Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT ANTHOLOGY!!!
This is indeed an anthology of 100 best - loved poems! We all have favorite poems and an anthology can sometimes be a bit disappointing, not because it does not include great poems, but because we don't all agree which poems are the best of each poet's work. Luckily, in this anthology I was fortunate to find some of my favorite poems.

The collection includes...
Published on 19 Jan 2011 by Eleni

versus
49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
The poetry in this book covers a period from the middle ages to modern times and is arranged in order of date.You will find well known names such as Tennyson, Wordsworth, Keats and others.
That said, I was surprised at how many of the poems I had never read or heard of before although this is called '100 best loved poems'. Some of the poems are quite obscure...
Published on 4 Mar 2003 by Ms. H. Sinton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT ANTHOLOGY!!!, 19 Jan 2011
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is indeed an anthology of 100 best - loved poems! We all have favorite poems and an anthology can sometimes be a bit disappointing, not because it does not include great poems, but because we don't all agree which poems are the best of each poet's work. Luckily, in this anthology I was fortunate to find some of my favorite poems.

The collection includes poems by the most famous, but also by lesser known poets and thus it provides a good understanding of the poetry genre and the way it has evolved from the middle ages to the 20th century. The poets are arranged chronologically and the anthology includes one or more poems by each poet, representative of his work and time. Also, there is a brief introduction for each poet, which provides basic information about each poet's time and work.

This great anthology includes poems by Christopher Marlowe, William Shakespeare, John Donne, John Milton, William Blake, Leigh Hunt, Lord Byron, Percy Bysshe Shelley, John Keats, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Edgar Allan Poe, Alfred Lord Tennyson, Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson, Cristina Rossetti, Lewis Carroll, Robert Louis Stevenson, W. B. Yeats, Edna St. Vincent Millay, W. H. Auden and Dylan Thomas, to name just a few. In addition this little book includes an Alphabetical List of Titles and an Alphabetical List of First Lines.

In total, a great anthology for anyone interested in English poetry and at an excellent price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No frills, excellent vaue., 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a collection of poems that so many of us (well, myself, certainly) seem to recognise from the first few lines but rarely take the time to read in full. For me there were a few unfamiliar discoveries as well, but it's basically a "greatest hits" of classic poetry. If you aren't bothered about substantial bigraphies of the poets, or commentary on the poems (you can always look up further information on the internet), then this is a rewarding anthology either to dip into at random, or to seek out a particular half-remembered poem. Dover Thrift are generally excellent value for money, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 4 Mar 2003
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The poetry in this book covers a period from the middle ages to modern times and is arranged in order of date.You will find well known names such as Tennyson, Wordsworth, Keats and others.
That said, I was surprised at how many of the poems I had never read or heard of before although this is called '100 best loved poems'. Some of the poems are quite obscure.
There are the odd familiar ones such as Wordsworth's 'Daffodils' or Tennyson's 'Charge of the Light Brigade' but if you are looking for a book to brush up on all those 'snippets' of poetry you may remember from school days this probably isn't the book for you.
That said, it is a very low price for a collection of poems and if you do want something a little different then at this price it may be worth adding to your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't make you fall in love with poetry, 19 Jan 2014
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Maybe I just don't like poetry. I bought this to while away a long train journey, hoping I could dip in and out. There are some familiar poems from well-known poets you probably studied at school, and some eclectic poets you've probably never heard of. But what frustrated me most about this book is introductions to authors along the lines of "Poet X is most well known for poems Y and Z. Below are two of their other poems...". But I want to read their "best-loved" poems that you've left out, not the other ones!! Grr!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for kindle, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
I liked most of the poems but the layout was bizarre on the kindle, with huge gaps in places and other lines crammed together. There is no navigation for the kindle, so you can't click on the title in the index and go to a specific poem. I thought the introductory comments about the authors were interesting but obtrusive and would have preferred them to be at the beginning or end rather than in front of each poem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful selection of poems. Some are new to me - others feels like old friends that act as triggers to important episodes in my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poems fine, Format poor, 7 April 2014
By 
S. E. Sewell (Bridgend UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
No problem at all with the actual poems, but there is no way of locating a specific poem - you have to wade through page by page until you find it. I know that you read a novel form page 1 to the end, but surely with a book of poems there should be a table of contents that you can then click on to locate the poem you want to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Try accessing this one, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Nothing much wrong with the anthology - can't expect to like everything - but, despite playing around with the font size ++, found that the top of each page on the kindle accessed the menu bar and not the desired poem placed there. This is why I'd say don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poems to take with you., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
A good selection of poems to pick up and glance through as and when you will or wherever you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Best Loved Poems., 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best-Loved Poems (Dover Thrift Editions) (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who loves to read poetry cannot but be more than pleased to read again and refresh their memory of these poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab9e366c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews