Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars47
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 January 2011
This is indeed an anthology of 100 best - loved poems! We all have favorite poems and an anthology can sometimes be a bit disappointing, not because it does not include great poems, but because we don't all agree which poems are the best of each poet's work. Luckily, in this anthology I was fortunate to find some of my favorite poems.

The collection includes poems by the most famous, but also by lesser known poets and thus it provides a good understanding of the poetry genre and the way it has evolved from the middle ages to the 20th century. The poets are arranged chronologically and the anthology includes one or more poems by each poet, representative of his work and time. Also, there is a brief introduction for each poet, which provides basic information about each poet's time and work.

This great anthology includes poems by Christopher Marlowe, William Shakespeare, John Donne, John Milton, William Blake, Leigh Hunt, Lord Byron, Percy Bysshe Shelley, John Keats, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Edgar Allan Poe, Alfred Lord Tennyson, Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson, Cristina Rossetti, Lewis Carroll, Robert Louis Stevenson, W. B. Yeats, Edna St. Vincent Millay, W. H. Auden and Dylan Thomas, to name just a few. In addition this little book includes an Alphabetical List of Titles and an Alphabetical List of First Lines.

In total, a great anthology for anyone interested in English poetry and at an excellent price!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
This is a collection of poems that so many of us (well, myself, certainly) seem to recognise from the first few lines but rarely take the time to read in full. For me there were a few unfamiliar discoveries as well, but it's basically a "greatest hits" of classic poetry. If you aren't bothered about substantial bigraphies of the poets, or commentary on the poems (you can always look up further information on the internet), then this is a rewarding anthology either to dip into at random, or to seek out a particular half-remembered poem. Dover Thrift are generally excellent value for money, too.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
I liked most of the poems but the layout was bizarre on the kindle, with huge gaps in places and other lines crammed together. There is no navigation for the kindle, so you can't click on the title in the index and go to a specific poem. I thought the introductory comments about the authors were interesting but obtrusive and would have preferred them to be at the beginning or end rather than in front of each poem.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
It's a good selection but the kindle version is very poor with no spacing sorted out so that poems are split between pages...final line dangling on to next page, etc., some poems with wide line spacing...certainly not looking as the poems were written. Disappointing.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2003
The poetry in this book covers a period from the middle ages to modern times and is arranged in order of date.You will find well known names such as Tennyson, Wordsworth, Keats and others.
That said, I was surprised at how many of the poems I had never read or heard of before although this is called '100 best loved poems'. Some of the poems are quite obscure.
There are the odd familiar ones such as Wordsworth's 'Daffodils' or Tennyson's 'Charge of the Light Brigade' but if you are looking for a book to brush up on all those 'snippets' of poetry you may remember from school days this probably isn't the book for you.
That said, it is a very low price for a collection of poems and if you do want something a little different then at this price it may be worth adding to your bookshelf.
0Comment|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Nothing much wrong with the anthology - can't expect to like everything - but, despite playing around with the font size ++, found that the top of each page on the kindle accessed the menu bar and not the desired poem placed there. This is why I'd say don't buy it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
Maybe I just don't like poetry. I bought this to while away a long train journey, hoping I could dip in and out. There are some familiar poems from well-known poets you probably studied at school, and some eclectic poets you've probably never heard of. But what frustrated me most about this book is introductions to authors along the lines of "Poet X is most well known for poems Y and Z. Below are two of their other poems...". But I want to read their "best-loved" poems that you've left out, not the other ones!! Grr!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I would love to give this 5 stars, the content deserves it. An excellent choice of wonderful poetry, well thought out. But, what lets it down massively is the spacing, the layout and the overall presentation of the content. Some are double spaced, some are single spaced, there's no break between some of the poems. I'm a publisher of poetry and it's really worth taking the time to lay it out properly as it can make or break the entire reading experience. If I could split it, content, 5 stars without a doubt, layout, 1. So sorry but it has the feel of a book that was produced in a terrible rush and seems unprofessional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
A wonderful selection of poems. Some are new to me - others feels like old friends that act as triggers to important episodes in my life.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
This book was very helpful for extra reading for my English Literature A Level, as it included a lot of poets and Romantic poets that I knew would be ones that the examiners would choose to put on the exam. I'm not a huge fan of reading poetry recreationaly, but this has such a variety of poets/poems that I will probably read it in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse