Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT ANTHOLOGY!!!
This is indeed an anthology of 100 best - loved poems! We all have favorite poems and an anthology can sometimes be a bit disappointing, not because it does not include great poems, but because we don't all agree which poems are the best of each poet's work. Luckily, in this anthology I was fortunate to find some of my favorite poems.

The collection includes...
Published on 19 Jan. 2011 by Eleni

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for kindle
I liked most of the poems but the layout was bizarre on the kindle, with huge gaps in places and other lines crammed together. There is no navigation for the kindle, so you can't click on the title in the index and go to a specific poem. I thought the introductory comments about the authors were interesting but obtrusive and would have preferred them to be at the...
Published 18 months ago by Debbie Matthews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Who was Right ?, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good selection. Many of my favorites here
Pleased to see Marlowe listed as the author of The Passionate Shepherd to his love. 60 years ago I was told by a friend I was wrong in attributing this poem to Marlowe. He said Shakespeare wrote it . Now I see it in The Sonnets and Narrative Poems of William Shakespeare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poems fine, Format poor, 7 April 2014
By 
S. E. Sewell (Bridgend UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
No problem at all with the actual poems, but there is no way of locating a specific poem - you have to wade through page by page until you find it. I know that you read a novel form page 1 to the end, but surely with a book of poems there should be a table of contents that you can then click on to locate the poem you want to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars good poems. strangely formatted., 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Not sure if its just because I downloaded this to a non kindle tablet but the formatting is really strange which makes it hard to enjoy. I haven't had problems with any other kindle downloads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Page layout destroyed much of the verse, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
I knew all but 4 of the poems , but even then found them extremely difficult and "choppy"reading due to the way they are set on the page. Disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 25 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable compilation of poems. Some where known to me and others not. A nice book to while away the time with a hot chocolate on rainy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Emotional, sentimental, inspiring and beautiful. It gives insight in to some of the most popular and inspiring poems for a general reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
This book gives a taste of that crap that at school we all thought was a waste of time but as the years go on you wonder why. I have come to to love good poetry but for every good poem there are five bad ones. This book for me is a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars poems, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
I like poems I like it when the words match it is a good book.i read a lot I like it because you can make the print bigger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poems on the go, 11 Jan. 2014
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Tried and tested poems, good for first timer to dip into, bought this for my Kindle which is ideal for poems on the move..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version purchased, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
I'm currently working my way through this book on my Kindle for PC. So far so good and I don't expect to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews