Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars32
2.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£5.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 December 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Before you buy, check that your system meets each and every requirement in all respects. My laptop did not and I could not really get past the first page.

I had to use a higher spec PC. On this, the game had the feel of the early simulation games found on the likes of the Sinclair etc.

Those can be equally if not more enjoyable than the modern 'bells and whistles' programs sold at overly inflated prices and which sometimes cost almost as much as the machine itself.

Unfortunately not so in the present case and frankly the software was neither amazing to look at or gripping in its use.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This doesn't come anywhere close to being good, but if you've never played Football Manager, and/or don't have great expectations/budget/a games console/if you're not sure on forking out for a game you might not like, it's OK to start with this.

Its graphics aren't great, and it is very basic and simplistic, but it can be played. It's perhaps suited to under 8yos who are trying to develop PC skills/coordination, in a sort-of-fun way.

It is really cheap, so perhaps this will appeal to some households, especially at this time of year when it's all, 'I want.' If you are realistic about the game in comparison to its price, then this works out to be a reasonable buy - for the unsophisticated.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a really poor rendition of a football manager game and not a patch on other games in the genre. The only slight difference is that football director gives you the opportunity to be involved in the more day to day running of the club if you desire it from sponsorships to ground restructuring.

Whilst you have the ability to take on a host of teams across Europe the match engine is clunky and predictable. The tactic builder is dated and the training aspect virtually superficial having little effect if any on the quality of your players. I played half a season a lower level club, which felt reasonably real, leaning towards making ends meet financialy to keep the club afloat by selling younger players at the right time and an emphasis on a good cup run, I did enjoy that part to it, but it was let down badly by the match an uninspiring match engine.

Not one to look out for.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 December 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you ache to juggle the minutiae of a successful term at the top of the football leagues, this game sounds like it might be for you. The interface is clean and bright and the gameplay really harkens back to the age of the Spectrum and C64. If you are nostalgic for those good old days (with spruced up audio visuals), then this has its wistful charms, but by modern standards this is a rather simplistic affair that quickly becomes dull as you find find yourself endlessly clicking and yawning through a game of chance, rather than roaring with excitement and jubilation at your managerial finesse.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 January 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Really didn't engage the way Football Manager does.
I found the graphics and sound rather primitive, and the data contained with it annoyingly just wrong, well at least it was for my team, the Mighty Shakers (Bury fc). Data probably correct for the Premiership, but that's the problem with the whole game: Its cheap.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
I would've given this a 3 as it's an easy game to learn, compared to some other football management games, however I'm giving it a 1 because they blatantly lie about its features - both in the description and on the box it says there's an "Edit Mode" to change player and club info, however this does NOT exist, and they've (the ppl who made it) ignored all my emails regarding it.

Edit: OK, after many emails the ppl who made it they finally forwarded a game update that enabled "Edit Mode", and while appreciated, it is sadly flawed. For example, you can only edit names before the starting a new game, you can't during an active, saved game. Plus your changed name/s don't display during match commentary, the original name/s do. Still, it's better than nothing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 15 December 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Football Director. Where to start... Well, it's not as great as I'd hoped. It loaded no problem onto my Win8 machine but once gameplay started it was a bit hard to get engaged with it. Once you've made all your selections it's just a case of sitting back and waiting for the CG game to play out. Then it's back to more selections. The menu's are a bit unwieldy and limited and not very exciting. It filled a few hours worth of playing about with it but beyond that it's appeal is limited for me.

Not something I'd go back to, I don't think. There's just not enough here to get fired up about.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
installed on windows 7 which should be okay however , having played a few friendlies i was all set to start a league campaign when it crashed :( Its brand new and sealed so not sure what happened but as i hadn't saved it, i haven't tried again yet :(
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
Rubbish, to be honest. Do not waste your money, this either will not play... two different pcs, or when it does, crashes before you can even complete the first season.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 December 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a great football simulator offering complete experience of being a football club director. You can choose any clubs across Europe and England and become a director, able to build your teams of footballers, hire staff, train your team, even direct during the game. The games keeps all histories and stats, you can also make your own formations, positions, issue player directions.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.