would ever have seen the light of day.

The book tells the story of the journey(s), both literal and metaphorical, of Jerome Stevens, a wannabe stand-up comedian as he starts out in tiny comedy clubs and works his way up to the big time. Its told in a series of "stream of consciousness" anecdotes during car, bus, train and aeroplane journeys, wioth a few diversions to hotels, dressing rooms, theatres and his home. There are spikes of humour, but this isn't a humorous book, as Jones explains in his foreword. Unfortuantely it isn't anything else either. It isn't dramatic, tragic, insightful or inspiring. There is a sub plot in which the Jerome's sister suffers from cancer and eventually dies, but the tragedy of that situation is shallowly told and evokes no emotion. There is also a sub plot about the Jerome being held in a Chinese prison for a short period, which doesn't have any feeling of tension, conflict or drama. Its another metaphor, of course, but one which fails to evoke any fresh insight into the character other than that he doesn't like being in jail.

There is the odd spark of wit or wisdom, which is what kept me reading, but more out of loyalty towards Jones the comedian than to Jones the author. I'd recommend giving it a miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
This book shows that Milton Jones has a real way with words both spoken and written.Wonderful discriptions that really make you think and wonder why you didn't think of it first.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 September 2012
Milton Jones's Where Do Comedians Go When They Die? first came out in 2009 and has been re-released this year courtesy of the new Robson Press imprint run by Biteback. A good thing too, as it's a very funny book which also gives a great insight into the life of a stand-up comedian.

It is not really autobiographical; as the author says at the start "All the events happened either to me, someone I know or someone I've completely made up". Freed from that need to accurately reflect one person's life, the book weaves about through so many events that it gives a much better feel for the professional of stand up comedian overall, as well as leaving the reader relieved that no one poor soul has been through quite all the events told.

The narrative is rather choppy - lots of short scenes, jumping back and forth between different story threads. That could be confusing, but instead is done so well it helps keep up the pace and interest, as well as reflecting the magpie like jumping from idea to idea that epitomises many stand-ups.

Far more importantly, the book is simply very funny, with the quips and puns supported by a cast of rounded characters who are substantial enough to make scenes without jokes sill enjoyable to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)