Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning
Rare review from me...but this is brilliant. Best new music heard in a long long time. Songs that get under your skin, original and accessible. Two Drummers a bass player and vocals with added dashes of synth. Just pips the Alt-j album for record of 2012. Recommended to lovers of music now with an open mind and fed up with the usual re hashing of whats gone before...but...
Published on 2 Nov. 2012 by Graham S. Curtis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Try not to make every song sound the same...
Loved the singles, but the producer seems to think that echo/multi-tracking the vocal ALL THE TIME is novel, and a particular drum sound (especially to round off tracks) is always a good conclusion. It isn't.
Published on 20 April 2013 by Mr. M. Webber


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars love it...., 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
the album has an excellent drum and bass feel. good singing but it needs concentration with the over dubbing effects of voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Trancy Dancy, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
Polica takes you to another place. Music that echoes round your head and absorbs you. No pop classics but who wants pop anyway?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stuff!!!!, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
Never heard of them and bought it on the basis of Amazon reviews and I am very pleased with this purchase. Really good sound and hits all the right notes for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Polica CD, 25 Jan. 2013
By 
Bear on Rails (Blairgowrie, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
Very well liked and has been played a great deal already! It is good company when recipient and partner are planning a big event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
Seen this band on Joules Holland. Just had to buy the album & Glad i did . Two drummers & a great singer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 5 Dec. 2012
By 
M. Kempton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
Saw Polica on Jools Holland - thought they put a whole new slant on Drum & Bass!
I think the cd is excellent - needs to played loud on a good sound system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Futuristic and superb., 1 Jun. 2012
By 
Angular Square (The Outer Darkness) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (MP3 Download)
Heard Lay Your Cards Out on 6 music and had to download the album. Wierdly processed vocals, dark and massive drums, melodic and expressive bass make this band distinctive and unique. Tremendous album - good all the way through.

Stand out tracks for me are Violent Games, Dark Star and Lay your cards out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Auspicious debut, but you're better served by Portishead, 18 Aug. 2012
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
I bought this from a competitor, exchanging something else that hadn't hit the spot*. Poliça's album was playing over the speakers and after ten or fifteen minutes fruitless browsing they had made a sufficiently strong impression that I asked what was what and how much and yes please I'll take one.

Since then I've been back and forth with this one. Is it bang-on! or small beer? Of course you already know the answer...

Anyone who's familiar with trip-rock, or the Bristol scene of so many years back, will probably feel this and not be much surprised by anything in it - save maybe the auto-tuned voice and insistent percussion - so that great shouts about the originality of the record will rebound away. When I was told it was some band called Poliça I imagined they were european, maybe Irish. (The name is a Polish word, says Wiki.) When I found out they were Americans it was strangely disappointing. Watching them online didn't help much either; not exactly shoegazing but definitely in a bubble. You might wonder whether such music even wants an audience.

Suits our era very well: sharing without actual communion.

Anyway, whatever gripes or doubts, I'm keeping my fingers crossed for the next chapter. The great thing about pop music, past and present, is that it feels like there's a band for every one of us, uniquely special, regardless of whether they sound reminiscent of another group or clutch of groups who maybe had stronger vocals here, richer musical arrangement there, unforgettable lyrics or melodies. This is Poliça's moment, so after you've inevitably sampled everything for free online, decide whether you want to be supportive and buy the album.

*In case you doubt this, there's a grammatical error printed in the lyrics to Wandering Star. The CD comes in a cardboard sleeve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGNANIMUM & CHEF D'OUEVRE, 7 May 2012
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
This is the act that I've bee waiting for, to hear for eons!!!POLIÇA,just takes me up to saturn with this sonic sphere entitled:Give You The Ghost.Their electro-torch songs, contains the bitter and the sweet,the calm and the storm,the cold and the fire...all entwined like a pair of beautiful flowers growing in celestial heaven.This collective combo is the future sound of Minneapolis,combining different genres such as: R&B,21st century funk -proyected to the next millenium-, vintage dub,ethereal and dreamed pop.They're innovating and this is what most of the bands of today MUST be doing instead of collecting sounds from bands of the 80's and 90's.Revival must rest already.JUST BUY IT!

HELENE RAMOS GALAGARZA
peruvian journalist,cyber dj,
radio producer & host,writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably THE BEST of 2012, 16 Jan. 2013
By 
Avram (Someone, Somewhere, in Summertime) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
Highly processed, echoed and reverbed vocals above strong drumming and throbbing bass.

Heart wrenching melodies that walk the line between dance and despair.

Extraordinary !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Give You The Ghost
Buy MP3 Album£4.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews