Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beth Orton - Remerges from "the sweetest decline"
What is known as the Sugaring Season runs in the US state of Vermont from around March to mid-April. It is when producers all around the state collect maple sap and boil it down to the sweet sticky syrup. It is the same maple trees that lead to that stunning sweep of colour in the vibrant fall foliage. Beth Orton's new album seems to combines both events. It is very much...
Published on 1 Oct. 2012 by Red on Black

versus
8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry Beth, this lacks spark and borders on self indulgence
I'm a big fan of Beth Orton, have seen here live and on a whole love her work, but this album is disappointing.

A review below claims a return to her second album Central Reservation but nothing on Sugaring Season has the gusto of Stolen Car or the haunting magic of the title track Central Reservation. If anything it's a return to her first album Trailer Park...
Published on 9 Oct. 2012 by Peak Hunter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - and different, 4 Oct. 2012
By 
T. Bell "Picture book lover" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugaring Season (Audio CD)
This is beautiful, brilliant, and a vast move forward from her last. I just love it. Her voice is as versatile and distinctive as ever. The songs are varied but so different and unique, and the gentle accompaniments are sensitively done and weave around her vocals.

My favourite track at the moment is 'Call me the breeze' because of the rhythm and overall pulsating sound, but I keep changing to another favourite track the more I hear it!

I could ramble on, but my best advice would be - just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugaring Season (Audio CD)
Others have written plenty so i shan't add to that much other than to say this is a beautiful album, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth Orton, 28 Jun. 2013
By 
P. A. Cashin (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugaring Season (Audio CD)
Bought this for the Mrs and she reckons its her best. When I hear it in passing I like it. Sounds crafted and smooth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Talented musician, 28 May 2013
By 
R. J. Fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugaring Season (Audio CD)
This album features some interesting songs - very thought provoking words - I like her style and shall look out for more of her albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My husband says it's great!, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugaring Season (Audio CD)
Present for my husband, has an old Beth Orton album, taken him a while to listen to it, he loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful record, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugaring Season [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Beth Orton just gets better & better..A beautiful record full of well crafted songs..sometimes her voice aches! It's rare these days to get a whole album that moves you from start to finish. Looking forward to her next offering already, thanx Beth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugaring Season (Audio CD)
A marvellous album.
Mature, brave, beautifully produced, good use of collaborations.
An artist I will definitely be following from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Please, please Ignore the 1 star review!, 27 Nov. 2012
By 
D Newton (Thurrock, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sugaring Season (Audio CD)
Firstly this is very definitely NOT a 1 star album by any stretch of the imagination, the reviewer below was commenting on changes to Amazons mp3 download system - so really not fair to potentially affect the sales of what is actually a very good return to the limelight by a much loved artist.

Whilst it may lack the immediacy of the catchy electro-folk-pop of Trailer park or central reservation, this certainly is a an album of beautiful songs which will really grow on you after several listens,as it has me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 15 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sugaring Season (Audio CD)
Beth Ortons Greatest Album To Date.I have all including the Japan album, and this is themost complete Orton album to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and brilliant, 11 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spoilt for choice at the moment. New albums by Beth Orton and Neil Young. As always Beth has produced a great album. The deluxe edition is worth the extra money for "That summer feeling" alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sugaring Season
Sugaring Season by Beth Orton (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews