Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surviving Baby Books
In the intro to this book Hollie Smith says that her 'advice is rarely definitive or prescriptive: there's a good reason for that, all babies are different, and so are all mums.' This book continues in this tone, it's friendly and includes loads of comments from other mums with very varied experiences, which is enormously reassuring. It covers all the key stages of life...
Published on 23 Aug. 2012 by P. Lomax

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Not a bad book I suppose but nothing great either. The book covers a number of topics relevant to the mother of a new born but even so, its still worth reading for a dad. Problem for me is a lot of the "Advice" Mostly coming from women who have experienced the same thing.

A lot of it feels like one of those self help books rather than what presumably its...
Published 21 months ago by Gogol


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surviving Baby Books, 23 Aug. 2012
By 
P. Lomax - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the intro to this book Hollie Smith says that her 'advice is rarely definitive or prescriptive: there's a good reason for that, all babies are different, and so are all mums.' This book continues in this tone, it's friendly and includes loads of comments from other mums with very varied experiences, which is enormously reassuring. It covers all the key stages of life for the first year with a newborn (for them, sleeping, feeding, health and safety and for you, what's necessary to buy and how to remain happy and healthy)alongside lots of options for dealing with these. There are plenty of organisations and groups listed in the text to go to for extra help or shopping, and there's a 'useful contacts' section in the back that extends this. Although there are dozens of instruction guides for aspects of baby care- like weaning- these are often rather specific and sometimes unsympathetic. Having all this practical information in one place in a non-judgemental way really addresses your worries as a first time mum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars supportive, not dictatorial, 10 Nov. 2012
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was happily surprised by this book, usually they tend to be somewhat condescending towards mothers and mothers-to-be, this book is definitely not.

It is split into 3 main parts:

1 - starting out
2 - your baby
3 - being mum

Each of these 3 areas is the subdivided:

1
- what to buy for your baby - looking at the essentials you will need pre birth and during birth
- the early weeks - looking at items you may want to consider

2
- basic babycare
- feeding
- sleep
- development
- health and safety

3
- your body after birth
- emotional wellbeing
- love and sex
- going back to work

.
Each section gives you ideas for things that you might want to consider without being overly preachy, demanding or commandeering. Lets be honest there are far too many of these books which will tell you what to do and when to do it by, and then tell you that if you or your baby aren't at the "goal level" then there is something wrong with you or your baby. These books usually culminate in telling you that you are a bad mother. Please ignore them. This book avoids that.

There is no strict timetable for your child to be walking, talking, etc. Every child develops at its own rate, even identical twins, so don't panic if your child isn't speaking latin by 6 months old!

This is a book that is not just restricted to the new mum, but can also be used by the father of the child, aunts, uncles, godparents, etc, especially the sleeping, feeding sections, etc.

Our author, Hollie Smith, acknowledges all the way through the book that every woman's experience will be different, because every woman is different and so is every child - and that is so refreshing. I much prefer this approach to the one size-fits-all type help book.

I found that the best source of information for things like this is my family, but if you can't, or don't want to, ask them then I can recommend this book for your consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful for new mums, 26 Aug. 2012
I read this book just before giving birth to my first child and was really suprised how much reassurance I got from it. While it gives you lots of practical information you would expect, it's also written in a very supportive and friendly tone that makes the prospect of becoming a mum, and looking after a baby, that bit less scary.

I am really glad I read this before I had my baby, and I have referred back to it since she has been born, dipping in for specific issues/worries. I would defiinitely reccommend this book to a friend who is going to become a mum for the first time as the infomration provided is well laid out, sensible and balanced. There's no judgement or harshness you can get from some books. It made me feel much more confident, and helped me deal with the inevitable ups and downs of motherhood very realistically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for first time Dads too...., 27 May 2013
By 
A. Miles (Al Khor, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm shortly to be a first time Dad, and quickly gave upon books aimed at me, finding them patronising at best. (Publishers please note: not every man on the planet is exclusively interested in lager and football, and a fair few of us do know our way around at least a couple of everyday domestic appliances) But I digress: This is a very comprehensive, but never prescriptive, reference on what do expect and ways to cope with it, and as such is highly recommended. Very useful both for my wife and myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Point Of Reference & Guide, 16 May 2013
By 
North of England Way (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a first time father I got this book for my wife. During pregnancy here bible was 'What To Expect When Your Expecting' so I figured that it would be great for her to have a point of reference during what people often refer to as "the difficult first year".
Straight away it is easy to see that this book will be worth its weight in gold; on our first few nights home with the little man we had more questions than answers and this book proved to be a great point of reference for my wife as we ventured through what will probably be our most testing time as first time parents. But the book goes well beyond the first night support, detailing what to expect at every stage, both in terms of the baby's development, and also the mother's reaction post-birth emotionally and physically.

It is also worth noting that this book offers ideal preparation for the weeks leading up to birth, telling you the basics that you need in the house, and generally preparing you for what is to come when you bring your baby home.

They say that the first few months of your baby's life are the most testing, and that it is hard to raise a child without the right support network, and this book has slotted in along side family, friends and healthcare professionals in offering ideal support through what can be a very emotional, stressful and demanding time.

If like us you are as excited as you are confused about raising a child, this book really does offer invaluable advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First-time Mum: Surviving and enjoying your baby's first year, 13 Nov. 2012
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have just finished reading this book and boy do I wish I had had this book eight months ago or even better whilst I was still pregnant. The book is jam packed with useful advice that we unfortunately have had to learn sometimes the hard way but more often than not by trial and error. A lot of the information in the book was now not really relevant to me as my son is eight months old but I did still manage to glean quite a few useful titbits and advice especially in regard to the going back to work section as that unfortunately will be my next step:(!

The book is split into three main sections as follows:
Part One: Starting Out
1. What to buy for your baby
2. The early weeks
Part Two: Your baby
3. Basic babycare
4. Feeding
5. Sleep
6. Development
7. Health & Safety
Part Three: Being a Mum
8. Your body after birth
9. Emotional well-being
10. Love and sex
11. Going back to work

The book is also suggestive and helpful rather than setting firm rules for everything which I thought made it a lot nicer to read and actually more helpful than the several I have read where they are "You must do this, you should be doing that". I personally believe that this book is more likely for your child's first six months rather than year as a lot of what you need to know and learn is probably done in the first six months, after this time you're a bit old hat at everything! I shall certainly be suggesting this book to a few of my friends when they are having their first children and the only negative I can really say about the book is that I didn't manage to read it earlier when I could have really used the advice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 13 Nov. 2012
By 
Susman "Susman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a most useful and well thought out book, that would I suppose is important not only for first time Mums but also those Mothers going for their second child. There is lots of practical information, and the writing is done in modest and supportive tone. It does not preach at you but rather gives you a sense of understanding - it drives out those lingering uncertainties and gives the Mother to be the prospect of looking after her child that much less daunting.

This book gives confidence, but is also realistic in its outlook; there are no judgement calls, while the book initial deals with the baby the later part deals with the mother and such topics as postnatal depression, body image and overall the building up of confidence in the new mother. While bringing a child in to the world should be a joyful experience the reality is somewhat different with the mother undergoing a mixed bag of emotions both positive and negative, this book is designed to help but make no assumptions or judgements. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An honest, open, and down-to-earth book taking you through those early stages of being a mum, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The 'First-time Mum: Surviving and Enjoying Your Baby's First Year' book is a handy and easy-to-follow guide to coping with your first child for new mums.

The first point that should really be made is to get the book early on. It has a lot about preparing for the arrival along with information on the very early days of your pregnancy. What's particularly helpful is the 'What To Buy For Baby' section, which really goes into detail and pretty much lists everything that you may need (or should at least think about getting) with reasons and explanations for each.

Throughout the book, every section has a 'Mums Panel Round Up' which provides the reader with six different mums' opinion and advice on that particular topic - offering up quick and straight-to-the-point one-sentence-long experiences, which almost always shows the wide variations in what they have each experienced. This really just illustrates perfectly how every mum and every baby is different - so best thing to do is take all the advice in, but it may not all necessarily apply to you. And to be honest, this is very refreshing to see an 'advice guide' admitting, and it gives a very real-life and personal view to go along with all the factually based information.

Following the preparation, the next section that particularly stands out from the book is the honest, open, non-judgmental and altogether reassuring section on breastfeeding and bottle-feeding. Here, the book carefully sits on the fence, whilst discussing the pros and cons of both.

Further on the book covers some very important and worthy topics such as 'the baby blues', vaccinations, poo problems etc. For a lot of the issues which go with being the mum of a new-born, the book offers common-sense tips, like what to have to hand when changing nappies and the like. The book also provides a fair amount of factual health guidelines / advice which is good to know and to reassure yourself with.

As the book progresses it goes into weaning, with details on good foods to mash up etc. The book dedicates large chapters to looking after yourself as well as your child, with advice on things that can happen, what to expect, what you can do, and how to prevent certain things.

Altogether, the book provides a good, honest and unbiased viewpoint on most topics surrounding being a first-time mum. Unlike the NHS guidelines, the book is able to explore alternative options in its open discussions, which the NHS is sometimes prohibited from mentioning due to it possibly encouraging or promoting such things as bottle-feeding. The book also discusses the use of dummies, which again, some guidelines would strongly oppose from the outset. And again the book discusses bed-sharing with the baby, which we remember being advised against and never mentioned again...but some parents do it...so the book discusses it (again quite refreshingly down-to-earth).

The book also contains some quite poignant advice on your emotional wellbeing through it all, making new 'mum' friends, sex after a baby and how to combat feelings of isolation. And finally, the book contains a useful contact list at the back of the book.

As a good summary, the chapters covered in the book are:
- What to buy for your baby
- The early weeks
- Basic babycare
- Feeding
- Sleep
- Development
- Health and safety
- Your body after birth
- Emotional well-being
- Love and sex
- Going back to work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful without being patronising, 19 May 2013
By 
Jason Gaston "Uncle Jay" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is very useful to new mums or especially new mums to be. This book will not only prepare you for the reality of having a baby, what to expect from the baby, your body and stuff like that but it goes a long way to also comfort you in kind of "I told you that was gonna happen" way. Too many books sugar coat the whole situation of babies and make out that the whole experience is joyful and baby will bring nothing but laughter into your lives, as a father of 3 myself along with anyone who has ever raised baby will tell you this is total BS! Babies are a nightmare SOMETIMES, granted they bring a lot more joy than they do sadness but the harsh reality is bringing up a baby is hard work and this book does a fantastic job of showing you your not alone, your not the first and you certainly wont be the last either. I like the whole vibe of the book, it doesnt ram things down your throat or try to brainwash you it simply gives you good advice and tips in a field where there sometimes there is no black and white right or wrong. Everyones baby is different it feeding, sleeping, crying, walking, talking so on and so forth and too many books try to worry you into the way of thinking of if your baby isnt doing this thing by this time then you should be worried this does not.
all in all a very practical book but not a patronising guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 16 May 2013
By 
Gogol (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not a bad book I suppose but nothing great either. The book covers a number of topics relevant to the mother of a new born but even so, its still worth reading for a dad. Problem for me is a lot of the "Advice" Mostly coming from women who have experienced the same thing.

A lot of it feels like one of those self help books rather than what presumably its intended purpose to encourage the reader to feel more of part of a wider community of mothers of newborns. Take for example the story given about the lady who had unwelcome guests around her new born baby who spent most of the time getting drunk toasting the birth and how she wished they would go so she could get some sleep. I mean really?

Other parts of the book where individuals give their advice about babies with wind etc I found a bit odd. It was like reading a friends advice but in book form. Take it with a pinch of salt and seek advice of a professional. Not really what I was expecting from a book. Some of it was quite interesting such as the lady who had taken all steps she thought to protect her baby then went and took a shower only to find her baby had eaten a leaf from a house plant that was poisonous!

All in all not bad for a bit of casual reading but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews