Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Companion to royal road.
have a look at the reviews of "royal road to card magic". On the back of it's (my) cover is this book, explained as a companion. this is where I feel the first review is a little harsh. This book encyclopedia of card tricks is meant to be a compnaion to royal road, "not a subtitute or replacement for it". Get royal road, and learn the skills and some tricks. then get this...
Published on 20 Jan 2005 by Dave

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not live up to expectations
The book contains many tricks, but that is as far as it goes.
The tricks are described in no more than one page and the tricks provided are very simplistic with many tricks being repeated with just different patter etc.
This book is not for the proffessional, as it claims to be, and is to hurried for the beginner. Other books would do more justice and provide a...
Published on 31 Dec 2001 by L. Howard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Companion to royal road., 20 Jan 2005
By 
Dave (Morecambe, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
have a look at the reviews of "royal road to card magic". On the back of it's (my) cover is this book, explained as a companion. this is where I feel the first review is a little harsh. This book encyclopedia of card tricks is meant to be a compnaion to royal road, "not a subtitute or replacement for it". Get royal road, and learn the skills and some tricks. then get this and learn some more.
Royal road is the best card book you can get, this is the companion to it, with more of the same.
'Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not live up to expectations, 31 Dec 2001
The book contains many tricks, but that is as far as it goes.
The tricks are described in no more than one page and the tricks provided are very simplistic with many tricks being repeated with just different patter etc.
This book is not for the proffessional, as it claims to be, and is to hurried for the beginner. Other books would do more justice and provide a better magic experience.
There are people who suggest this is the best card book out there, i would disagree strongly, as a magician of 9 years experience. I suggest that many other books, royal road to card magic: expert at the card table: Annemans card technique would be of far more value.
The book is only useful for those with Mene Tekel decks,and if you dont know what that is its not worth knowing, other than that avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down, 16 April 2007
By 
Mr. Sa Fisk (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
luckily i had bought the royal road to card magic first and this to learn some new tricks.

DO NOT buy this as your first book on card conjuring. The sleights are not explained in depth enough and will leave you confused and unable to perform the majority of the tricks.

Even having mastered basic manipulation of the deck the book isn't that good. If you search through the book you can pick out a few good ones but you will have to search.

Buy the royal road to card magic instead it is all round a better book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great book but where are the pics?, 5 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This is a great card trick book with some amazing tricks that everyone should be able to do with a bit of practice. The only thing that lets it down is the lack of illustrations, well actually there are none. This makes some of the tricks really difficult to pull off. Worth a look though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for anyone who loves card magic, 25 Jun 1998
By A Customer
Excellent book for principles on card tricks. Jean goes through the tricks step-by-step so that they are easy to understand. Once you have done some of the tricks you will be able to use those tricks to perform your own tricks. I have learned tricks that I have never thought were possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!!!!!, 26 Nov 1998
By A Customer
I bought this book some 22yrs ago for about $10.00. This is an excellent book for not just the beginner, but for the professional also. The book is well written and easy to understand. I worked at the Disneyland Magic Shop for some 10yrs and recommended this book many times.
I own a Magic Shop now and this is one of the many books that I carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Feb 2013
Didn't actually buy this I found it for free on a blog ([...])
but seriously, it's one of the best card trick books, it's got all the basic tricks you need which is good because you can actually start to develop your own tricks once you've mastered certain sleights .etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's an encyclopaedia, not a "teach-yourself" book, 20 July 2011
Like the title suggests, this is an encyclopaedia. It's full of references to famous magicians so people who are interested in the history of magic might find this interesting.

The illustrations and descriptions are OK. The routines and patter described are pretty old fashioned - you might find a few ideas in here you hadn't thought of, but more up-to-date DVDs or instant downloads from the various magic websites are better for "punchier" tricks and routines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopedia of Card Tricks, 7 Oct 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This republication of the 1937 edition is still to the point today. This book contains over 600 card tricks. There are sections for using normal decks as well as trick decks. I have been performing illusions for years, and I haev found this book to be useful. Explains how to set-up and perform each trick in an easy to understand manner. If you wish to do Card magic, this is the only book you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Abbate's review, 21 Feb 1997
By A Customer
This is an excellent book for all skill levels. It
teaches everything from easy-to-do tricks to sleights including palming and the glide
in a very understandable manner. It also explains tricks
with special packs in addition to tricks with an ordinary
deck of cards. Over 600 tricks in all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews