Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part at 77, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Cd is an excellent catch up of where Part is at the moment (although the two Lullabies were recorded some years ago). The performances of the music are good, emotional without sentimentality, and Adam's Lament in particular shows a certain robustness that is not always the main feature of what one might think of as Part's work. A great listen and worth adding to your Part collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired Music, Excellent recording, 7 Dec 2012
By 
M. J. O'Connor "Gwyrioneth" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam's Lament (Audio CD)
Atmospheric modern music that feels 1000 years old and has huge spirituality. Highly recommended. Try also Part's wonderful Te Deum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Crispin Muir - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam's Lament (Audio CD)
very uplifting and has continued my love affair with Arvo Part. he is a great composer and his music always moves me and is great to contemplate life to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arvo Pärt never fails, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam's Lament (Audio CD)
Fans of Arvo Pärt will not be disappointed. All his religion-inspired compositions express an unquestionable sincerity. "Adam's Lament" starts with the choir at full forte with minimal built up, giving anuncomfortable impression that one has started in the middle of the piece. But I keep coming back to "Beatus Petronius" (Track 2) and "L'Abbé Agathon" (Track 6) with delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arvo Part on top form, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam's Lament (Audio CD)
If you love Arvo Part, you'll love this. The title piece actually is somewhat more lively than much of his recent stuff, but all the spiritual intensity is there as ever. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paradise lost in music, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam's Lament (Audio CD)
only arvo part manages to take a complext prose poem and put it to music that sounds simple though it ofcourse is not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 2 Feb 2013
By 
W. Osborne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam's Lament (Audio CD)
Another superb recording of music by the great Arvo Part. I would recommend it to people who have other Part recordings or are new to him as a composer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A review of Arvo Part's: Adam's lament, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam's Lament (Audio CD)
You can read my recent review of Arvo Part's 'Adam's lament' on my blog page. Please go to: caravajo.wordpress.com

but for the moment, just to say, I would greatly recommend this magnificent work by Arvo Part. It is one of the most moving pieces of music I've heard for many years.
Angel Merisi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars present, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adam's Lament (Audio CD)
bought as a present for my brother-in-law he says that it is very good and thanks both you and me for it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa294d08)

This product

Adam's Lament
Adam's Lament by Arvo Part (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews