Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical creativity at its best
Eclectic ethereal music that is deeply moving. Penetrating vocals despite the overlay of distortion. Here's to the beginning of a new creative strain in contemporary music and an end to bands that sound like other bands from the end of the twentieth century. Beautiful female vocals make this great album.
Published 24 months ago by Vanvelde

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Try not to make every song sound the same...
Loved the singles, but the producer seems to think that echo/multi-tracking the vocal ALL THE TIME is novel, and a particular drum sound (especially to round off tracks) is always a good conclusion. It isn't.
Published 15 months ago by Mr. M. Webber


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical creativity at its best, 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
Eclectic ethereal music that is deeply moving. Penetrating vocals despite the overlay of distortion. Here's to the beginning of a new creative strain in contemporary music and an end to bands that sound like other bands from the end of the twentieth century. Beautiful female vocals make this great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
Rare review from me...but this is brilliant. Best new music heard in a long long time. Songs that get under your skin, original and accessible. Two Drummers a bass player and vocals with added dashes of synth. Just pips the Alt-j album for record of 2012. Recommended to lovers of music now with an open mind and fed up with the usual re hashing of whats gone before...but is so approachable too. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rewriting The Rule Book, 30 April 2012
By 
Gannon (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
Contemporary and noteworthy R&B comes in roughly three forms. First there is the inventive, sample-happy smoothness of budget producers-cum-miracle-workers like The Weeknd who offer a genuinely refreshing take on the brain-dead pap that schmoozes its way out of most radios daily. Next there is the windblown wanting of bedroom-bound wunderkinds like Guerre, Top Girls and, of course, How To Dress Well who all seem to have found the misplaced soul of the much-maligned genre.

Finally, now comprising Poliça, we have the fluid Minneapolis member-base that is rewriting the rule book on the use of auto-tune and soft-focus instrumentation. Their debut LP Give You The Ghost seems to initially trace its roots back to Bon Iver`s breakout a capella "Woods" and then through the pioneering work of the 25-strong soft rockin' outfit Gayngs that culminated with the release of their impressive 2010 album Relayted (on which Justin Vernon himself turned in a Bone Thugs-n-Harmony double-take). Backbone of the Gayngs collective, Ryan Olson understandably liked their direction and enlisted fellow subscriber Mike Noyce (equally of the Bon Iver band), as well as bit-part Gayngs vocalist Channy Leanagh (then Moon-Caselle) for the Twin City shakers' next step - upping all their gayme if you will as Poliça.

Using heavily auto-tuned manipulation and echo-looping of Leanagh's eerie voice, Give You The Ghost thus quite quickly becomes a showcase for the striking use of the tool as an effect rather than a form of compensation. More pleasing still is that the album's deluxe bedding for this weapon is equally becoming - cue a rich palette of ticking, chattering instrumentation under which the band's two drummers (Ben Ivascu and Drew Christopherson) exercise their skins eagerly.

Maximising the potential of their dual drumming options and finding a truly original niche as it goes is the no-holds-barred blowout of the stunning and urgent "Violent Games" on which an ever-intensifying Leanagh gets multi-tracked to death amid frayed synth FX. The smooth and equally impressive "Dark Star" later comes replete with an irresistible beat behind that mesmeric vocal - its funky sax in turn carrying an infectious vibe into the sultry slow-jam "Fist, Teeth, Money".

It may be a touch optimistic to tar the fizzy opener "Amongster" as pop, but this drifting slice of echoing auto-tune and high-tempo percussion nevertheless plays in the same neighbourhood until a muscular, post-something finale resolutely does away with the classification. The similarly attractive follow-on "I See My Mother" then successfully differentiates itself from the crowd with an array of appealing R&B arrangements.

Though perhaps less revelatory, and assisted almost immeasurably by svelte tracks like the droning daydream "Wandering Star", the remainder of Give You The Ghost manages to tick over no less enjoyably - proof, perhaps, that despite an expansive contributor list, there's a single-minded vision at work here that not only takes the breath away, but as the wonder is absorbed simply causes you to stand back and applaud.

Advised downloads: "Violent Games" and "Dark Star".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Marmite, but I liked it a lot!, 10 Feb 2014
By 
M. Saxby (Fleet, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (MP3 Download)
I caught Polica on a Later with Jools Holland and was intrigued by their unusual use of autotune.

The singer really can sing, but they use autotune to present her voice in a radically different way.

The antithesis of the sterile and bland way Daft Punk use electronica, Polica's is an ephemeral, gritty kind of sound that's likely to make a real impact on you (although if you like lyrics you might find the level of distortion too much).

They manage to present the style well live too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Polica, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
This is a slow burner. It took me a year to get this band. Don't expect to like it straight away. I found that I would do something else in the house while this played, then stop and listen with a need to listen to the CD again.
I do find that bands that take a while to grow on you tend to stay with you longer. These are one of those bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Try not to make every song sound the same..., 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
Loved the singles, but the producer seems to think that echo/multi-tracking the vocal ALL THE TIME is novel, and a particular drum sound (especially to round off tracks) is always a good conclusion. It isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too much autotune, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
The title of my review says it all. I bought this after being impressed with their appearance on Jools Holland, but the massive overkill on the autotune strips the soul out of this album. I know it was deliberate, to comply with the style of the music, but it didn't work for me.

However the glorious Dark Star almost single-handedly redeems this album, a wonderful record, which shows a template for what the rest should/could have been
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
i had been looking for this album for a long time and was very pleased to see it here for such great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleasant surprise, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (MP3 Download)
This album was a surprise to me as I had not come across it or the group until I heard the first track played at the end of one episode of the TV series 'Person of Interest'. I downloaded the album soon after and like all the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely different, good quality recording, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Simon Brenchley (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give You The Ghost (Audio CD)
Decided to buy this based on other Amazon reviews (from people who had purchased similar CDs to myself). This CD is very different to a lot of the similar genres and has a full, detailed and rich sound. There are many subtleties and it makes for great listening. The only downside is the repetitiveness of the sampled singing; it's great at first but begins to grate by the end.

Certainly a few stand-out tracks that would be good on your iPod in Shuffle mode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Give You The Ghost
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews