Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£12.34
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2013
Although the story of the Terra Nova expedition is widely known, the stories generally focus on Scott himself. Thankfully in recent times there has been a resurgence in biographies of the other Terra Nova expedition members.

After reading Apsley Cherry- Garrard's "The Worst Journey in the World", and the biography "Cherry" by Sara Wheeler, I discovered that Henry Roberston Bowers was a fellow Scot, and was annoyed that I hadn't heard of him or been taught anything about him in school.

Having tried unsuccessfully to find a copy of the George Seaver biography, I was delighted to see on Amazon that a new biography was been written, I couldn't wait for it.

The book tells the story of Henry Robertson Bowers, and how his life unfolded and led to the fateful day he joined the Terra Nova expedition.

A fascinating tale of the life of someone I rate as a true National Hero for Scotland.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
This is the most excellent book about Scott's workhorse..and recognition of his total commitment and outstanding exemplary service to an expedition full of characters
Very well written and the right balance of factual and readable information
One of the best produced books about Scott's expedition and recommended to all
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
This is a great book. It's easy to read and full of content and context. Bowers is a name often mentioned in the most infamous of polar escapades. We all know there were five who went to the pole including Scott. Scott, as the leader, remains the best known of them all followed by Titus Oates. We know that Edward (Bill) Wilson was with Scott on both his Antarctic expeditions, and what an important role he played. How he was a popular member of the team and widely respected. We know less of Bowers. Anne Strathie has now amended this. Thanks to this excellent book we now understand the man better from childhood to his death alongside Scott. Careful research and access to family letters and papers has enabled Stathie to build up a picture of the man who joined the expedition as an outsider and ended up playing such a major role. Other books on the Terra Nova expedition mention Bowers in a good light and it is clear that he commanded huge respoect from all around him. This book has managed to put Bowers in the rightful place in history.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
A wonderful story about an engaging man who was never given due recognition of his role in Scott's ill-fated journey to the Pole. A very good read
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
To me Henry Bowers was just one of 5 and I knew little about him. This booked fleshed out his life in great factual detail building the image of a thoroughly decent chap, a man with boundless energy and enthusiasm and a likeable man. Perhaps it's me but I find such a perfect unblemished description of anyone to be a little suspect. We are all aware of the failings (and strengths) of the other characters in this story and the book does mention a couple of instances where Scott unleased his understandable frustration wrongly at Birdie but no instances where Birdie showed any character weaknesses. Nonetheless an excellent informative read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
An excellent book which describes Birdie's character and what drove him on. Also of his role in South Pole Expedition and how he was appreciated by his colleagues. Strikes me that he was a man who would try any anything and put his all into a task.

A few weeks ago I heard a talk by the author. Very knowledgeable about the subject. Birdie Bowers spent some of his school life in my home town, Sidcup and recently a plaque was placed on the house where he lived.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Plenty has been written about Robert Falcon Scott and his South Pole journey but the story of Bowers, who accompanied him, is less well known. This book is well researched, thorough and very well written and the writer has a clear affection for Bowers who was a remarkable man. I would recommend this to anyone interested in Polar exploration.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
A truly wonderful and inspirational book. A gripping read from start to finish. It will change your life. Read it soon
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
If you have an interest in the golden age of Antartic exploration this book is a must, sheds light on one of the lesser know members of the famous five, really inspirational.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
A very enjoyable read,just shows what a differant breed of men they were in them days,love the part when it describes how the hut was divided into two halves one for SCOTT and officers,the other half for the other ranks,you couldnt make it up.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)