Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, quality collection, essential for the serious Clash fan
I received my "Clash Sound System" box set today and was immediately impressed by the look, the weight and the quality of this collection. This is absolute heaven for a Clash fan and pretty much provides everything you could ever want in terms of musical content from the band. It's a beautifully presented piece of work and the music sounds fantastic.

What you...
Published 15 months ago by Andy Sweeney

versus
32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If I was 16 again I would have loved this
First off, we all know the music is amazing, that is 5 stars, great to hear all the newly remastered versions.

Some tracks don't sound different than the previous remasters but others sound like Mick spent a lot of time on them and the guitars are brighter and really come out. This really the only thing I find much of interest in this package. The audio extras...
Published 14 months ago by Red Sovine


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, quality collection, essential for the serious Clash fan, 10 Sep 2013
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound System ( NTSC ) Region 0 (Audio CD)
I received my "Clash Sound System" box set today and was immediately impressed by the look, the weight and the quality of this collection. This is absolute heaven for a Clash fan and pretty much provides everything you could ever want in terms of musical content from the band. It's a beautifully presented piece of work and the music sounds fantastic.

What you actually get:

1xCD - The Clash (1977)
1xCD - Give 'Em Enough Rope (1978)
2xCD - London Calling (1979)
3xCD - Sandinista (1980)
1xCD - Combat Rock (1982)
3xCD - The Clash Sound System Extras (bonus material, 1976-1982)
1xDVD - The Clash (contains interviews, live performances and all the promo videos)
"Service Manual" (a hardback guide to the contents of the box set)
Dog Tags
5 Badges
3 DIY Stickers
The Clash Paperback Book (blank!)
The Clash Folder
Armagideon Times Special Edition (36 pages)
Armagideon Times 1 (Reprint - 24 pages)
Armagideon Times 2 (Reprint - 24 pages)
2 Bumper Stickers
The Clash Vintage Sticker Set
15" x 15" Poster

The 3CD "Sound System Extras" contents track listings:

Disc One:

1. White Riot (single version) 2. 1977 (B-side) 3. Listen (Capital Radio EP/Interviews) 4. Capital Radio (Capital Radio EP) 5. London's Burning (Live B-side from Remote Control) 6. Complete Control (single version) 7. City Of The Dead (B-side) 8. Clash City Rockers (original single version) 9. Jail Guitar Doors (B-side) 10. White Man In Hammersmith Palais (A-side) 11. The Prisoner (B-side) 12. 1-2 Crush On You (B-side from Tommy Gun) 13. Time Is Tight (Black Market Clash) 14. Pressure Drop (B-side from English Civil War) 15. I Fought The Law (Cost Of Living EP) 16. Groovy Times (Cost Of Living EP) 17. Gates Of The West (Cost Of Living EP) 18. Capital Radio (Cost Of Living EP) 19. Armagideon Times (B-side London Calling 12") 20. Bank Robber (A-side) 21. Rockers Galore On A UK Tour (B-side)

Disc Two:

1. Magnificent Dance (12") 2. Midnight To Stevens (Outtake) 3. Radio One (B-side Hitsville UK) 4. Stop The World (B-side The Call Up) 5. The Cool Out (US 12" B-side of The Call Up) 6. This Is Radio Clash (A-side) 7. This Is Radio Clash (B-side - 7" - different lyrics) 8. First Night Back In London (B-side of Know Your Rights) 9. Rock The Casbah (Bob Clearmountain 12" mix) 10. Long Time Jerk (B-side of Rock The Casbah) 11. The Beautiful People Are Ugly Too (outtake) 12. Idle In Kangaroo Court (outtake listed as Kill Time) 13. Ghetto Defendant (Extended version - unedited) 14. Cool Confusion (B-side from Should I Stay Or Should I Go 7") 15. Sean Flynn (Extended 'Marcus Music' version) 16. Straight To Hell (Unedited version from Clash On Broadway)

Disc Three: (split into three sections)

Extracts from The Clash's first ever recording session at Beaconsfield Film School, 1976:
1. I'm So Bored With The USA 2. London's Burning 3. White Riot 4. 1977

The Clash's second recording session, January 1977:
5. Janie Jones 6. Career Opportunities 7. London's Burning 8. 1977 9. White Riot

Live At The Lyceum, London, 28th December, 1979:
10. City Of The Dead 11. Jail Guitar Doors 12. English Civil War 13. Stay Free 14. Cheapstakes 15. I Fought The Law

Simply put, this is an essential collection for any serious Clash fan and a chance for those who only have a singles collection or one or two albums to upgrade. Recommended highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the music, but...., 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: Sound System ( NTSC ) Region 0 (Audio CD)
Firstly the remastered albums sound great, good enough to be worth buying again. Packaging was always what they did best, whether the records or themselves, can take it or leave it personally.
The only fault with this set lies again with the omissions. "Justice tonight/kick it over" is the first. Why do they find it impossible to include "armagideon time" and this together on any compilation? preferably sequenced together? Secondly the extended version of "bankrobber" and the dub version, "robberdub", again which can be sequenced to make one long fantastic track. Thirdly, once again "outside broadcast"and "radio 5" have been omitted, which are another two fantastic versions of "this is radio clash" and should have been included. Incidentally "radio clash" is also different to the "a" side, not just in lyrics. These are not obscure, throwaway b-sides or outtakes, they are great clash recordings that should be on this!! Great to see that mikey dread's "radio 1" made it this time though. Clash, bang, wallop indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - what a box full, 11 Sep 2013
By 
S. Phillips (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound System ( NTSC ) Region 0 (Audio CD)
I was dubious about forking out ninety quid for this - after all I already had most of the original albums. But as soon as I opened the box, I was glad that I took the plunge. The whole thing is put together brilliantly. The CDs are in sturdy digipack replicas of the original sleeves, and a series of tiny boxes contain badges, stickers, and more...As well as the re-mastered studio albums, there are three CDs of demos and live tracks, and a DVD of live tracks and promo videos.Then there are the reprinted magazines and new stuff to read. And don't forget to investigate the box all the way to the bottom. For a veteran Clash fan, this is a gem, hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If I was 16 again I would have loved this, 9 Oct 2013
This review is from: Sound System ( NTSC ) Region 0 (Audio CD)
First off, we all know the music is amazing, that is 5 stars, great to hear all the newly remastered versions.

Some tracks don't sound different than the previous remasters but others sound like Mick spent a lot of time on them and the guitars are brighter and really come out. This really the only thing I find much of interest in this package. The audio extras are quite limited for the many fans who would already have bootlegs of 90% of this already. For this steep price there should have been much more. Why not the full Lyceum gig which has made the rounds for years? it is amazing and would sounded great next to a Bonds set or some of the US live 1979 shows. Why only extracts from the first ever session? (of course it will be released later in some other package so you have to buy it again)

The DVD is mostly stuff you have all seen already, they could have had a 2 dvd set with so much more on it.

Where this set fails is in the packaging which is totally naff. The digi style packs look cheap and the design is just plain bad, they are not aging well already and I have had it just a short time.

But really, who over the age of 16-18 really needs stickers, a poster, dog tags, blank books plus a lot of other useless rubbish like the manual? I am sure I would have loved this all 33 years ago but now? pointless. A good book with info on all the recordings and un-released pics would have been great, the new Armagideon Times is ok but not essential.

As the other reviewer said the box is way to big and just a bunch of useless cardboard, where the hell do I put it other than burn the cds and then put it into my attic? Nothing in the box other than the music wants me to go back and look at it.

Last but not least, as much as I dont like Cut The Crap, it is a Clash album so this is not the complete works. They could have included a live version of Cut the Crap from tapes of the 84-85 tours which would have sounded pretty good to be honest...far better than Bernie's vision. Other than the deluxe London Calling reissue with the Vanilla tapes, the Clash/SONY have not treated their back cat. very well and this again is a missed opportunity to set that straight. Let's hope that they finally release a great live album soon. They were one of the best live bands in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Something About England..." - Sound System by THE CLASH (2013 Sony Box Set), 3 Dec 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound System ( NTSC ) Region 0 (Audio CD)
I'll openly admit to a wee tremble when this beauty got handed over by a relieved postman - his arms reverting back to normalcy. This thing is big and heavy and yet I love every mad over-the-top inch of it. There's a ton of info to get through so let's do the Armagideon Times, Badges and Dog Tags... Released September 2013 and featuring full involvement with the band - "Sound System" by THE CLASH is a multiple CD, DVD and Memorabilia Box Set on Sony 88725460002 (Barcode 887254600022) and features the following:

A beautiful and thoughtfully put together Box Set shaped like a Ghetto Blaster Radio (270 x 420 x 100mm) - and once you open the flip-top lid - it reveals each item has been carefully placed inside in a numerical order - their exact placing within laid out in detail in the 'Service Manual'. Here are the contents - numbered 1 to 22 (1 to 8 housed in hard card book sleeves):

1. The Clash CD (Newly Remastered by Tim Young and The Clash)
2. Give 'Em Enough Rope CD (Newly Remastered)
3. London Calling 2CD (Newly Remastered)
4. Sandinista! 3CD (Newly Remastered) [1 to 4 on the left side]
5. Combat Rock CD (Newly Remastered)
6. The Clash Extras 3CD (Newly Remastered)
7. The Clash DVD (Newly Remastered)
8. Service Manual (Hardback Book Sleeve Like The CDs) [5 to 8 on the right side]
9. Flightcase: 5 Badges and Dog Tags [centred between-and-dividing 1 to 8 CDs]
10. Flightcase: 3 DIY Stickers: 85 x 140mm [behind 1 to 4 CDs]
11. Flightcase: The Clash Paperback Book ("The Future Is Unwritten" - blank inside) [behind CDs 5 to 8]
12. The Clash Folder (contains 13 to 18 below)
13. The Armagideon Times Special Edition (36 Pages)
(Features written contributions from The Baker, Robin Banks, John Cooper Clarke, Johnny Green, Ray Jordan, Don Letts, Alex Michon, Chris Salewicz, Pennie Smith and Kosmo Vinyl. There are also essays from each member of the band - JOE STRUMMER, MICK ONES, PAUL SIMONON and TOPPER HEADON)
14. The Armagideon Times (Reprinted Fanzine - 24 Pages)
15. The Armagideon Times 2 (Reprinted fanzine - 24 Pages)
16. Bumper Sticker 88 x 297mm
17. Bumper Sticker 88 x 297mm
18. The Clash Vintage Sticker Set: 180 x 280mm (9 peelable stickers on one sheet)
19. Riser (Black & Yellow Card at the base of the box)
20. Poster Tube (Looks Like A Large Cigarette with a 'Clash' Filter Area)
21. Poster (15" x 15")
22. The Box Itself (inside Divider Has Number 22 on it)

Disc 1 - "The Clash" - 35:20 minutes:
1. Janie Jones
2. Remote Control
3. I'm So Bored With The U.S.A.
4. White Riot
5. Hate & War
6. What's My Name
7. Deny
8. London's Burning [Side 2]
9. Career Opportunities
10. Cheat
11. Protex Blue
12. Police & Thieves
13. 48 Hours
14. Garageland
Tracks 1 to 14 are their UK debut LP "The Clash" released April 1977 on CBS Records S CBS 82000 and August 1979 on Epic Records JE 36060 in the USA (with a Free 7" single containing "Groovy Times" and "Gates Of The West"). To sequence the USA 15-track version of their debut LP in remastered form - use the following tracks off Disc 1 and CD1 in the "Extras" 3-disc set [3/1] = Track 3 on Disc 1 etc:

1. Clash City Rockers [Track 8 - Disc 1 of 6 "Extras"]
2. I'm So Bored With The U.S.A. [3/1]
3. Remote Control [2/1]
4. Complete Control [Track 6 - Disc 1 of 6 "Extras"]
5. White Riot [4/1]
6. White Man In Hammersmith Palais [Track 10 - Disc 1 of 6 "Extras"]
7. London's Burning [8/1]
8. I Fought The Law [Track 15 - Disc 1 of 6 "Extras"]
9. Janie Jones [1/1] - Side 2
10. Career Opportunities [9/1]
11. What's My Name [6/1]
12. Hate & War [5/1]
13. Police & Thieves [12/1]
14. Jail Guitar Doors [Track 9 - Disc 1 of 6 "Extras"]
15. Garageland [14/1]
FREE SINGLE:
16. Groovy Times [Track 16 - Disc 1 of 6 "Extras"]
17. Gates Of The West [Track 17 - Disc 1 of 6 "Extras"]

Disc 2 - "Give 'Em Enough Rope" - 37:02 minutes:
1. Safe European Home
2. English Civil War
3. Tommy Gun
4. Julie's Been Working For The Drug Squad
5. Last Gang In Town
6. Guns On The Roof [Side 2]
7. Drug-Stabbing Time
8. Stay Free
9. Cheapskates
10. All The Young Punks (New Boots And Contracts)
Tracks 1 to 10 are their 2nd album "Give 'Em Enough Rope" - released October 1978 in the UK on CBS Records S CBS 82431 and February 1979 in the USA on Epic JE 35543

Disc 3 - "London Calling"
CD1 (33:37 minutes):
1. London Calling
2. Brand New Cadillac
3. Jimmy Jazz
4. Hateful
5. Rudie Can't Fail
6. Spanish Bombs [Side 2]
7. The Right Profile
8. Lost In The Supermarket
9. Clampdown
10. The Guns Of Brixton

CD2 (31:36 minutes):
1. Wrong 'Em Boyo [Side 3]
2. Death Or Glory
3. Koka Kola
4. The Card Cheat
5. Lover's Rock [Side 4]
6. Four Horsemen
7. I'm Not Down
8. Revolution Rock
9. Train In Vain
All 19-tracks are their 3rd album release - the double-LP "London Calling" released December 1979 in the UK on CBS Records CLASH 3. The track "Train In Vain" on the end of Side 2 was not listed on the sleeve of original copies even though it was on the album (the run-out groove gave you the name of the track). Released January 1980 in the USA on Epic E2 36328 as a 2LP set - initial copies were the same regarding "Train In Vain".

Disc 4 - "Sandinista!"
CD1 (45:42 minutes):
1. The Magnificent Seven [Side 1]
2. Hitsville U.K.
3. Junco Partner
4. Ivan Meets G.I. Joe
5. The Leader
6. Something About England
7. Rebel Waltz [Side 2]
8. Look Here
9. The Crooked Beat
10. Somebody Got Murdered
11. One More Time
12. One More Dub

CD2 (51:31 minutes)
1. Lightning Strikes (Not Once But Twice) [Side 3]
2. Up In Heaven (Not Only Here)
3. Corner Soul
4. Let's Go Crazy
5. If Music Could Talk
6. The Sound Of Sinners
7. Police On My Back [Side 4]
8. Midnight Log
9. The Equaliser
10. The Call Up
11. Washington Bullets
12. Broadway

CD 3 (47:32 minutes):
13. Lose This Skin [Side 5]
14. Charlie Don't Surf
15. Mensforth Hill
16. Junkie Slip
17. Kingston Advice
18. The Street Parade
19. Version City [Side 6]
20. Living In Fame
21. Silicone On Sapphire
22. Version Pardner
23. Career Opportunities
24. Shepherds Delight
All 36-tracks are the 3LP set "Sandinista!" - released December 1980 in the UK on CBS Records FSLN 1 and Epic E3X 37037 in the USA

Disc 5 - "Combat Rock" - 46:21 minutes:
1. Know Your Rights
2. Car Jamming
3. Should I Stay Or Should I Go
4. Rock The Casbah
5. Red Angel Dragnet
6. Straight To Hell
7. Overpowered By Funk [Side 2]
8. Atom Tan
9. Sean Flynn
10. Ghetto Defendant
11. Inoculated City
12. Death Is A Star
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "Combat Rock" - released May 1982 in the UK on CBS Records FMLN 2 and Epic FE 37689 in the USA

"Sound System Extras" (6)
CD1 (75:25 minutes):
1. White Riot (Single Version)
2. 1977 (B-side)
3. Listen (Capitol Radio EP) / Interviews (Capitol Radio EP) - 11:08 minutes
4. Capitol Radio (Capitol Radio EP)
5. London's Burning (Live B-side Remote Control)
6. Complete Control (Single Version)
7. City Of The Dead (B-side)
8. Clash City Rockers (Original Single Version)
9. Jail Guitar Doors (B-side)
10. White Man In Hammersmith Palais (A-side)
11. The Prisoner (B-side)
12. 1-2 Crush On You (B-side Tommy Gun)
13. Time Is Tight (Black Market Clash 10" LP)
14. Pressure Drop (B-side English Civil War)
15. I Fought The Law (Cost Of Living EP)
16. Groovy Times (Cost Of Living EP)
17. Gates Of The West (Cost Of Living EP)
18. Capitol Radio (Cost Of Living EP)
19. Armagideon Time (B-side London Calling)
20. Bank Robber (A-side)
21. Rockers Galore On A UK Tour (B-side)

CD2 (75:45 minutes):
1. Magnificent Dance (12" (Available On Singles Box Set)
2. Midnight To Stevens (Outtake)
3. Radio One (B-side Hitsville UK)
4. Stop The World (B-side The Call Up)
5. The Cool Out (US 12" B-side The Call Up)
6. This Is Radio Clash (A-side)
7. This Is Radio Clash (B-side 7" - Different Lyrics)
8. First Night Back In London (B-side Know Your Rights)
9. Rock The Casbah (Bob Clearmountain 12" Mix)
10. Long Time Jerk (B-side Rock The Casbah)
11. The Beautiful People Are Ugly Too (Outtake)
12. Idle In Kangaroo Court (Outtake listed as Kill Time)
13. Ghetto Defendant (Extended Version - Unedited - 6:14 minutes)
14. Cool Confusion (B-side Should I Stay Or Should I Go)
15. Sean Flynn (Extended 'Marcus Music' Version - 7:24 minutes)
16. Straight To Hell (Unedited Version from Clash On Broadway)

CD3 (35:16 minutes)
Extracts from The Clash's first ever recording session at Beaconsfield Film School 1976 - Recorded by Julian Temple
1. I'm So Bored With The U.S.A.
2. London's Burning
3. White Riot
4. 1977
Polydor Demos - The Clash's second recording session January 1977
5. Janie Jones
6. Career Opportunities
7. London's Burning
8. 1977
9.White Riot
Live At The Lyceum, London 28th December 1979
10. City Of The Dead
11. Jail Guitar Doors
12. English Civil War
13. Stay Free
14. Cheapskates
15. I Fought The Law

DVD, Region 0:
"Julien Temple Archive" - 6:20 minutes
"White Riot Promo Film" - 7:20 minutes
Promo and Interviews with Tony Parsons
1977
White Riot
London's Burning
"Sussex University 1977" - 8:25 minutes
I'm So Bored With The U.S.A.
Hate & War
Career Opportunities
Remote Control
"Don Letts Super 8 Medley" - 11:40 minutes
White Riot
Janie Jones
City Of The Dead
Clash City Rockers
White Man In Hammersmith Palais
1977
"Clash On Broadway" - 19:50 minutes
London Calling
This Is Radio Clash
The Magnificent Seven
Guns Of Brixton
Safe European Home
"Promo Videos"
Tommy Gun
London Calling
Bank Robber
Clampdown (Live)
Train In Vain (Live)
The Call Up
Rock The Casbah
Should I Stay Or Should I Go (Live At Shea Stadium)
Career Opportunities (Live At Shea Stadium)

The detachable card list on the rear falls away easily so I simply store it inside with the 'folder' in the rear pouch. Quite apart from the sheer visual and tactile whack of this thing - the big news for fans is brand new remasters from first generation tapes by TIM YOUNG in conjunction with the band at Metropolis Studios in London. We should talk about the REMASTERS because they're fabulous. Tim Young's notes in the "Extras" 3-disc set explain that "Rope" has had the first generation tapes used for the first time to his knowledge - so I immediately went to my favourite track "Guns On The Roof" - and WOW is the only appropriate response. It sounds just incredible with all that guitar power you always thought was buried in the mix somewhere now to the fore. "Drug-Stabbing Time" and "Stay Free" are even better - leaping out of your speakers with renewed venom.

"London Calling" is like a different animal ("Jimmy Jazz", "Death Or Glory" and "Train In Vain" are unbelievably good with "Train" running out longer by about five seconds) - but to my ears "Sandinista!" feels the least improved. It's definitely clearer on the bass and rhythm section ("The Magnificent Seven" and "The Call Up" and Timon Dogg'svocal on "Lose This Skin") but the differences are not as stark as the first 3 LPs - they're just subtler. Despite the sprawl of "Sandinista!" - I've always loved it precisely because its like "The White Album" or "Exile On Main St." or "Physical Graffiti" - you can dip into it and still seemingly find something new every time. The choral brass arrangements at the beginning of "Somewhere In England" is now gorgeous while the game-machine noises on "Ivan Meets G.I. Joe" are even more manic. "Somebody Got Murdered" and their take on Eddy Grant's "Police On My Back" are much improved - ballsy as they should be. Back to "London Calling" and I'm impressed with "Lost In The Supermarket" and "Brand New Cadillac" - comparing them against my 1999 versions - there's more going on with the high hats, drums and bass. And that Rock 'n' Roll guitar as "Brand New Cadillac" begins punches way above its former weight now. I also love the way each of the CDs has their original vinyl bits reproduced - the "Armagideon Times" for "Sandinista!", the inner sleeves of "London Calling" made into one fold-out lyric poster - the inner and poster of "Combat Rock" combined in the same way - and all the CDs are black like vinyl LPs. The driving backbeat behind "Combat Rock's" Side 2 standout "Overpowered By Funk" is a little improved but I can't say I hear much difference in "Should I Stay Or Should I Go".

I own the Singles Box Set on CD so I compared the remasters and again the "Extras" versions are far superior - that guitar into on "Clash City Rocker" and distant Strummer vocal are better - and the balls of "I Fought The Law" is truly fantastic (a cover of an old Bobby Fuller Four hit). And my favorite B-side ever - their genius take on Willie Williams reggae tune "Armagideon Time" sounds like its going to do your speakers harm. That amazing bass and percussive beginning of "The Magnificent Dance" (the 12" remix) has jaw-dropping sound quality as does the US 12" B-side "The Cool Out" (an instrumental version of "The Call Up") - both with meaty rhythm sections. The early Polydor demos show a band getting there and the expert Glyn Johns produced that amateur feel out of the first album. I'm not sure I like them having loved the originals for all these years. Other disappointments include the outtakes on Disc 2 like "The Beautiful People..." and "Kangaroo Court" which are wholly dismissible and "Sean Flynn" has huge hiss levels on it. But I'm glad to see that Metropolis again mastered the DVD because the picture quality on the Don Letts and Clash On Broadway segments is brill (you get a sense of their danger live).

To sum up - "The Last Gang In Town" and "The Only Band That Ever Mattered" - there's been an awful lot of knob written about The Clash across the years (what about the Ramones, The Pistols or even Television) - and "Sound System" conveniently exorcises out the infamous and horrible end of "Cut The Crap" in 1985. You could also argue that you'd be better off just spending twenty quid on the simpler "5 Studio Albums Box Set" released in tandem with this - but I'd say if ever a band deserved this kind of over-the-top celebration - then England's heroes The Clash are the boys. And when you think of how EMI has consistently cheaped-out Stranglers fans with card sleeves and little else - thank God Sony stumped up. I love the care and attention that went into "Sound System". So there you have it - all those old bits spangly new again and presented to us in a fabulous setting.

Tim Young has described remastering The Clash's six years of output as a 'labour of love'. Well - while the future may indeed be unwritten - I suspect his brilliant work here (in conjunction with surviving members of the band) will be written about for decades to come. Well done and Career Opportunities to all involved...

PS: as of December 2014 - Amazon's price has fallen from over eighty to sixty four quid - perfect gift territory for the Clash City Rocker in your life...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crap Has Been Cut., 10 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. R. C. Neil "spirit of vambo" (Prestwick Ayrshie) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound System ( NTSC ) Region 0 (Audio CD)
The Clash were a great band and there legacy will live on.
This box set is testament to a diverse and talented group. They were not afraid to dip their toes in various musical styles. This introduced a whole generation to punk,reggae,rockabilly,dub and many others.
The set itself is very lavish and the remasters sound crystal clear.
My only gripe that it should have included "The Vanilla Tapes" and "Cut The Crap". I know "Cut The Crap" is quite a poor album but as a reference point of how a label try to trade on a name once all the major players but one have gone it is vital.I guess Sony wanted only the best stuff here and The Clash's cool image not to be tainted.
Don't get me wrong The Clash are great and the five stunning albums in this set should be in every collection. The booklets and posters are of fine quality but the big selling point should be the three cd's of extras and the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lush but............, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound System ( NTSC ) Region 0 (Audio CD)
The tragedy of being a middle man who loves The Clash - I have all this stuff but not as well presented or as tidy.
It is brilliantly put together set and a wonderful excuse to go down memory lane.
I accept what the hardcore fans might say about value for money but for me it's nostalgia personified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great remaster, great packaging..., 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound System ( NTSC ) Region 0 (Audio CD)
The remaster sounds quite significantly better than The Clash on Broadway - and you can't help feeling that this is how it was all meant to sound, both the early singles and first album, and Give Em Enough Rope and on through Sandanista - it all sounds recognisably the work of the same band - and it pretty much all sounds brilliant.

The packaging is also very impressive - lots of thought must have gone into this and the CDs themselves look like the high quality objects they should be.

My only quibble would be with the selection of the extras disc. This (mostly) plays well as a listening experience (though clearly the interview that is track three on the first disc will only repay a small number of playings) but perhaps the price is that it isn't comprehensive. Particularly, it does not include everything that was on The Clash On Broadway. (Nor of course does it include the interesting written material that accompanied that set).

Still, I have not for one moment regretted the (quite high) purchase price as I have listened to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most influential bands of all time, now with amazing sound., 26 Sep 2013
By 
G. Wilson "oufc_gav1986" (Oxford, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound System (MP3 Download)
One of the best remasters around, done by the surviving members of the band so you know its what they want you to hear.
The clarity and power of the sound is actually quite odd to start with, having only had some quite tinny mixes on previous digital releases so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Box of delights, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound System ( NTSC ) Region 0 (Audio CD)
Apart from the pure joy of this boxed set, by preordering it, I paid £77.00, a real bargain as far as I'm concerned. Anyway, on to Sound System itself. It's a beautifully presented set and it's quite clear a lot of thought has gone into it. Considering everything you get in the set, one could be forgiven that it would be quite flimsy. Not at all, it's well designed, well built and well presented. Of course, the most important thing is the music and let me tell you, the CDs are magnificent. The sound quality is great and was well worth buying them (again). A truly wonderful present to myself and I still believe The Clash are the best rock 'n' roll band of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sound System ( NTSC ) Region 0
Sound System ( NTSC ) Region 0 by The Clash (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews